We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Cool, comfortable and convenient.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Duane Street Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Duane Street Hotel
Ranked #161 of 479 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Cool, comfortable and convenient.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014 via mobile

The hotel is situated in the Tribeca area of New York which is the perfect base to investigate the rest of the city. We found the room to be well equipped (although a refrigerator might be a good addition), the staff were friendly, and the decor throughout was pretty cool. There was almost no street noise in the room at all which is very impressive, so it was a nice haven! We stayed for 4 days and found there was plenty of space to unpack and feel at home, with a very comfortable bed and great bathroom and shower.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank SwampHound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicolas D, General Manager at Duane Street Hotel, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Thank you for your comments and will share with our staff. We do have fridges available upon request and apologize for the fact it was not communicated to you. Looking forward to having you soon at Duane Street.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

539 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    274
    192
    39
    12
    22
See reviews for
77
188
48
144
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Annapolis, Maryland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

The staff alone made this gem worth it!! The rooms are cozy but that is not a slick euphemism --they really are comfortable, modern, and you have everything you could need. And if there's anything you are missing (in my case it was a room service menu) the staff are incredibly friendly and efficient. It's like a modern B&B in TriBeCa/Manhattan. I was drained from work and this place was a great all-too-brief oasis. Also a special shout out to the quality of food -- fantastic!! Work or play I plan on a return visit, or ten.

Room Tip: You may want to ask for a higher floor if street noise easily bothers you
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Claddaugh64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicolas D, General Manager at Duane Street Hotel, responded to this review, July 13, 2014
What a wonderful feedback ! Will make sure to pass it along to our entire staff. Also at the beginning of the Fall you will be able to taste from a new room service menu. Looking forward to having you back very soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Coast, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

We are staying here to both work and visit our daughter. We are well traveled and I add this not to brag.. But so the reader understands we have many many hotels to compare to this one, all over the world,all price ranges.
The beds... Ahhh.. Sumptuous.. I can't say more.. To come back after working all day.. Fighting the heat and the traffic jams.. And the luxurious feeling of the sheets.. Amazing.
But it's the staff that we find so above par.. Always genuinely friendly.. Not the cursory greeting at the front desk.. But one gets a feeling they truly are in the hospitality business for all the right reasons..
They go out of their way to suggest restaurants that you would enjoy..they run to your valeted car to get your husbands sneakers..insisting it is too hot for me to go...I can go on and on..
Don't think small hotel equals small experience...
This one is a gem!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Suzq9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicolas D, General Manager at Duane Street Hotel, responded to this review, July 13, 2014
Thank you so much for your great feedback and will ensure to pass it along to the entire staff. Looking forward to having you back very soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlantic City, New Jersey
Level Contributor
25 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

Loved my stay here, nice rooms with a modern look and a great staff. The bed and pillows were comfortable and the bathroom was a decent size for NYC. It is a little out of the way but well worth the cab ride home or the walk from the subway.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank emo114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicolas D, General Manager at Duane Street Hotel, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Will make sure to pass along your wonderful feedback to our Housekeeping staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

I booked my brother, his wife and 2 small children here whilst they were visiting NYC and they found everything wonderful. The beds apparently are amongst the most comfortable they've ever experienced - I need those soft sheets!! And the afternoon house-made chocolate chip cookies hit the spot. I'll definitely be recommending it again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank abm810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicolas D, General Manager at Duane Street Hotel, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Thank you for your note and fantastic feedback on our bedding. Also know that we have a special discount for our Tribeca neighborhood friends. Please mentioning it the next time you make a reservation for your family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brockville, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

The room was spotless, beds were of an above average quality. The only complaint might be the hall way noise did escape under the door so a bit noisy in the morning when I was looking to sleep longer. However the beds were so comfy I did fall back asleep. Great property . Excellant value for the money.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank anne m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicolas D, General Manager at Duane Street Hotel, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Thank you for your great comments and apologize for the noise level. Let us know the next time you are in town and will give a room at the end of the hallway.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Lawn, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

We've stayed here twice and it's the only place we will ever stay when we visit NYC. Staff are so helpful and friendly - we received individualized service every time. Very knowledgeable about subway routes and how to get to all of the good touristy attractions! Breakfast is great, especially the coffee!

Room Tip: We stayed on the side that looks out onto Church Street both times, we love that view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dwight S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicolas D, General Manager at Duane Street Hotel, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
We are really appreciative for your wonderful comments and will ensure to share it with our staff. Looking forward to seeing you very soon in Tribeca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
TriBeCa
Smyth - a Thompson Hotel
Smyth - a Thompson Hotel
#74 of 479 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 323 reviews
TriBeCa
The Roxy Hotel Tribeca
The Roxy Hotel Tribeca
#15 of 479 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 147 reviews
TriBeCa
Cosmopolitan Hotel - Tribeca
Cosmopolitan Hotel - Tribeca
#235 of 479 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 1,721 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
TriBeCa
Hilton Garden Inn New York/Tribeca
Hilton Garden Inn New York/Tribe...
#177 of 479 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 1,214 reviews
SoHo
Soho Grand Hotel
Soho Grand Hotel
#165 of 479 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 2,741 reviews
SoHo
NOMO SOHO Hotel
NOMO SOHO Hotel
#216 of 479 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Duane Street Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Duane Street Hotel

Property: Duane Street Hotel
Address: 130 Duane St, New York City, NY 10013-3808
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > TriBeCa , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#38 Business Hotel in New York City
#54 Green Hotel in New York City
#77 Family Hotel in New York City
#119 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#129 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Duane Street Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Duane Street Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Duane Street

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing