We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food, bad ambience !” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Olive Garden

Olive Garden
Ranked #367 of 13,476 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Special occasions, Large groups, Kids, Families with children, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Brunch, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Midtown
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Good food, bad ambience !”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2013

There was a large queue at the door and the waiting times were 30 to 40 mins, however we were lucky and immediately got a table. We were seated downstairs at the entrance area and had a very attentive waiter. The food was good and like all Olive Gardens there was something for everyone. For being in the 'centre of the universe' the atmosphere was awful! If I had to go back I would request a table upstairs as there might be a better ambience there.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank McNeil13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,410 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,433
    1,268
    446
    138
    125
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
98 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Incredible view and location!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

The view when you sit in the upper floor is incredible. Food is good for the price and the waiter provided great service.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ligzrox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arkansas
Level Contributor
78 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Very Good”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

This was a very good restaurant. We had a very little wait time for a table, we also went at a "off time" for dinner. But we had a excellent waitress. Food was good just like most other Olive Gardens. It's in a great location and a nice view.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Vacationmomof3kids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good food at great prices”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2013

On arrival we were told there would be a 40 minute wait for a table but actually we were seated within 25 mins. Great location, we were seated at a window table so as we ate we were able to watch the excitement of Times Square. We were given 2 different menus but there was a leaflet already on the table advertising meals for 2 for 38 dollars. This included soup or house salad, a starter and a main course OR a main course and a desert. Excellent value for money. The salad was served with a lovely dressing and the salad bowl was refilled free of charge.
I would definitely recommend the Olive Garden, good food, great prices and a nice atmosphere.
Keep up the good work!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Wortley2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. John's, Canada
Level Contributor
42 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2013

Huge portions! We had drinks while waiting 40 minutes for our table but we expected that as we were there at peak time. The bartender was very nice to us and our kids. Waitress at our table was sweet, kids enjoyed her. Meals were all excellent and we ate way too much!! We haven't had a bad meal at an Olive Garden yet.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Neicey828
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Olive Garden also viewed

 
New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to Olive Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing