We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous service! Nice People”
Review of Duane Street Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Duane Street Hotel
Ranked #149 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
San Antonio, Tx
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fabulous service! Nice People”
Reviewed October 5, 2013

Stayed at the Duane Street Hotel for business (going to the Federal courthouse just down the road). I had to extend my trip extra days, and the front desk staff bent over backwards to make sure I could stay at a low rate, that I had all the help I needed, took care of cabs, room service, and anything else that would make my stay comfortable.

Room Tip: Higher up! Lower levels have street noise and the occasional rumble of the subway.
See more room tips
Green Features: Very responsible on water and paper - just a well-run place.
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SmallBusinessOwner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicolas D, General Manager at Duane Street Hotel, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful feedback and looking forward to having you back on your next trip to NYC
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

596 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    314
    203
    43
    14
    22
See reviews for
90
209
52
155
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
essex
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 30, 2013

Great stay and great staff sorted out booking problem straight away also good advice on where to eat at night good location near metro station. Room was fine was worried about noise as overlooking the main street but found sleeping fine and quite.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank simonpb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicolas D, General Manager at Duane Street Hotel, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Thankyou for your note and apologize for your reservation glitch. Looking forward to seeing you in NYC very soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2013

Had a great stay at the Duane Street hotel over the weekend which we booked through in hotwire. Really pleasent stay and nice modern room. Accessable to the subway and lots of eateries nearby. Would stay here again in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travel_GoddessNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicolas D, General Manager at Duane Street Hotel, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Thank you for your great comments and we are looking forward to seeing you soon in NYC.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2013

Came in town to meet a friend and was able to get a last minute deal on hotel tonite. The only thing in the way of an excellent review is about expectations. I stay in the city a fair amount and this hotel fits squarely in the category of HIP as opposed to LUXE. Common to a lot of SoHo / Tribeca hotels; the rooms are tight. The bed is super comfortable and everything has a modern clean vibe. Very pleased with the hotel. If you know what to expect, you'd give it 5 stars!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jwieder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicolas D, General Manager at Duane Street Hotel, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Thank you for your fantastic feedback and hope to see you very soon in Tribeca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2013

Stayed in mid September for 2 nights. Very disappointed with tiny room and reception was merely an untidy desk. Key to the door was difficult to operate (told to stub rather than insert). Wakeup call was never materialized. Breakfast at downstairs restaurant was miserable.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jasmineway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicolas D, General Manager at Duane Street Hotel, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Thank you very much for your candid feedback and we apologize for the less than statisfactory experience, which is not what Duane Street stand for. My staff & I would like to invite you back for one night the next time you are in town. Feel free to contact me, when you are ready to book your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 12, 2013

I recently made a reservation with the Duane Street Hotel for an upcoming three-day conference scheduled early next week. I learned only today that they didn't have any record of the reservation, nor would they agree to honor the government rate.

After contacting the hotel and explaining what had happened, they referred me to Michael W, the concierge, who was curt (why the concierge for a booking remains a mystery). I merely requested that the hotel honor the rate I booked, I was flatly denied. Further, Concierge Michael W. lied to me and told me that the hotel had long before sold out that rate, despite the fact that my colleague/traveling companion booked the same rate less than a week ago (I made this reservation a month ago).

Now I am left to scramble for a hotel that will honor the rate within my government per diem during peak season in NYC.

I would have liked to stay at the hotel, but they lost my reservation and refused to honor a gov't rate. They will not have my business in the future.

Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank KHart305
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicolas D, General Manager at Duane Street Hotel, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Thank you for expressing your concerns. While we are sorry you were not able to stay with us and there was such confusion over your reservation, as we have communicated to you offline, we were able to confirm with your company that your reservation was confirmed at the Club Quarters, not Duane Street Hotel. I can understand the annoyance associated with arriving to the hotel and not having a reservation. Michael, however, as a leading Concierge, was just being honest with what was transpiring. Duane Street Hotel had in fact sold out of the government rate several weeks prior – your colleague had also booked at Club Quarters. Michael did eventually offer to match the government rate that was being offered that evening in trying to resolve the situation once he realized the root of the confusion (that you were given misinformation.) We’re sorry that this was not satisfactory. I do hope you change your mind and consider staying with us again as I know you would have very much enjoyed your stay.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
Reviewed September 8, 2013

I work in a boutique luxury hotel myself and know what makes for an excellent stay...
My mother and I very much enjoyed our stay at Duane Street Hotel; check-in was smooth, the room was spacious for New York standards and beautifully designed. All staff from receptionist to concierge and breakfast chef were very lovely and helpful and we were very well looked after...The hotel is in a perfect location in walking distance to Soho as well as the financial district and just a 2min walk to Chambers Street station. I have recommended this hotels to friends already and would definitely stay again. Thanks heaps! Sabrina

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sabrina K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicolas D, General Manager at Duane Street Hotel, responded to this review, September 14, 2013
Thank you for your kind word and hope to see you soon in NYC.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
TriBeCa
Smyth, a Thompson Hotel
Smyth, a Thompson Hotel
#65 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 431 reviews
TriBeCa
The Roxy Hotel Tribeca
The Roxy Hotel Tribeca
#14 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 422 reviews
TriBeCa
Cosmopolitan Hotel - Tribeca
Cosmopolitan Hotel - Tribeca
#241 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,883 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
TriBeCa
Hilton Garden Inn New York/Tribeca
Hilton Garden Inn New York/Tribe...
#182 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,365 reviews
SoHo
11 Howard
11 Howard
#42 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 415 reviews
SoHo
SIXTY SoHo
SIXTY SoHo
#78 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 804 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Duane Street Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Duane Street Hotel

Property: Duane Street Hotel
Address: 130 Duane St, New York City, NY 10013-3808
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > TriBeCa , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#38 Business Hotel in New York City
#76 Family Hotel in New York City
#114 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#128 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Duane Street Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with World Independent Hotel Promotion, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Duane Street Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Duane Street

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing