We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location & Excellent help !!!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wingate by Wyndham Manhattan Midtown

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Wingate by Wyndham Manhattan Midtown
Ranked #326 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Seabrook,nh
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Great Location & Excellent help !!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2008

We stayed at the Wingate this past weekend and it was a great hotel for the price. The hotel is within walking distance of everything you want to see in Mid Town. The hotel is located on w35thst. but it is well lit up at night and felt safe coming to the hotel late at night. The front desk was very helpful with the subway system and everyone said hello every morning or even late at night. I would stay at this hotel again.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank devilblue200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,965 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    655
    784
    342
    113
    71
See reviews for
707
540
97
260
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Swansea
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2008

Absolutely ideal place to stay. The room was fine not small at all and very clean. We stayed in 405 which was at the back of the Hotel so you didn't hear any street noise (the rumble of the garbage trucks etc) in the mornings. Breakfast was good, not loads to chose from but enough to get you started for the day. Macy's just over the road, half hour stroll to 5th Avenue, Penn Station just a short stroll. If we go back to New York we will surely be staying here again it is so central for everything. Booked the Hotel and flight on Expedia excellent rates for those of us from the UK.

  • Liked — It was in a central position for amenities for exploring New York
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Poipou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Coquitlam, BC, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2008

WOW!!! Our first trip to NYC, and based on prior reviews on this hotel here, and the fact it fit our budget, we decided to book. This hotel is like the crown jewel of 35th Street. In amongst the street garbage and run-down warehouses, this hotel's exterior looks like gold. The front desk service...top notch! Friendly, always wanting to say "hello" and "Have a great day" as you walk in and out. Walking distance is minimal to ALL major sightseeing hotspots (especially the 35th street back entrance to Macys!)...we even walked from the UN building to the hotel in minimal time. Time Square is 7 blocks, but takes about 15 minutes to walk, and that's in NY crowds. Room bed might be one of the best I've ever slept on, and thankfully so as this helps deal with the garbage truck noise in the early morning (which really is not that bad). Free water and morning paper, and a sparkling clean bathroom. Then there's the free breakfast...full marks! And I usually dispise continental breakfasts. Great selection that changes daily. And they arranged our transportation back to JFK through car service...one cab ride was enough for us. I highly recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Liked — Everything!
  • Disliked — 2am Garbage trucks, but whatever...it's NY!!!
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank AnotherCdntraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay Area, California
Level Contributor
42 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2008

We had a great experience here on a 4 night stay in June 2008. The hotel staff was friendly, helpful, efficient and courteous. Kudos to whomever does their hiring!
We arrived exhausted after several flight delays - after 11 PM. The desk staff hooked us up with a welcome microwave popcorn and loads of print info and maps for our visit. We loved having the microwave and frig and daily bottles of water in the room.
The daily breakfast provided included scrambled eggs, sausage or bacon, toast, bagels, English muffins, and simple pastries, several cereals, waffles, juices, coffee and teas - (buffet-style). It helped not having to buy breakfast every day.
Located steps from Macy's - and a short New York walk from Times Square via 7th Avenue.
Kinda cozy - just 6 rooms on each floor. Which we prefer over the massive "super hotels."
Appreciated the free internet and printer access in the business center.
We liked the fitness center downstairs- complete with flat screen TV.
We used their available car service to return to LaGuaradia airport - $45 - and rode in comfort, stress-free in a Lincoln Town Car.
Have already recommended it to friends. Hope to return next year!

  • Liked — Room cleanliness and amenities
  • Disliked — Weak coffee maker
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Momsfav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2008

We stayed here for 6 nights at the end of May, after months of researching hotels in New York, as this was our first time in New York.

We arrived at the hotel 3 hours early and were hoping to just leave our bags at the front desk and start exploring, but they checked and were able to get us a room right away. The staff at the hotel were all very polite - always said good moring or good evening as we went through the lobby. The hotel also had a loft type area on the second floor which provided free internet access with printer and fax and phone. There was also a free breakfast every morning and though it only ran until 9 on weekdays and 10 on weekends we were able to get up for most days and had no complaints over the food - though at times the staff were slow on refilling certian foods.

The room we had was very clean was a nice size, especially for New York and the 4 of us (all adults) had no problem getting our luggage in with room to spare. The room had a safe which was very nice, it also had a mini fridge and we received 2 complimentary bottles of water every day.

The location of the hotel was by far it's greatest selling point. Keeping in mind that at night all of the businesses around the hotel completely shutdown and the area was much darker than we expected. Not once did we feel unsafe and we were out at 1-2am on a couple of nights. The hotel's proximity to Times Square multiple subway stations, shopping (Macy's) and restaurants made it very easy and convenient to get around and explore. (Tip: don't be afraid to use the subway, you will appreciate it after walking around all day and the stations are so close to the Wingate.)

I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone looking in this price range - for 6 nights we paid $2200 for the 4 of us which is not to bad by New York's standards.

Hope this helps, enjoy New York.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Understaffed during breakfast
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank xray10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Europe
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2008

The hotel was great with a good location.
Nice and clean room.
Breakfast was also verry good.
One tip do not take the taxi to the aiprot from the hotel it self. Because then you will pay much more about 75 dollars. Just take the yellow cab its about 55 dollars.

We would go back again.

Greetz from The Netherlands

  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Erimentha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2008

Stayed for 4 nights in May. Very handy for Penn Station (5 minute walk) and various subway lines.
Room bigger than average for New York, clean, comfortable with all necessary amenities.
Breakfast basic but nice- gets busy after 8am so go early.
Not the most desirable street but felt safe and great central location.
Would definetly go back.

  • Liked — location, service
  • Disliked — street hotel was on
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HorrisScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Chelsea
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Midtown Manhattan/Penn Station
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York ...
#114 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,215 reviews
Midtown
Renaissance New York Midtown Hotel
Renaissance New York Midtown Hot...
#66 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 482 reviews
Midtown
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
#273 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 10,702 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chelsea
Hampton Inn Manhattan - Madison Square Garden Area
Hampton Inn Manhattan - Madison ...
#170 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,820 reviews
Midtown
BEST WESTERN PREMIER Herald Square
BEST WESTERN PREMIER Herald Squa...
#104 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,572 reviews
Midtown
Comfort Inn Times Square South
Comfort Inn Times Square South
#266 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,087 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wingate by Wyndham Manhattan Midtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wingate by Wyndham Manhattan Midtown

Property: Wingate by Wyndham Manhattan Midtown
Address: 235 W 35th St, New York City, NY 10001-1901
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Garment District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#229 Business Hotel in New York City
#230 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Wingate by Wyndham Manhattan Midtown 3*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Wingate by Wyndham Manhattan Midtown New York City Hotel is located just 1/2 block from Macys and Herald Square in the heart of the Garment/Fashion District, two blocks from Madison Square Garden and Penn Station and just moments away from such famous landmarks as the Empire State Building - 4 blocks, Times Square - 7 blocks, Bryant Park - 10 blocks, the Theater District - 10 blocks, and the Jacob Javits Convention Center - 10 blocks. At Wingate by Wyndham, we know you mean business. Our ninety-two spacious guestrooms and suites feature a well-lit work area, complimentary high speed internet access-wired and wireless, two line phones and remote printing from your room. The Wingate by Wyndham Manhattan Midtown is now offering FREE long distance calls to our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Wingate by Wyndham Manhattan Midtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wingate By Wyndham Manhattan Midtown Hotel New York City
Wingate New York City
Wingate Manhattan Midtown
Wyndham New York City
New York City Wyndham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing