We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Lex NYC

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Lex NYC
Ranked #37 of 479 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Ideal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I needed a comfortable, quiet, clean,and hospitable place to stay while visiting a son living four blocks away. The staff of this boutique hotel was intent on pleasing guests while offering a quiet respite from the city noise. The hotel was pristine in cleanliness and comfort. We recommend this establishment without hesitation and plan to return upon on our next visit.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Susan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt S, General Manager at The Lex NYC, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Hello and thank you for taking the time to send us your feedback regarding your recent stay with us. It is nice to see that you enjoyed your visit and that our staff treated you with the service that you have come to expect while staying at a hotel. I will be sure to share your comments with them as they take a great deal of pride at making each guests stay a perfect 10. Please dont be a stranger and come back to see us shortly.

Regards,
Matt Slippoy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

545 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    376
    143
    21
    3
    2
See reviews for
59
280
47
82
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oakton, Virginia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

If you have a brief stay in NYC and are looking for a great value in a good location, this property is a good choice. No frills but a very comfortable bed and surprinsingly quiet. The continental bfast was a nice touch and the service was exceptional.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank b w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Helena, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

Fine value hotel. Excellent staff and service. Rooms very small but they clearly upgraded them with quality systems, didn't just cover them with fancy fabrics or marble. New bathrooms and air systems, electrical connections. Dinky lobby. Continental breakfast is minimal but plenty of places in area with top breakfast. (Sarabeth a block away.) Fantastic Indian restaurants up the street and great location for taxis and walking everywhere.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Barbara I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt S, General Manager at The Lex NYC, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
wanted to personally thank you for your stellar review on our hotel. It is comments such as yours that motivates the team at the hotel to achieve excellence. We all have pride and passion when it comes to servicing our guests and it is great to see that this proved true during your visit. We would love to have you back as our values guest shortly and we wish you well until that time comes.

Regards,
Matt Slippoy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

Great place to stay in Manhattan. Wonderful, helpful staff, very clean accommodations for the traveler who is not looking to visit the hotel but see the city and have a great place to come back to at night.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Irene S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt S, General Manager at The Lex NYC, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Greetings from The Lex NYC,

I wanted to personally thank you for your stellar review on our hotel. It is comments such as yours that motivates the team at the hotel to achieve excellence. We all have pride and passion when it comes to servicing our guests and it is great to see that this proved true during your visit. We would love to have you back as our valued guest shortly and we wish you well until that time comes.

Regards,
Matt Slippoy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
119 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014 via mobile

I spent just one night here for work, and the first impressions were great. I asked for a quiet room, and got one away from the elevator in the back of the building. It was on the second floor, with a "terrace" that was basically the bottom of a shaft. Nevertheless, it was quiet.

The room itself was very, very tight, but I felt that the designers made the best use of the space. Ceiling height was great, which made it much less claustrophobic. I believe I had a standard queen room, and it is really suitable only for 1 person to stay in. I would go insane with another person. Everything was brand new, and I loved the floor to ceiling headboard for the bed. It really classed up the room, even though the rest of it was pretty blah.

The most outstanding feature of my room by far was the bathroom. It was pretty incredible, almost as big as the bedroom itself. The floor was a really nice wood-look tile, and there was plenty of counter space. The black and white tiling looked sexy and chic and classic all at the same time. The tub surround was entirely tiled in black, which I usually would not have liked, but again due to the ceiling height, as well as the fairly wide tub, it wasn't an issue. Shower pressure was fantastic.

Unfortunately, when it came time to sleep, I discovered the shortcomings. The A/C was extremely loud, and the auto setting only allowed it to go off for about 2 minutes for every 10 minutes of on. That it was unable to maintain 70 degrees in a room no larger than 200 square feet was pretty silly. And then on top of that, the bed was just not that comfortable. Perhaps I am too spoilt by pillowtops - although I did not look to confirm, it definitely did not feel like I was sleeping on a pillowtop mattress.

I skipped breakfast, but did notice that it was a simple spread in the small lobby on my way out. I really wanted to like my stay here, and was hoping that I would discover a new goto boutique hotel, but I did not get a very comfortable night's sleep. Having said that, if the hotel is able to fix or replace the a/c units, I can probably be convinced to try it again.

Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank pocmonster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt S, General Manager at The Lex NYC, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Hello and thank you for taking the time to share your comments on your recent visit with us. Our team strives hard at ensuring that all guest who stay with us leave after receiving a perfect stay. While we have exceeded that goal with almost all of our guests I wanted to apologize that we did not hit that goal with your stay. We are aware that a few of our rooms have rather loud HVAC units. Due to the construction of the building we had no choice but to go with those types of units in a few rooms. Most of rooms however, have a different kind of unit that are silent. I wish you would have alerted us to this concern as we would have been happy to make other arrangements for you. I would be happy to personally take care of your next reservation if you are willing to give us another try and I will make sure to place you in a room with a silent unit. I was also surprised to hear that our beds weren't comfortable for you. As you can see by all other comments on Trip Advisor, our beds have proved to be a major hit with other guests. They are in fact all pillow top mattresses and close to the top of the line. Nothing is more important to us then the comfort of our guests and we spared no expense on our beds. due to the fact that the hotel is new, it could be possible that the beds are still a little firm. Nonetheless, we did not hit our goal during your stay and I sincerely apologize for that. I am happy that you enjoyed the bathrooms in the hotel but for us, we want you to enjoy the total package. Please contact me should you wish to discuss your concerns further. I can only hope that this has not tarnished your thoughts or feelings on our company and hope that you will give us another chance to provide you with a perfect stay.

Regards,
Matt Slippoy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Level Contributor
35 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

This hotel only provides accommodation on check in, so if you are tired from travel and did not have enough hours of sleep then you are not going to find a place to crash until the hotel check in hour. There is small waiting area and I was shocked to find my mother sitting on the couch sleeping when I return at 4pm after no one called as I was promised to let me know about room availability over an hour before. It did not look good.

Also, when I called I was told our view will be facing Boruk College building which sounded exciting instead we were facing the walls all around the window. I cannot travel afar because of my disability and Manhattan has become my vacation destination. Since we are locals we do not do much sight seeing and spend half of time in the room, enjoying the hotel, the view from the room and hotel's facilities. In this case this was a complete disaster having to pay for the most expensive room in the hotel that looked like being berried in the whole.

On the other hand the entire stuff was outstanding, friendly, not too much in your way and most of all displayed excellent team work effort. Being in their company felt like being with friends. Even tourists were friendly.

The continental breakfast was excellent, not too much choices, but just enough to fuel up for the day ahead or to grab it on the go. Coffee, variety of croissants, fruits, milk. assorted teas. Most of all, the freshest croissants and muffins we ever ate.

I and my best friend enjoyed Madison Sq Park - my 2nd favorite after Central Park in NYC and I finally got to eat in the famous Shake shack explaining to my mother that the long line was part of the entertaining attraction :)

The property lobby is not large, but cozy and very modern. We loved everything about the room except the view from the room which made the room dark and depressing.

This is very beautiful property and in excellent location. My advice is if you book the room with two queen size beds speak to the manger not to the stuff member to guarantee you don't get to spend your vacation in New York in the basement that is if you care about seeing the sky from your window. On the other hand If you plan on using the room only to sleep in then it is ideal choice for it is quit, dark with no outside noise.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank et49589
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt S, General Manager at The Lex NYC, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Greetings From the Lex NYC,

I wanted to thank you for sharing your comments with us. We take guest feedback very seriously as it helps me to evaluate our current practices and product in order to achieve our goal of constant improvements. I am delighted to hear that our staff treated you as they have been trained to do so. Our team always tries to accommodate all guests requests. I did notice your comment about not being able to check in early. Whenever we have a room available we will always check our guests in prior to the 3pm check in time The night before your arrival we were 100% sold out and therefore did not have a room available for early check in. With that being said you most defiantly should have been called when the room was ready and I will be sure to use your comments as a refresher training class for our team. I believe that all associates can always benefit from refresher training. I can only hope that this was an isolated incident as the team has been trained to always call guests as their rooms become available. Please feel free to contact me personally should you find yourself back in NYC and I will be happy to ensure a perfect stay for you.

Regards,
Matt Slippoy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Level Contributor
40 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014 via mobile

Made my reservation on Expedia...I don't know what happened, but is thought I was at the lexington hotel, which I've stayed before..but, what a nice surprise!!!

The Lex was a very nice boutique hotel, wonderful, helpful staff. Nice continental breakfast & since we were there on Tuesday, had a evening wine & cheese spread.

Hotel is new & very clean & quiet!

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank smurf25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Manhattan
Edge Hotel
Edge Hotel
#26 of 479 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 152 reviews
Midtown
Distrikt Hotel
Distrikt Hotel
#50 of 479 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 4,516 reviews
Little Italy
NobleDEN Hotel
NobleDEN Hotel
#16 of 479 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Financial District
Q&A Residential Hotel
Q&A Residential Hotel
#22 of 479 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 258 reviews
Chelsea
Innside New York Nomad
Innside New York Nomad
#54 of 479 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 813 reviews
Midtown
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
#11 of 479 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lex NYC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lex NYC

Property: The Lex NYC
Address: 67 Lexington Avenue, New York City, NY 10010-1833
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Murray Hill
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 479 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Lex NYC 3.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Complimentary coffee Complimentary Bottled water ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your The Lex NYC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing