We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Indian Food”

Darbar Fine Indian Cuisine
Ranked #1,112 of 13,754 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $21 - $30
Cuisines: Indian, Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Buffet, Delivery, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Midtown
Cross street: Between 3rd & Lexington
Transit: Grand Central
Description: Darbar Indian restaurant has a prime location in midtown Manhattan, right in the heart of New York City, and is a superb choice for authentic Indian food and ambiance. Besides the traditional korma and tandoori preparations, the kitchen experiments with trans-ethnic fusion dishes like Maine crab cakes, and potato croquettes stuffed with goat cheese. Make sure to take advantage of the lunch buffet special, with seafood, lamb or goat, chicken, vegetables, salads and much more.
Noida, India
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Indian Food”
Reviewed August 17, 2014

Real Indian food is served as managed by some Marwari businessmen from Kolkata .
I was amazed to see the indian green chilly being served with dhania pudding chatni.
We ordered for meal like tandoori roti , allo gobi fry, yellow dal fried but we saw some foreigner came and ordered for samosa with chatni . We immediately switched over the order of samosa , so hammy it was that to in NY.
We enjoyed the food at reasonable price.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AmrendraIRS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    112
    106
    24
    7
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“BEST Indian Food in NYC! Great find!”
Reviewed August 15, 2014 via mobile

Had a GREAT meal here! Super friendly owner waited on us and made fabulous suggestions. We LOVED the vegetarian house specialty of beet root dumplings in a delicious flavorful curry like sauce. The chicken dish was also excellent! We will be returning here on our next trip into the city! Highly recommended!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Kirstinjm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pembroke, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“must try if love indian cuisine !!!!”
Reviewed August 10, 2014

went here with hubby and 2 teenage boys - meal was superb - true authentic spices used - staff very helpful and omitted certain ingredients to suit our taste - good sized portions - nice atmosphere reasonable price about £12 a head - good menu choice for all types even veggies like myself - well worth a visit

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank anne b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Good Indian Food”
Reviewed August 5, 2014

We had Indian food after trying out all western delicacies near us in our week stay in NYC. Food was great but was on a costlier side. Ambiance can be improved in the dining area on 1st floor.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Harsh C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
1,733 reviews
1,042 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 399 helpful votes
“Terrific Lunchtime Buffet”
Reviewed August 4, 2014

Good values for lunchtime buffet. There are a number of dishes that you can fill up on and they bring you the naan or poori to your table. There are some hot sauces that you can out on. I have always gone with others to the buffet so I am not aware of other items they may have but this is a very good value.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Allan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Darbar Fine Indian Cuisine also viewed

New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 
New York City, NY
 

Been to Darbar Fine Indian Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing