We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“a little treasure in a big city”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Lex NYC

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Lex NYC
Ranked #33 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Ocean, New Jersey, United States
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“a little treasure in a big city”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2014

this boutique hotel should train the five star hotels in nyc how to treat and take care of there guests ... the rooms where spotless ... the check inn was perfect and easy ... i requested a early check inn and a room away from the elevator ... they did both ... the bathroom was clean and roomy ... the internet and tv where terrific .... and the bed is on the back of my suv it was so comfortable .... i am so glad i chose this hotel for a two stay ... i will be back and i hope they do well at the lex nyc ...

Room Tip: my tip is stay here ... its worth it and more .. they do a great job at the lex nyc ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank skippysnippy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt S, General Manager at The Lex NYC, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Hello and thank you for sharing your feedback on your recent visit with us. Nothing is more important to the team at the hotel then receiving feedback from our valued guests. It is great to see that we were able to accommodate your early check in and room location requests. We strive hard to ensure that all of our guests request are not only met but exceeded. Please let us know if we can ever be of assistance in the future and until that time, we wish you the best.

Regards,
Matt Slippoy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

627 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    435
    164
    22
    3
    3
See reviews for
73
321
54
92
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Clophill
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2014

Great little boutique hotel that's nicely located for all sorts of things. Madison Square Park and the Flatiron building are a couple of blocks away, etc, etc. Great service, nice rooms - compact, so beware if you're expecting a grand suite!

No in-house catering apart from a little breakfast in the morning, but plenty of restaurants around and when you check in you'll get a list of recommended ones.

Fantastic staff, clean and great value.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tquinlan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dudley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2014

Just returned today from a 5 night stay at the Lex our first trip to NYC. Great hotel good location.
Very friendly staff all very helpful. A big thank you to Armando for his help with directions and must-dos. Each morning we had a question for him he gave us good advise.
Our room was great cleaned everyday also clean towels everyday. We would recommend this hotel to any of our friends looking to visit NYC.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lesley H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt S, General Manager at The Lex NYC, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Greetings from The Lex NYC,

I wanted to personally thank you for your stellar review on our hotel. It is comments such as yours that motivates the team at the hotel to achieve excellence. We all have pride and passion when it comes to servicing our guests and it is great to see that this proved true during your visit. We would love to have you back as our values guest shortly and we wish you well until that time comes.

Regards,
Matt Slippoy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
74 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2014

Here's the skinny on this hotel:

Value = 5 stars great price for it's quality and location in NYC. This hotel was $350 when the W down the block during the same times was $700 per night

Staff = 5 stars. It's a new hotel, had been open a month when I stayed. The staff was great, did everything you needed and proactively checked in. Great stuff, they care

Location = easy. Midtown, walkable to lots of things and subway.

Rooms = 4 stars. Nice rooms. My only issue was that I was there when it was still cold (snowing in mid April). The heater is a wall unit, and while it worked just fine, the fan on the heater was really loud. I had noise canceling headsets that I could sleep with so it didn't really bother me that much, but if I didn't have those I could see that being a problem. I did tell the front desk on my departure and they said they would check the fan level.

Room Tip: Ask about the heating unit in the wall. The fan on mine was loud.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ocean F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daytona Beach, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2014

Recently stayed at the Lex for a few nights during my first trip to NYC -- the hotel was nice but the staff was AMAZING! They were extremely helpful with directions and local must-dos while I was in the city -- also just fun people to be around which made a huge difference. Thanks guys!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hannah I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore MD
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2014

The Lex is a new property, so right off the bat you are getting clean fresh rooms and hallways - always a plus in NYC. And while the rooms are not at all large (it is NYC after all) they are well designed and very functional with a modern hip decor.

The location in NoMad turned out to be fantastic. Lots of great dining choices were nearby along with shopping and hip culture. We easily walked to Flatiron, Chelsea, SoHo, East Village and more. The subway was just a few blocks away, and the 6 line was a great route up and down the East side of town. We rarely needed to transfer.

Most of all, the staff were extremely friendly and knowledgable. It's nice being greeted by name and sincerely being asked how everything is going. They knew the area well and made some nice recommendations. It's the kind of service you simply won't get at The Marriott Marquis!

Two mild negatives - the climate system was a little loud and tended to vary in noise level even with the fan in the "on" position. Also - the shampoo was awful; it reminded me of gefilte fish jelly. However, those are minor distractions. I would easily stay at The Lex again!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RichardMadow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2014

I recently stayed at the Lex and greatly enjoyed it. The staff was incredibly attentive from check-in to checkout. There was even a handwritten note on the desk, along with a gift bag of delicious chocolates. My room was a great size for a single traveler and had all the amenities that I was looking for, namely free and fast wifi. I'd recommend the Lex to anyone who is looking for a great location, price, and a more personal hotel experience.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zachary A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Arlo NoMad
Arlo NoMad
#31 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 277 reviews
Manhattan
Edge Hotel
Edge Hotel
#39 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
Little Italy
NobleDEN Hotel
NobleDEN Hotel
#21 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gramercy Park
Park South Hotel
Park South Hotel
#48 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,108 reviews
Chelsea
Innside New York NoMad
Innside New York NoMad
#66 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,337 reviews
Midtown
Distrikt Hotel Times Square
Distrikt Hotel Times Square
#52 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,831 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lex NYC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lex NYC

Property: The Lex NYC
Address: 67 Lexington Avenue, New York City, NY 10010-1833
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Murray Hill
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Lex NYC 3.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Complimentary coffee Complimentary Bottled water ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, HotelQuickly, Cheap Tickets and Expedia so you can book your The Lex NYC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing