We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Sandwiches for a Quick Bite”

La Panineria Italiana
Ranked #3,206 of 13,554 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $12
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Free Wifi, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Neighborhood: Greenwich Village
Description: The needs of each client, the freshness and quality of the products, the friendliness of the staff, the special attention to cleanliness and hygiene are the basic principles of our local.we wanted to create a place that can meet the needs of an evolving market: products that are healthy and tasty, simple and refined, classic and innovative at the same time, you can eat them in, do take away or order them for delivery.We cut each slice at the right thicknesses depending on the type of cured meat, we finely cut fresh vegetables, measure the weight of the cheeses and sauces, in order to enhance the best combination of flavours and ingredients. We also take into consideration the right proportion of carbohydrates, proteins and fats all in accordance with a balanced and healthy diet
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great Sandwiches for a Quick Bite”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2014

Stopped in a few weeks ago for lunch. Simple, fresh, great bread - had the prosciutto and mozzarella and my gf had the caprese sandwich. They even let me charge my iPhone as I waited. You can grab a stool by the window and watch the action outside.

Stop by, you won't be disappointed.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank mikeohare32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    12
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“definitely italian food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2014

I went two weeks ago the staff was really friendly "italian style" great service.. great food also was so cheap. If you go in New York and you want to eat good Italian food this is the right place.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Flavio T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Immenstaad, Germany
Level Contributor
106 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“The real Panino in NYC”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2014

If you are near Washington Square you can't miss it! The Panini here are taster than in Italy too! I get Parma ham and Robiola cheese, it was so good! Products are real italian one, you can't find such quality neither to Eataly restaurant. A little bit expensive, but it's worth it!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nicola A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“EAT IN OR PORTAMI con TE (Take With You)!: The Best of Italy on W.8th St. in Manhattan”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2014

New York City has a new destination for fine Italian eating, and the fare could not be simpler or fresher. In March the Panineria Italiana opened at 1 W. 8th St. Though the space is tiny, the brothers Giuseppe and Mario Pesce from Naples have filled the shop with the freshest of Italian ingredients and other delicious items imported directly from Italy. Each day there is a panini special: a sandwich with a choice of drinks or beer ($10 with assorted sodas/$14 with beer). These include a great assortment like the Alba, the Bologna, the Cortina and the Capri, each as evocative as their name. There are a dozen to choose from, plus Ciabatta (small sandwiches) and meat & cheese platters. They even sell their meats and cheeses by the 1/2 pound. Their assortment of sweets is small but each a delight: from fresh cannoli to Sfogliatella Riccia/Frolia (orange/ricotta-filled pastry) at $3 each. The meats and cheeses are sliced freshly for each sandwich, and the pesto made fresh with basil from their garden in Brooklyn. Even the coffee is done the Italian way. Come and be charmed by the Brothers Pesce and their wonderful taste of Italy on 8th St.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great discovery in the Village”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2014

I was on my way to a chain restaurant on West 8th street yesterday when I ran across this small place that I had never noticed before. It turns out that while I was away (in Italy) for a couple of weeks, La Panineria opened its doors, serving wonderful Italian sandwiches with authentic, high quality, and very tasty ingredients. Their breads, cheeses, and sliced meats are top notch. They have wine and beer available as well as a variety of soft drinks both domestic and Italian. Some limited desserts (dolci) and excellent coffee complete the menu. It is a very small space, mostly take-out I would suspect thought I have eaten in at the common table two lunches in a row. I will be a regular as I work my way through the menu. They have 12 regular sandwiches, three small ones, and 5 "boards" with cheese and cured meats. Currently offering some start-up specials and student discounts. Very pleasant owners/staff. You will not be disappointed!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Panineria Italiana also viewed

New York City, NY
 
New York City, NY
 

Been to La Panineria Italiana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing