We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Wingate by Wyndham Manhattan Midtown
Ranked #341 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Lincolnshire
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great Stay”
Reviewed December 1, 2008

Returned following a 4 night break over Thanksgiving. Hotel located very central 1/2 block from Macy's and walking distance to Times Sq, ESB, Grand Central Station. Subway located 1/2 block.

Staff very efficient upon arrival and was quickly assigned a room on the 10th Floor. Reception very informative and offered free maps, tourist guides (and popcorn which was a nice touch). Also offered advise about the Thanksgiving Parade. Soon after entering the room the staff rang to see if the room was acceptable which it was.

Room quite spacious but importantly clean with a comfortable bed and a heating system that worked and was quiet. There was some noise from outside but nothing that caused too much disturbance - After all it is the city that doesn't sleep.

Read reviews about the breakfast and so I was not expecting much however I was pleasantly suprised. Plenty on offer and plenty of room to sit although we went down before 7.15hrs most days.

Hotel able to hold luggage on last day and organised a car back to the airport.

Generally found the staff, hotel and location to be excellent and would have no hesitation in returning.

  • Liked — Comfort, cleanliness and location
  • Disliked — No problems
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank skyewalker16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,123 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    688
    831
    388
    133
    83
See reviews for
783
578
107
281
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
West Midlands
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2008

This is my second visit and second review of the Wingate Inn. This is a wonderful hotel, the staff are absolutely fantastic (dramatic improvement on my visit last year), great location. Complimentary breakfast, comfortable rooms. 10/10 for everything! Will use this hotel again.

  • Liked — Everything!
  • Disliked — Nothing!
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Chilly25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2008

Stayed here for four nights last weekend and would recommend it. We booked two rooms for five of us,three in one ,two in other. They both had two doubles. My room was on the 9th floor at the back and we didn't hear any street noise. The rooms were a good size ,comfortable beds and pillows and good showers. There was complimentary coffee,tea and water in the room and a free paper left outside your door on weekdays. It was serviced each day with fresh towels etc.
Breakfast was better than we expected..scrambled eggs and sausage patties,bagels, english muffins and breads to toast,cereals,yogurts,fruit ,pastries and a waffle maker. Although some mornings were busy we always got a table and they constantly replenished the food.
The lobby area is small but there is a nice mezzanine area with computers for your use and a nice sofa.
It is half a block to Macys and the ESB is just past that. It is also one block to Madison Sq Gardens and Penn Station. We walked to the theatre (15 mins) ,Bryant Park,Times Sq etc.
The only negative things were that there are not many restaurants/bars in the immediate area and we couldn't open the window in our room which made it a bit stuffy.
Overall I would recommend it for good rooms,convenient breakfast and walking distance to a lot of things.

  • Liked — convenience of location,inclusive breakfast
  • Disliked — room got stuffy at times
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank ceannain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocean City, NJ
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2008

I stayed with my husband and 2 kids ages 17 & 8. One of the nicest hotel staffs I've encountered in my trips to NY. It was reasonablly priced. It was a GREAT location - Macy's in the next block, couple blocks from Empire state bldg. Very Clean with free computer and internet use available. The Free Breakfast was really good. A slection of Pastries, bagels & cereals along with Eggs, bacon and make your own waffles. Although, if you want the best selection get there early. By 7am it was packed and by 8am most of the good stuff was gone.

  • Liked — The beds and linens were comfortable and felt like home, not a cheap hotel.
  • Disliked — I would have liked more towels in the room, but didn't bother to call for more.
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank graeber5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2008

I booked a twin room with 2 double beds via the Wingate reservations system. I made sure to read all the fine print, as I know that sometimes hotels will not guarantee separate beds in twin share accommodation, however the confirmation came through clearly saying that a room type with 2 double beds had been booked.

When we arrived, my friend and I were given a room with 1 queen bed.

I immediately spoke to reception, who told me that not only were there no other twin rooms available, but that the hotel had no roll-away beds either. When I asked whether we could be placed in a twin room the following day, they could not confirm whether this would be possible.

The manager was eventually called to talk to me and he was totally unapologetic and unhelpful. He denied that I had been guaranteed a room with 2 double beds. When I showed him the confirmation slip with the guarantee in it, he told me that the reservations system had nothing to do with the hotel, and that even though the booking was for a room type that had 2 double beds, the hotel never saw this (????).

He then informed me that my booking had said there was only 1 guest in the room, so there would be no need for a twin room. Again, I showed him my booking confirmation that clearly showed I had entered that there would be 2 guests. He just said "well, our system shows only 1".

At no time did I receive an apology or even an acknowledgment that an error had been made by the hotel. No matter what I said, the manager continued to argue with me and wouldn't concede that an error had been made. There was a total absence of customer service professionalism in the way he handled the issue.

Ultimately we cancelled our booking on the spot and went to another hotel. I recommend anyone considering staying here to call in advance and confirm the information that the hotel has on file to prevent disappointment.

Stayed March 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank FiChisholm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 6, 2008

We stayed at the hotel for one night and were pleased with the cleanliness of the room. We arrived early and hoped to check in but our room was not ready. We were able to check our bags though. Did not find the staff to be overly friendly but they were ok. The heater in our room was VERY loud with a clicking sound that kept me up all night! I even wore ear plugs and they didn't help. I had expected to hear street noise but all I heard was the heater! Arrived at breakfast around 8 am and there was plenty of food available-very nice assortment. Overall, a nice hotel for the price,location is good if you want to shop at Macy's.

  • Liked — the price
  • Disliked — the heater
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank agbPennsylvania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2008

Stayed in the Wingate on 35th street in Manhattan. Loved everything about this hotel. The staff were so helpfull, a great free breakfast each morning. The bed was the most comfortable one that I have ever slept in sheer bliss. The room was kept immaculate clean sheets each morning and lovely soft towels. The Wingate is in walking distance of all the Manhattan sights. Penn Station just a short stroll away. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone visiting New York.

  • Liked — The great location and comfy bed friendly staff
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Mollg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Chelsea
Holiday Inn Express New York City - Chelsea
Holiday Inn Express New York Cit...
#263 of 467 in New York City
2,017 reviews
Chelsea
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Midtown Manhattan/Penn Station
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York ...
#119 of 467 in New York City
1,340 reviews
Midtown
Best Western Premier Herald Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Renaissance New York Midtown Hotel
Renaissance New York Midtown Hot...
#65 of 467 in New York City
635 reviews
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan-35th St/Empire State Bldg
Hampton Inn Manhattan-35th St/Em...
#165 of 467 in New York City
2,119 reviews
Chelsea
Hampton Inn Manhattan - Madison Square Garden Area
Hampton Inn Manhattan - Madison ...
#161 of 467 in New York City
1,935 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wingate by Wyndham Manhattan Midtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wingate by Wyndham Manhattan Midtown

Property: Wingate by Wyndham Manhattan Midtown
Address: 235 W 35th St, New York City, NY 10001-1901
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Garment District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#224 Business Hotel in New York City
#225 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Wingate by Wyndham Manhattan Midtown 3*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Wingate by Wyndham Manhattan Midtown New York City Hotel is located just 1/2 block from Macys and Herald Square in the heart of the Garment/Fashion District, two blocks from Madison Square Garden and Penn Station and just moments away from such famous landmarks as the Empire State Building - 4 blocks, Times Square - 7 blocks, Bryant Park - 10 blocks, the Theater District - 10 blocks, and the Jacob Javits Convention Center - 10 blocks. At Wingate by Wyndham, we know you mean business. Our ninety-two spacious guestrooms and suites feature a well-lit work area, complimentary high speed internet access-wired and wireless, two line phones and remote printing from your room. The Wingate by Wyndham Manhattan Midtown is now offering FREE long distance calls to our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Wingate by Wyndham Manhattan Midtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wingate By Wyndham Manhattan Midtown Hotel New York City
Wingate New York City
Wingate Manhattan Midtown
Wyndham New York City
New York City Wyndham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing