We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Wingate by Wyndham Manhattan Midtown
Ranked #343 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Reviewed August 10, 2012

Great hotel with all you can eat breakfast included in the price, free computers in a comfy seating area which is great if you have a late flight like we did. rooms very clean and staff great, perfect location and quiet at nights will defo stay here again if I return.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sammyjo81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,220)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,505 - 1,511 of 2,220 reviews

Reviewed August 9, 2012

The location was a plus. You can walk to Times Square and you're on the corner of Macys. The room was large compare to the other hotels in the area. You get breakfast, wifi, and unlimited long distance for free. The houskeeping, and front desk very friendly. The only reason it miss a 5 star is becaise the AC unit is extremely loud. But we wasn't in the room long to be anoyed by it..Great for the price and I'm not a review writer..

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fred54171
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
STATEN ISLAND
1
Reviewed August 9, 2012

The hotel staff was very outgoing and friendly. The room was extremely clean, as well as the bathroom. The bed had a great mattress, very comfortable. The air conditioner was a little noisy and kept shutting on and off during the night, but other than that it was a great stay and I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel Group
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2012

I would HIGHLY recommend staying at this hotel. Our experience was superb. The entire hotel staff, from the cleaning team to the front desk crew, was prompt, friendly and helpful. We had some water on our floor from where the AC had leaked and they quickly moved us to another room, even bringing us the new key so we didn't have to come back down to get it.

The room we stayed in (a King) was large and spacious compared to most other NYC hotels. We also appreciated the fact that Wingate stayed true to their free breakfast, free wifi, and other free hotel ammenities even though this was their NYC location. At most other hotels in the NYC area you have to pay for these services even if other less popular locations offer them for free. Thank you Wingate!

Another total bonus to staying here was the ease of access if you are driving in. It was a straight shot from the Lincoln tunnel to the parking garage we used. And then another straight shot back out to the Lincoln tunnel when our trip ended. Super easy, I didn't have to make any blocks, it was perfect!

Great experience! Great breakfast! Great staff! Two thumbs up!!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stacey P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2012

Attempting to get a cut-rate place at the last minute, we came to Manhattan without a night's reservation. iPhone checking and walking around and checking with numerous hotels on the West Side and Times Square, we finally remembered a previous stay at the Wingate. We made it to 35th St and were immediately entranced by cleanliness, courtesy, free wi-fi, free breakfast (average but acceptable), reasonable parking only a block away, and rooms that actually were bigger than the bed or beds occupying them. The only drawback was the somewhat limited view out the window (another wall). But in the future, we will forego the temptations of last-minute reservations and simply plan to stay at the Wingate!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel Group
Thank LAWRENCE J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2012

We stayed a week at this location and it was most enjoyable. A few blocks from Times Square area which we walked every day, but nothing horrible about it...you are in NYC...you are going to walk. Right close to Macy, Empire State Building, Subway lines, etc. No taxis waiting, but you can let them know and they will call one for you.

Rooms were BIG for NYC. LOVED it!! Microwaves and refrigerator! CLEAN rooms and didn't have any old building musty smell.

BREAKFAST - the bomb!! Though crowded between 8-9, the men serving were wonderful! If something ran out, just ask and they are more than happy to refill. Bagels, muffins, waffles, egg muffins, bread, eggs, bacon/sausage, juices, coffee, cereal, oatmeal, fruit (apples, oranges and bananas). Lots of room to eat in and out.

A/C turns on/off regardless of what it's set at, but once it cranks up it will be cold.

Computer on 2nd floor has a printer and copier - free. Free WIFI in rooms.

Vending machines in basement with snacks and drinks.

Will stay here again for sure. Wish the price was a little less - but for what you are getting, you don't need to worry about bed bugs.

Room Tip: We had the 18th floor 1806 and we could see the Chrysler top of the building, couldn't hear any...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ShellyCheng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
7hsjVK1qjfGSO08PriLhI2g60-9JBR3jkd7o-GfBDx4
11
Reviewed August 2, 2012

Our family stayed at this hotel while our daughter attended Broadway Artists Alliance. The staff was courteous and attentive. The rooms were clean and larger than we expected for NYC. We liked the fact that they had a fridge and microwave in the room. We loved having the free breakfast every morning,which cut down on food costs while in NYC. Also, the beds were super comfy. We will stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel Group
1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Chelsea
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Midtown Manhattan/Penn Station
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York ...
#122 of 469 in New York City
1,417 reviews
Midtown
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
#278 of 469 in New York City
11,724 reviews
Chelsea
Holiday Inn Express New York City - Chelsea
Holiday Inn Express New York Cit...
#261 of 469 in New York City
2,067 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Best Western Premier Herald Square
Midtown
Renaissance New York Midtown Hotel
Renaissance New York Midtown Hot...
#76 of 469 in New York City
724 reviews
Midtown
TRYP New York City Times Square South
TRYP New York City Times Square ...
#174 of 469 in New York City
3,887 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wingate by Wyndham Manhattan Midtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wingate by Wyndham Manhattan Midtown

Address: 235 W 35th St, New York City, NY 10001-1901
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Garment District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#223 Business Hotel in New York City
#224 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $127 - $426 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Wingate by Wyndham Manhattan Midtown 3*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Wingate by Wyndham Manhattan Midtown New York City Hotel is located just 1/2 block from Macys and Herald Square in the heart of the Garment/Fashion District, two blocks from Madison Square Garden and Penn Station and just moments away from such famous landmarks as the Empire State Building - 4 blocks, Times Square - 7 blocks, Bryant Park - 10 blocks, the Theater District - 10 blocks, and the Jacob Javits Convention Center - 10 blocks. At Wingate by Wyndham, we know you mean business. Our ninety-two spacious guestrooms and suites feature a well-lit work area, complimentary high speed internet access-wired and wireless, two line phones and remote printing from your room. The Wingate by Wyndham Manhattan Midtown is now offering FREE long distance calls to our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Wingate by Wyndham Manhattan Midtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wingate By Wyndham Manhattan Midtown Hotel New York City
Wingate New York City
Wingate Manhattan Midtown
Wyndham New York City
New York City Wyndham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing