We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, nice, nice”
Review of Hotel Mela

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Mela
Ranked #270 of 466 Hotels in New York City
Silver Spring, Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice, nice, nice”
Reviewed February 10, 2014

A get-away weekend in New York CIty was made delightful by our stay at the Hotel Mela. The staff, starting with Stephanie who offered hot chocolate while we checked in, could not have been nicer. Rooms are New York-size (think "little apple" and "small is beautiful") with nice touches and good threads. Quiet, cozy, clean, close to everything, the Hotel Mela is on my list for business and pleasure. Try the French restaurant next door, Saju Bistro. We enjoyed a nice dinner in a quiet atmosphere after the pre-theatre crowd left. If you are looking for a small hotel in the Theatre District, this is a find. Kudos to the front desk staff who give it a hip feel.

Room Tip: We were upgraded to an Executive King which made it extra nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MEHunt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,011 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,607
    1,574
    537
    174
    119
See reviews for
591
2,040
238
445
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (653)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, fl
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2014 via mobile

I had never been to New York and chose this hotel because of its central location. It is right in the middle of Times Square which was really convenient. It is a smaller hotel with small elevators but everyone was really friendly and helpful. I didn't have any issues. The room was cleaned every day and the complimentary H20 products were a nice bonus. I was in the deluxe king room and it was not as small as I was expecting due to the other reviews. It wasn't big by any means, but it's New York City! The bed was VERY comfortable. If we wanted to stay in Times Square again, we would definitely stay here!

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Star R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Golden, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2014

Wonderful boutique style hotel in Manhattan. Location is great with a metro stop a couple blocks away. The rooms are small but have everything you need and are very comfortable. The staff was wonderful. Overall a very enjoyable night.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelmom053
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2014 via mobile

My first experience at Hotel Mela will also be my last. Even by NYC standards, the rooms are tiny. I had booked a room with a queen bed, and was first given a room with a full. I asked for a change, and regretted it, as I gave up a desk and floor any floor space. My room was a bed with 18" of clearance on 3 sides, and wardrobe that was not tall enough to hold a jacket. The Paramount may be the only smaller room in NYC. The front desk was rude in changing my room, and then gave me bum directions to a nearby well-known restaurant. Just nothing to redeem this hotel.

Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank TodATL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nickhotelmela, General Manager at Hotel Mela, responded to this review, February 13, 2014
Hello Dear Guest,


I would also like to sincerely apologize about the several mishaps during your stay.

We pride ourselves on unique personal service and high quality guest rooms; unfortunately we did not deliver that experience to you on your visit.
Our standards require us to accommodate you in the room you originally reserved which means ensuring you received an Executive King room. I’m also very sorry to hear we did not offer a very warm welcoming check-in experience. Please know this is not indicate of our standards and we are following up immediately with our staff members.


Feel free to contact myself directly or anyone of my colleagues and they will be more then happy to assist you and recover this unfortunate stay.

Yours in Service,

Nick Ivezaj
General Manager
Hotel Mela
Direct: 212-710-7008
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clifton, New Jersey
1 review
Reviewed February 7, 2014

This past week was my 4th stay at Hotel Mela. When I entered the hotel this time, I was greeted by a wonderful aroma. Apparently some NYC hotels now have their own specific scents; the apple-mango scent of Hotel Mela is wonderful!!! (They should sell it).

Danny and Joel at the front desk were perfect gentlemen. They answered all my questions, looked up restaurants for me, offered me a map and gave me directions to where I was heading. My only complaint is that they couldn't sell me a candle!!

My bed was very comfortable and I love the glass-in shower. All in all I had a great (2-night) experience!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sales M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
1 review
Reviewed February 5, 2014

I was here in January for Business and I Will come back for sure: quick and professional service at Front Desk , Fantastic Room with a very comfortable bed, clean and well furnished bathroom and indeed very well positioned!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AndreafromMadrid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sugar Land, Texas
1 review
Reviewed February 4, 2014

The night-shift receptionist was totally impolite when we wondered if there were slippers available on phone. He ended the call without any response. He asked "what room?" Instead of "may I have your room number please?"
Although the location is good, room was clean, we may not stay in this hotel again deal to its terrible service attitude.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaimaiMia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Paramount Hotel Times Square New York
Paramount Hotel Times Square New...
#384 of 466 in New York City
4,188 reviews
Midtown
The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel
The Manhattan at Times Square Ho...
#297 of 466 in New York City
7,222 reviews
Midtown
The Premier Times Square by Millennium
The Premier Times Square by Mill...
#174 of 466 in New York City
757 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Millennium Broadway New York Times Square
Millennium Broadway New York Tim...
#284 of 466 in New York City
5,193 reviews
Midtown
Night Theater District
Night Theater District
#245 of 466 in New York City
2,144 reviews
Midtown
The Time New York
The Time New York
#76 of 466 in New York City
363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mela? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mela

Property: Hotel Mela
Address: 120 West 44th St, New York City, NY 10036-4050
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#104 Family Hotel in New York City
#164 Business Hotel in New York City
#167 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#177 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Mela 4*
Number of rooms: 233
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Mela reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mela Hotel New York City
Hotel Mela New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing