We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“NIGHTMARE” 1 of 5 stars
Review of The Grant Hotel

The Grant Hotel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in New York City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Grant Hotel
Save
You added The Grant Hotel to your Saves list
Ranked #402 of 475 Hotels in New York City
uk
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“NIGHTMARE”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2009

Dont stay here if you like clean bathrooms, without bugs, hot waer, ripped beds and unhelpful staff.
YOU HAVE BEEN WARNED!!!!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank jen1933
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    17
    9
    4
    11
See reviews for
2
7
6
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
chiba
Level Contributor
41 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2008

good location. value price.
fan in the bath room was broken and made a big noise.
wireless internet need $6, and PC in the lobby was busy

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank tsukasa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2007

Where do i start with my endless list of faults with the Grant Hotel.
After finally arriving at the Grant Hotel, or should I say, the Alexandar as it is named above the door, our nightmare begun!

First thoughts were, small, quiet and strange smell.

We made our way to the tiny lift which looked ready to collapse to get to our 2nd floor appartment. Our room, well our box, was awful! the bed was rock hard and linnen was itchy. As we opened the blinds, we were face to face with a brick wall.

On further inspection we found bare wires from plug sockets and light fittings. the bathroom was in the room next door to us and was shared with the rest of the people on our floor whom seemed to be permanent residents at the dive. There were more bare wires to be found next to the mirror, above the sink.

We were disturbed each night with the noisy heating system, We were told it would only last a few minutes, however 20 minutes later it was still going.

When we originally booked our holiday we planned to stay 3nights, however we later extended it to 4, On returning to the hotel on the 4th night, we were surprised to find our room had been completely emptied. Our stuff had all been thrown into black bags and put into a cupboard downstairs. Cleaners had not been informed we were staying an extra night so had removed our belongings.

Thankfully the wonderful city 'New York' made up for the appalling conditions we slept in.

We will definately be returning to New York, however we will not be visiting The Grant Hotel, and advise anyone, even those with a low budget to stay well clear!!!

Stayed February 2006
Helpful?
11 Thank d0ra_the_expl0ra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these New York City hotels

4.5 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 stars
Show Prices
Portsmouth UK
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2006

We have just returned from our 5th visit to NYC on 1st December, having stayed at the Grant for the first time as the hotel we normally stay in was full. Our otherwise enjoyable visit was marred by our terrible experience in this hotel.

Upon arrival we were informed that the hotel would require photocopies of our photo ID and credit card details (the former we were aware of but the latter we were not told about in the confirmation email we had received in advance). We were reluctant to provide these as they were stored (along with everyone else's details) in a plastic box on the front desk where, potentially, anyone could just lean across and take them. The receptionist stated that he had no secure location (safe, office, drawer) in which to store the paperwork and we were told to leave if we didn't like it! The 'security manager' then appeared and involved himself in the argument which culminated in him telling us that he didn't like us and we should go and sleep on the streets. We asked to see the manager and were told that he wasn't in and no-one knew when he was due back on duty. Given that it was Thanksgiving Day, we had little choice but to stay at the hotel as we had nowhere else to go.

The room itself was too warm with no way of controlling the heat, the air-con was too noisy to have on for too long and there were exposed wires all over the place, including the hallways and bathrooms. Both my friend and I developed curious rashes after a few days of staying at the hotel..I would not like to hazard a guess as to the cause!

The final horror was when we had two brand new pairs of childrens' trainers (still in their boxes) stolen from our locked hotel room the day before we left and the response from the receptionist was 'call 911.' Again we asked for the manager; again we were told that he wasn't in and no-one knew when he would be back on duty.

I love NYC and am determined that this experience will not put me off but, rest assured, that any future stays will certainly not involve the Grant Hotel.

  • Liked — the location - this was the reason we picked it in the first place
  • Disliked — the level of customer service was non-existent
  • Tips/Secrets — don't stay there!
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank jastelem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2006

This hotel does not have a sign outside the building stating that it is indeed a hotel. It is however a very well priced , very clean "hotel". I believe rooms on some of the floors are rented long term as many of the people in the lift spoke Spanish only. Everything was clean and the staff were very helpful. Nice neighbourhood also.

  • Stayed November 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank rootuid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2006

I was afraid to stay here because of the mixed reviews, but the throwaway price ($190 with tax for 3 nights) convinced me to give it a try. My fear was misplaced. The Grant (also known as The Devon) is one of the best travel bargains I have ever gotten. The room was clean and reasonably appointed (about the quality of an older "motel"). I hate hotel room odors of any sort, and my room ranked way better than average, with only a very slight 'small room' smell that blew off as soon as I cracked the window. The shared bath was modern (more than the room), fully tiled, and well cleaned at least twice daily (again with no smell). The guests seem to consist of mostly young bargain travellers. Book on the Woogo website for the best price. Also search for a coupon (I found one pretty easily). Though the booking process was not flawless, it was resolved by staff pleasantly and efficiently.

  • Liked — Value
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MarkInSF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2006

This hotel certainly offers value for money, and is in a good location only 1.5 blocks from the subway. There are also some nice restaurants a short walk up broadway (especially recommended is Regional, just a short walk up broadway for a lovely Italian)

The bathrooms were also cleaned regularly and rarely had to wait at all.

Unfourtunately this was all let down by the bed bugs. Having read through the reviews on this site it seems several people have experienced this as well and quite a few havent so seems to me this is not a hotel wide issue. We were in room 319 initially and when I complained to the reception they were more than happy to move us and didn't seem phased at all, so it seemed to me something they were rather used to. We were moved to room 510, and I think the bugs were in there too as i ended up with an arm and upper body covered in bites which become quite inflamed and required me to visit a doctor after leaving New York for treatment.

My advice overall would be to avoid this hotel just incase, and if you are offered room 319 or 510 make sure you change straight away - the staff didn't seem like they were going to do anything about getting rid of them in our first room!

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Bed Bugs!
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank MattFromLondon32131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Upper West Side
Hotel Newton
Hotel Newton
#288 of 475 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 1,390 reviews
Upper West Side
Belnord Hotel
Belnord Hotel
#315 of 475 in New York City
3.5 of 5 stars 1,116 reviews
Upper West Side
Days Inn Hotel New York City-Broadway
Days Inn Hotel New York City-Bro...
#398 of 475 in New York City
3.0 of 5 stars 1,712 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper West Side
The Lucerne Hotel
The Lucerne Hotel
#107 of 475 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 2,173 reviews
Upper West Side
Royal Park Hotel
Royal Park Hotel
#374 of 475 in New York City
3.0 of 5 stars 547 reviews
Upper West Side
Marrakech Hotel on Broadway
Marrakech Hotel on Broadway
#365 of 475 in New York City
3.5 of 5 stars 1,430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grant Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grant Hotel

Property: The Grant Hotel
Address: 306 W 94th St, New York City, NY 10025-6828
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Upper West Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #402 of 475 Hotels in New York City
Number of rooms: 125
Also Known As:
Grant Hotel New York City
Grant New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing