We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay in the Theater District”
Review of Hotel Mela

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Mela
Ranked #254 of 473 Hotels in New York City
Reviewed June 23, 2014

Found the hotel through web searches for hotels near the Belasco theater. Everyone I spoke to when asking questions and making the reservations were helpful and friendly. Unfortunately when we arrived there was a mistake made with the reservations, but the gentleman at the front desk handled it wonderfully. He apologized and immediately made it right, getting us what I believe was a better room for the same price.
The room itself was comfortable and clean and reasonably sized for a boutique hotel like this one in NYC. With parking right next door and multitudes of restaurants in the area not to mention walking distance to so many theaters and MoMa it was a great location and a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MelRod333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (4,267)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,460 - 1,466 of 4,267 reviews

Reviewed June 22, 2014

Check in at the Mela has always been quick and easy. It is a small boutique hotel and the location for going the theater is perfect. The rooms are well appointed, very clean and we just live staying there

Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank oangelw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2014

This little boutique hotel is lovely, rooms are small but adequate, clean and decorated in a contemporary style, for the amount of time we spent in it, it was perfect! And although we had no view, it was very quiet away from the hustle and bustle of the streets, so very easy to switch off at the end of a busy day!
My husband and I stayed here for 4 nights in May and loved every minute we spent in the city! The location of this hotel is perfect, only a couple of minutes away from Times Square, so easy to pop back to if needed in the day.
Would highly recommend and would stay here again if we ever return to stay in the city!
If you haven't been to New York before and you visit between May and October, go to Bryant Park and enjoy watching the world go by from the open air bar, we stumbled across this lovely place and enjoyed a few Blue Moons in the lovely afternoon sunshine! Only a 5 minute walk from the lovely Mela to!:-)

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 11Jules5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2014

We just returned from a trip to NYC, and stayed at the Hotel Mela. We saw it advertised on travel zoo.ca, and got a great deal at $219/night for a king size bed. The bathroom was smallish, but not uncomfortable. The bed was super comfy, hotel staff were extremely helpful and polite. It's on w 44th street, close to 7th ave so right around the corner from times square.
It's right across the street from where Hedwig and the Angry Inch is playing and although we were not fortunate to go, we got to see NPH sign autographs on the street.
It's really close to everything, and surprisingly the hotel is quiet, which was really nice after a long day of walking in crowds. Overall a great experience, and will stay again for sure!

Room Tip: Keep an eye on Travelzoo.com, they have great deals!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Heather S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2014

Hotels in NY are so expensive so we decided to give this "reasonably" priced hotel a chance.
The rooms are tiny! The regular rooms were so small that we could barely walk around the bed and there were no chairs, desk anything. We upgraded for $30/night so that we could have a small bit more space (and a desk and chair). The hotel lobby is petite as well...a few couches and coffee table and a small area to stand around to wait. One elevator was on/off in terms of working.
Some of the staff were nice. At one point, the front desk appeared not to have anyone there and a long line was growing. I asked the concierge if perhaps she could help and she said someone would be there...I found that disconcerting. Only one person at the front desk (missing) and the other staff person unwilling to pitch in.
The facility was clean and "hip." Room service came from the french bistro next door. we had breakfast there several mornings and it was quite good.
So for a reasonably priced hotel with limited other services, this hotel works.

Room Tip: given that the hotel is in the middle of times square, the room racing the "courtyard" wer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leslie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2014

I got a room here through a blind Hotwire rate where you find out the hotel name after you pay. I trusted the positive reviews and forked over $377 for one night. Hard to believe even in New York that their rack rate is well above $500. There is nothing particularly wrong with this hotel, but there is nothing really right about it, either. The first room we were given had such overwhelming noise issues from the adjacent air conditioning units for the building that we requested a change, as it would have been impossible to sleep even with ear plugs. The room should simply not be rented out. The room we moved to, 619, was miniscule, with just enough space to maneuver around a queen-size bed. There wasn't even room for a chair -- the bed was the only place to sit. The overhead light was ugly and one of the arm lights on the bed's headboard was broken. The sheets had more polyester than cotton in them for sure. The bathroom sink was cracked. Much ado was made about the mini-bar, that gobbled up valuable space. If we even opened it a motion detector would result in a charge, we were told. We felt like tiptoeing around it. No closet, just a sort of armoire that ate up yet more precious space. All told this hotel is simply not good value.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chalouisduletz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2014 via mobile

Great hotel overall. Great location. Very small lobby. Rooms are small but efficient. We had two SINGLE beds, not full, not queen. But very clean and comfy. Thank you housekeeping for doing a great job with the cleanliness. Small but efficient bathroom. This is a great hotel for people who are visiting nyc and do not beed the frills of a big restaurant / 24 hour room service etc. Adrian was friendly, courteous and efficient at check in. You will need a credit card to guarantee incidentals. I would very definitely return.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank selcukny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Room Mate Grace
Room Mate Grace
#73 of 473 in New York City
1,180 reviews
Midtown
Row NYC Hotel
Row NYC Hotel
#353 of 473 in New York City
20,494 reviews
Midtown
Millennium Broadway New York Times Square
Millennium Broadway New York Tim...
#307 of 473 in New York City
5,625 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Paramount Hotel Times Square New York
Paramount Hotel Times Square New...
#404 of 473 in New York City
5,054 reviews
Midtown
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
#275 of 473 in New York City
12,060 reviews
Midtown
Hotel Edison Times Square
Hotel Edison Times Square
#310 of 473 in New York City
10,196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mela? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mela

Address: 120 West 44th St, New York City, NY 10036
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#161 Business Hotel in New York City
#164 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#172 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $131 - $353 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Mela 4*
Number of rooms: 233
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, HotelPower, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Mela reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mela Hotel New York City
Hotel Mela New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing