We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Little Hotel”
Review of Duane Street Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Duane Street Hotel
Ranked #139 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Hampton, Virginia
1 review
“Great Little Hotel”
Reviewed February 14, 2011

Very clean hotel. Hardwood floors instead of questionably clean carpet. Small but efficient room. Comfortable bed with pristine white bedding. Friendly and helpful but unobtrusive staff. Nice, relatively quiet neighborhood with good restaurants. Near the subway and easy to grab a cab.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wmyrom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

596 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    314
    203
    43
    14
    22
See reviews for
90
209
52
155
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, PA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 14, 2011

Duane Street Hotel is a hidden treasure in the heart of Tribeca. The hotel was beautifully clean and the service excellent. One of the lightbulbs burned out in the bathroom (wasn't a big deal because there were two lights), without even mentioning a word, the room service checked the room mid-day and replaced the bulb. Great attention to detail!
The location is fabulous - nestled right in a great location but the room was so quiet.
Only one complaint - the room was quite hot. If you turn your thermostat way down before going out, you will be fine.

Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank SandraD1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 11, 2011

I stayed at the Duane St. Hotel while i was in town for some business meetings. Since it is in Tribeca it was a little inconvenient for some of my midtown meetings but it is convenient to subway and i never had trouble getting a taxi.
The room was small (aren't they all in the city), but always clean and nicely decorated.
Bar and restaurant attracted cool people, and was fun.
i had the opportunity to stay an extra two days because of a blizzard and canceled flights and the desk was very helpful and I wound up having a great time and enjoying the city and neighborhood in the snow.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marathonmanalan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bear, DE
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2011

We (hubby, 3 yr old, & I) were looking for a weekend NYC getaway & choose to stay at the Duane Street hotel per a Cyber Monday deal I'd found. While it was very small (I've stayed in similar small rooms closer to Times Square), it was very clean & welcoming. Upon check-in, we were informed of books available for check out for our little one, which was a first. Our room was nicely painted, bright, & made practical use of the space available. At first, we thought it was quiet, but upon returning at night, were surprised that it has a bit of nightlife (trendy & upscale crowd). We would've sat & had a drink had we not had the little one with us. In the morning, we were able to walk to the World Trade Center, which is just a few blocks away. All in all, I'd recommend this small gem of a hotel!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dawn1123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2011

We paid nearly US$600 a night for what is a very ordinary hotel. i am stunned to see others received turn down service, a newspaper, breakfast - we did not receive any of these. In 30 years of travelling absolutely the worst value hotel i have ever stayed in, anywhere on the planet. the windows were very dirty - not cleaned for a long time. the aircon was incredibly noisy. the first room we were shown was microscopic - eventually given a room where you could at least get the suitcases in. the bed is badly designed with a sharp edge that protudes - both hurt our legs, and also a very saggy experience to sleep on. the shower produced a miniscule dribble. VERY NOISY from traffic - hard to sleep. Staff would shout and argue very loudly in corridors at all hours - were woken several times a night. view of run down buildings outside. the front desk staff were all young, some quite aggressive, and mostly unghelpful. would not call a taxi on departure - waved us to the street where we stood for nearly 45 minutes in vain. it was so uncomfortable and so expensive for so little, we decamped to the Royalton mid town, paid $150 LESS per night and got full 5 star service, great room, great staff, and CLEAN.

I would not pay any more than $150 per night for this dump. not only overpriced, but actually was so unpleasant we had to move. Had booked 3 days. After first horrible night they insisted that if we checked out they would charge us at least for two nights, even if we stayed one - they would charge my credit card regardless. Forced to stay two nights. Made it clear that we were not happy with the poor condition of the hotel, but staff did not care. emailed management, never had a reply

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank MrFox99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MHoustonNYC, Manager at Duane Street Hotel, responded to this review, January 7, 2011
Dear Mr.Fox99,

I am very sorry to hear of your rather disappointing experience at the hotel. Please accept my greatest apologies for not giving you the trip and experience you had expected. Unfortunately, I did not receive any correspondence from you directly or I would have certainly responded to you and appreciated your feedback so that we can better ourselves and the service we offer our guests. If you would allow, I would appreciate hearing from you, so please feel free to call me directly (212-542-9302) or email me (maggie.houston@duanestreethotel.com). While I can not take back your experience, I would appreciate the opportunity to speak with you to take measures at resolving at least some of your displeasure.

Regards,
Maggie Houston
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2011

Impossible to sleep, constant noise from heater, street cars, shaking from the metro down, no air so small is the room, no space at all even to put luggages, no views, curtains didn't close light, no sound insulation, shower was small and wAter flooding the toilet, odd noises coming from street and neighbors, room too hot an tv wasn't working, price for standard room in low season 230 dollars. just can't sleep no matter how tires you are

  • Stayed January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pigna1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MHoustonNYC, Manager at Duane Street Hotel, responded to this review, January 7, 2011
Thank you for sharing your experience. I'm very sorry to hear of the issues you encountered during your stay. While I'm sure many NYC hotels wish that they could offer larger room space in all guest rooms, this is an unfortunate obstacle that most can not overcome. While this is a rather unsurmountable task, we can certainly work to eradicate many of the other issues you encountered. I will certainly share your feedback with my corporate office as well as all staff members to see what improvements we can make to ensure future guests do not experience the same problems. Please accept my sincerest apologies. We have many repeat guests who have enjoyed their stays with us and I am very sorry to hear that we dropped the ball during your visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
youngstown, ohio
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2010

Very nice small and personal hotel. Most of staff very friendly and helpful. Located in great neighborhood, away from craziness of midtown. Lobby had chocolate chip cookies after a long day of shopping and walking. Concierge arranged a ride for us to and from airport. Rooms are small but that is to be expected in New York city. Very satisfied with cleanliness and comfort of bed.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank acmom3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
TriBeCa
Smyth, a Thompson Hotel
Smyth, a Thompson Hotel
#64 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 433 reviews
TriBeCa
The Roxy Hotel Tribeca
The Roxy Hotel Tribeca
#14 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 426 reviews
TriBeCa
Cosmopolitan Hotel - Tribeca
Cosmopolitan Hotel - Tribeca
#242 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,884 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
TriBeCa
Hilton Garden Inn New York/Tribeca
Hilton Garden Inn New York/Tribe...
#178 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,368 reviews
SoHo
11 Howard
11 Howard
#41 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 418 reviews
SoHo
SIXTY SoHo
SIXTY SoHo
#74 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 810 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Duane Street Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Duane Street Hotel

Property: Duane Street Hotel
Address: 130 Duane St, New York City, NY 10013-3808
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > TriBeCa , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#38 Business Hotel in New York City
#76 Family Hotel in New York City
#109 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#128 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Duane Street Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with World Independent Hotel Promotion, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Duane Street Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Duane Street

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing