We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“If You Love Street Noise You Will Love the Duane Street Hotel”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Duane Street Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Duane Street Hotel
Ranked #130 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Burlington, VT
Level Contributor
102 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“If You Love Street Noise You Will Love the Duane Street Hotel”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2010

This hotel is an unmitigated disaster, a perfect example of the boutique hotel gone wrong. The unfriendly, unhelpful desk clerk was the highlight of my one night stay. The biggest problem at the Duane Street Hotel is that every room faces Church Street, which is a busy thoroughfare in lower Manhattan. There is no escape from the traffic noise associated with it. Despite assurances from the hotel that the rooms had double glazed windows, it made absolutely no difference. All day, all night long all you could hear was cars, trucks, buses, motorcycles, sirens, etc. It was impossible to sleep and there was nowhere to escape. So if you like street noise, this is your place. If you are a light sleeper, best to look elsewhere. The room was cramped, closet tiny. The bed however was comfortable and the free wireless worked well. No chance I would return for any price.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jdr27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

594 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    312
    203
    43
    14
    22
See reviews for
90
208
52
153
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rockville
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2010

Found the hotel via Travel Zoo. The deal included breakfast. The room was very clean with a decent size bathroom. The breakfast was adequate and given the package deal cannot complain. We also used the gym both days of our stay which is only 2 blocks away -- it had tons of equipment, and was not very busy either day. The location of the hotel was very convenient to 2 subways and plenty of shopping. Prior to staying, I was a little nervous about some of the previous review regarding the noise, but we did not notice the noise (and we stayed on the 2nd floor). In fact, slept great both nights -- the bed was very comfortable.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RockvilleRae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2010

Our room faced the street, but we couldn't hear any traffic. The bathroom was modern, the bed was comfortable, and there were plenty of dressers and space for clothing. The room was small, which was expected. Everything worked well and it was super clean, with a white duvet on the bed and hardwood floor.

The staff were friendly, a plate of home baked cookies were on the desk each day for an afternoon treat.

The room rate included continental breakfast (if you're a coffee drinker you get a whole pot of pressed coffee). It also included a great gym less than 2 blocks away. The gym was new and clean and had every kind of equipment you could want.

Two subway stations are within 2 blocks of the hotel.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ingot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2010

Very warm welcome upon arrival, was given relevant and interesting information on nearby cafes, restarants and shops by reception staff at their own initiative.
Clean and functional room, with a personal touch. Extremely good location in quiet neigbourhood with lots of good restaurants, small shops etc. Close to subway with good connections uptown. Fast and stable wifi.
Some maintenance drag, modest common areas - not very tempting for breakfast etc at hotel but not a problem as staff can direct you to excellent alternatives nearby.

Also on the positive side; the hotel has a deal with a nearby gym, so even though there is no gym at the actual hotel you can get a great workout just down the street.

To those complaining about noise from subway etc I totally disagree. Sure, you can notice the subway if your mindset is all about finding negative aspects of a good experience, but if you are so sensitive to noise I would suggest a different destination all together or at least bring some earplugs ;) For us it worked out perfectly

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wallp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paradise
Level Contributor
127 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2010

Like spending six nights in the 7th layer of hell. We dreaded returning to this hotel every night. We actually had to take sleeping pills each night to try and sleep through the night. In February, the room was a steady 90 degrees, all day and all night. I cannot imagine what temperatures it rises to in the summer!! When we complained, we were told that air conditioning was not available during the winter and to try turning off our heat. We never had the heat on to begin with!! We spent every waking moment in the room naked with the lights off trying not to stir up any extra energy to cause heat. We woke up drenched in sweat every morning (that is, if we were able to sleep).

The bed itself only had a topsheet, so it moved and we were exposed to the mattress anytime we slept in it, and when I asked the maid about it she replied that she didn't have any other type of sheet. They did not offer to move us after our second complaint, and we obviously should have left. A horrible situation, we frequently visit NY to see family and this was the worst experience at a hotel we have ever had. SKIP IT.

We we on the 2nd floor, room was very clean, decent size. The staff are extremely friendly. Great location, close to subway, restaurants.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wwrrkd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, NY
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2010

The hotel is in a wonderful location downtown 3 blocks from SoHo. A few of the bad things with the hotel: No parking garage, A little worn out, every 10 minutes or so you can hear the subway and the floor vibrates. It's a do it yourself type of hotel you must go downstairs to the restaurant in order to get ice. The positives of the hotel are: Location, Cleanliness, Big Bathroom, the staff although sparce is friendly. This place will do if you know your way around the city and don't mind doing everything on your own.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank christina1225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
long island
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2010

Never stayed so far downtown before, but what a nice place!!! Small rooms are no concern, who cares? we just slept there anyway. The showers are awesome, the only thing is if you dont want to wash your hair tough luck the shower head is built into the ceiling! Breakfast was included and definitely worth the price of the room. The parking downtown is much less than midtown, we left the car for 24 hours for $25, midtown this would have been at least double. There is a totally awesome french bakery/cafe right down the street, forget the name, its right next door to a bike shop. If you run or walk, the runpath on the west side is about 4 blocks away, with a great view of statue of liberty. The only thing is if you want to go to the museums (and many are on the upper east side) it's a long walk or take a train/cab. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bypasskid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
TriBeCa
Smyth, a Thompson Hotel
Smyth, a Thompson Hotel
#67 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 419 reviews
TriBeCa
The Roxy Hotel Tribeca
The Roxy Hotel Tribeca
#15 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 409 reviews
TriBeCa
Cosmopolitan Hotel - Tribeca
Cosmopolitan Hotel - Tribeca
#229 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,855 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
TriBeCa
Hilton Garden Inn New York/Tribeca
Hilton Garden Inn New York/Tribe...
#185 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,344 reviews
SoHo
11 Howard
11 Howard
#36 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 382 reviews
SoHo
SIXTY SoHo
SIXTY SoHo
#85 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 769 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Duane Street Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Duane Street Hotel

Property: Duane Street Hotel
Address: 130 Duane St, New York City, NY 10013-3808
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > TriBeCa , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#38 Business Hotel in New York City
#54 Green Hotel in New York City
#76 Family Hotel in New York City
#103 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#128 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Duane Street Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Duane Street Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Duane Street

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing