We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty good deal in a great location.”
Review of Hotel Mela

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Mela
Ranked #273 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Calcutta
Level Contributor
60 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Pretty good deal in a great location.”
Reviewed August 12, 2014

This is my 2nd stay at the Hotel Mela and frankly I was not disappointed. The Hotel is a good find in a great location - right in the heart of Times Sq.
The staff are attentive to every need.
My only hiccup during this stay was my drop to the airport where the hotel told me the hotel cab could be paid for by a credit card at the airport at Newark. Upon reaching the driver told me he did not have a card machine and I would have to pay the 100$ in cash as it could not be charged to my card.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank no_boundaries94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,974 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,595
    1,558
    532
    173
    116
See reviews for
581
2,027
236
440
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (647)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 12, 2014

We stayed at Hotel Mela for 3 nights and it was amazing. This was a wedding anniversary trip for my husband and I and we were pleasantly surprised. As soon as we walked in we received a very friendly and welcoming greeting. Our room was not ready because we arrived a couple hours too early and they graciously took our luggage and allowed us to see the city and grab a bite to eat. When we returned we were given our room keys and our luggage was delivered immediately to our room. Hotel Mela is steps away from Times Square and also wonderful places to eat. They also are very courteous and willing to accommodate all your needs. The room was very clean and spacious enough for the both of us. We had a bonus balcony that allowed us to see the lights and glimmer from Times Square. We definitely recommend Hotel Mela to everyone. We had an awesome experience.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AVJMS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jefferson City, Missouri, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 12, 2014

Great stay at Hotel Mela. Location is just off of Times Square withing easy walking distance to most theaters and wonderful resturants. Short walk to the subway for easy access to all of New York. Special thanks to Jean Paul our concierge. If you need any assistance he can help. All of the hotel staff are very pleasant and helpful. Rooms were very clean and quiet. Great, great location and hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for an interior room. No view but very quiet and this is a plus as New York is very, very noisy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gart P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akron, Ohio
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2014

We stayed just one night at Mela for a quick trip into the City to see Hedwig and the Angry Inch at the Belasco Theater which is right across the street. We had an amazing rate through Travelzoo that also included breakfast at the Bistro next door. All staff members that we encountered were friendly and efficient, especially the bellman who helped us with holding our bags. The Deluxe King room was very spacious, especially for NYC. The room was clean and pleasantly scented. We were on the back side of the hotel, which made it a very quiet room but lacked any sort of view. This was not an issue for us as we were barely in the room itself on such a short stay. I would not hesitate to stay again at the same rate.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed August 10, 2014 via mobile

We stayed in the hotel mela for a week and couldn't fault it! The location is unbelievable...a stones throw from Times Square and in a great location to access all other sites easily! The rooms are small but no smaller than any other rooms New York is know for, but they are very clean and comfortable!I would recommend this hotel for a trip to new york for it's location!

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank HolidaySpuds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2014

My girlfriend and I stayed at the hotel Mela for 14 nights at the end of June/beginning of July.

The hotels location was excellent. The service staff were top notch. We arrived back to our room on the second night to a bottle of wine waiting for us. A very classy touch.

Saju Bistro was located right next store. We had breakfast included with our stay and it was very good, but basic. No complaints.

The AC was amazing and always kept our room cool. We stayed in room 1410 which was high enough to block out most of the noise down below. However there was some heavy machinery that did wake me up once or twice during the stay, but hardly the hotels fault.

You can rent a mini fridge for $30 for the duration of your stay. Seems as we were there for 14 nights, it was a bargain and a must have.

The rooms were tiny but even though we were there for 2 weeks it never seemed to small.

We will consider this hotel again if we can get a similar deal on travel zoo next summer. There is not really any thing else we needed for our stay.

Room Tip: If staying for an extended visit, get a deluxe king room or better. Worth the upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Northern B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManagerMela, General Manager at Hotel Mela, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Dear Northern,

Well thank you so much for writing some honest feedback on the Mela. We will share your comments with our team and ensure we continue to stress personalized guest service every chance we get.

Please contact us the next time you wish to visit NYC!

Yorus in Service,

Nick Ivezaj
General Manager
Hotel Mela
Direct: 212-710-7008
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LA
Level Contributor
76 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2014

We are a family from Australia and had travelled a long way, would have been nice to be greeted a little better after long trip. The staff did there job but I believe going that little extra doesn't take much energy. Have been to NY before and have stayed in better places. We needed 2 rooms so picked this hotel for value. Location great, rooms ok, service ok, but if you only need 1 room pick another hotel. For a little extra money you can definitely do better than Hotel Mela.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Silke P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManagerMela, General Manager at Hotel Mela, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Hello Silke N,

Thank you very much for taking time out of your day to write a review on your recent trip to Hotel Mela. We very much appreciate the feedback and we are constantly looking at ways to improve our hotel.

Also we absolutely have Deluxe and Executive rooms that average over 300 square feet and are of ample size for long stays.

Please contact me directly if I could be of any service to you at all. We would love to invite you back at a discounted rate and upgraded room accommodations. I'm certain you will have an amazing experience with us.

Warmest Regards,

Nick Ivezaj
General Manager
Hotel Mela
Direct: 212-710-7008
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel
The Manhattan at Times Square Ho...
#295 of 468 in New York City
7,136 reviews
Midtown
Row NYC Hotel
Row NYC Hotel
#344 of 468 in New York City
17,599 reviews
Midtown
Paramount Hotel Times Square New York
Paramount Hotel Times Square New...
#380 of 468 in New York City
4,043 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Millennium Broadway New York Times Square
Millennium Broadway New York Tim...
#283 of 468 in New York City
5,159 reviews
Midtown
Room Mate Grace
Room Mate Grace
#74 of 468 in New York City
868 reviews
Midtown
The Time New York
The Time New York
#71 of 468 in New York City
339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mela? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mela

Property: Hotel Mela
Address: 120 West 44th St, New York City, NY 10036-4050
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#105 Family Hotel in New York City
#166 Business Hotel in New York City
#169 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#179 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Mela 4*
Number of rooms: 233
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel Mela reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mela Hotel New York City
Hotel Mela New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing