We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Small but posh” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Mela

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Mela
Ranked #256 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Small but posh”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2014

I stayed at this hotel for a girls' night out in NYC one night and was matched to it using one of those blind match/low rate websites. It was a bit on the small side (but hey, it's NYC), yet it was clean and trendy enough (meaning not super outdated comforters and carpet that have been hoarding dust and whoknowswhat for 25+ years). We were a bit surprised to find that we had two twin beds (likely as a result of the gamble using said website) but we got $100 off the going rate had we booked it direct. My main complaint was that they had actually charged my credit card twice for the room. Although this type of error should not be taken lightly, they removed it without much hassle. In the end, it was clean and all we needed for a decent price.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SenioritaFliesALot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,860 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,568
    1,514
    511
    163
    104
See reviews for
563
1,972
233
424
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (625)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2014

We have stayed at this hotel twice and each visit has been extremely enjoyable. The room is clean and the staff are very helpful. I have recommended this hotel to others. The hotel is convenient to all of the museums and dining.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Thomas H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda
Level Contributor
32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2014

This hotel was really 4 star. The rooms were very clean, spacious for New York City, helpful staff and 1/2 block to Times Square. The price, booked through bookit.com, was terrific. The staff had hot cocoa in the lobby on a frigid Saturday and a bowl of apples on the check in/check out counter today.

Room Tip: An interior room is quieter than the ones facing 144th St.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank linda_m1946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akron, Ohio
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2014

My girlfriend and I have stayed at several places around New York in recent years, and have to say that the Hotel Mela is by far and away the best value, and service we have found. We stayed there for the New Years Eve celebration in TImes Square. The staff was absolutely wonderful, and extremely courteous. From Jonathan at the front desk, to every person on the housekeeping staff. Many hotels in the area have housekeeping that starts knocking on your door at 9am, and then every 15minutes to see if you've left yet, at the Mela they asked around 9:30am, and then were kind enough to ask what time they should come back, and then didn't bother us until that time! Yes the rooms are small, but your not in Times Square to stay in your room. But even with that being said, they are not claustrophobic. Walking into the Mela your are immediately treated like family, or a valued returning customer, even if its your first time! We have stayed at big name hotels in the city like the Waldorf Astoria, and would recommend the Mela over them all! I would greatly recommend this hotel to any type of traveler! The rooms are comfortable, extremely clean, they even have several HD tv channels, the staff is EXCELLENT! If you have the chance to stay here, book it and know you'll be well taken care of, and you are getting amazing value and service!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BHMO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Brunswick, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2014

I just came back from a visit to NYC. I stayed at Hotel Mela and it was great. The staff was very welcoming and friendly in particular JoJo. I booked two rooms on Hotwire and was very happy to get the Hotel Mela. The rooms are small but the beds are very comfortable. I would definitely stay at Hotel Mela again. I loved the location as it was so close to everything. It had free wifi but it did not work in my room. It worked well in the lobby. I would recommend this hotel to anyone looking to visit NYC.

Room Tip: Rooms that do not face 44th street are less noisy in the morning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank basebrat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
long Island
Level Contributor
73 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2014

Purchased a Groupon to stay at Hotel Mela for one night. Reading the reviews I saw that most of the rooms were pretty small, so I went knowing I'd have a small room. No biggie. It was very small!!! Shoe box small - 11'x13'. No kidding. So if you can't deal with small, don't book the Superior Queen. It was just my daughter and myself for one night, so I didn't care. But there is no place for an extra cot if needed,nor a place to store your luggage in the room. The room was VERY clean and modern. The bathroom is decent size and has a large walk in shower. Staff at front desk, reservation hot line and cleaning crew were very nice. We ended up staying an extra day because of the snow and were accommodated with a decent price. Even stayed in my shoe box room! LOL. It's a great place to stay if you want to be in the middle of Times Square and theatres. I would definitely go back.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank luvcamping1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaithersburg, Maryland
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2014

You are literally a block from Time's Square, so the location is fantastic if Time's Square if your kind of thing :) I've stayed here three times around Christmas time and the price is great for that location. No complaints about the rooms, a bit small of course like most places in Manhattan, but very nice and clean.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Leo F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Row NYC Hotel
Row NYC Hotel
#339 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 15,675 reviews
Midtown
Paramount Hotel Times Square New York
Paramount Hotel Times Square New...
#374 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,653 reviews
Midtown
Room Mate Grace
Room Mate Grace
#79 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 716 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Millennium Broadway New York Times Square
Millennium Broadway New York Tim...
#274 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,998 reviews
Midtown
The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel
The Manhattan at Times Square Ho...
#289 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 6,632 reviews
Midtown
Broadway at Times Square Hotel
Broadway at Times Square Hotel
#176 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,000 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mela? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mela

Property: Hotel Mela
Address: 120 West 44th St, New York City, NY 10036-4050
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#106 Family Hotel in New York City
#165 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#167 Business Hotel in New York City
#170 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Mela 4*
Number of rooms: 232
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Mela reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mela Hotel New York City
Hotel Mela New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing