We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Mela, New York”
Review of Hotel Mela

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Mela
Ranked #273 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Reviewed September 19, 2013

The hotel was very clean and maid service good and really polite, BUT unfortunarety the desk staff were unhelpful, couldnt be bothered attitude. On entering the hotel after a long flight from UK, the porter that helped us with our luggage was really good, helpful and polite. But the desk staff were very poor, one was on his mobile and didnt look up while texting, the other looked embarrased and told him to see to our booking in and he left. The other staff member who had been texting was not concentrating and was vague/offhand. We booked via VIRGIN a superior room and it turned out to be a songle room with a double bed sqaushed into it, a single warddrobe and unable to place empty suitcases anywhere (if we could have unpacked as there was not enough room to do so), however we asked to change rooms and was met with a curt manner and siad they may be able to do something in the morning. We rung virgin rep, sloghtly more helpful, but indifferent, but managed to help us move that evening to a bigger room, with a view onto a brick wall!! As it was our 25th wedding aniversary, we had been sent by family flowere and chocolates by FedEx. The flowers arrived and were placed in our room, however the chocolates and cheesecake did not make it to the room despite being delivered by FedEx. The staff were generally unhelpful and abrupt. On leaving we asked for our luggage to be brought up to the front, as cab was waiting for us, this took over 20 mins and only when I demanded that someone help did they do so. We were then late for the airport. Hotel Mela - keep it!! dont bother staying here. Breakfast way too expensive. Coffee machine in room useless and the toilet wouldnt flush unless we took lid off and manually lifted the ball cock - no help from staff. For a superior room very unsuperior service. Our money was superior enough for them though!!! very disgrunted UK traveller to NY

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RheezyRhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nickhotelmela, General Manager at Hotel Mela, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2013

Hello Dear Guest,

I really must start out by offering my personal apologies to the mishaps that occurred during your visit at Mela. I'm very very sorry to hear that you had a poor experience with us.

Please know that we expect more from our staff and constantly go through training exercises to ensure we provide top quality guest service.

Please contact me personally so we can make amends and I assure you that we can prove we are very serious about customer service.

Yours in Service,

Nick Ivezaj
General Manager Hotel Mela
Direct: 212-710-7008
Email: Nicki@hotelmela.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,088)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,634 - 1,640 of 4,088 reviews

Reviewed September 17, 2013

This hotel is in a great location, within walking distance of everything. The staff were amazing the upgraded our room from the 3rd floor to the 11th as it was my birthday, both rooms were faultless. Would high recommend a stay here, both rooms were so quiet.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gbawden1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2013

We used priceline to book this hotel. I was suprisingly pleased to see how nice the lobby, ammenities and rooms were. The hotel staff was extremely friendly and helpful. We checked our bags in early because room check in was not until 3pm. They up-graded our room for free and it was a very spacious room. Everything was clean and nice. The location was so central. We were a block from Times Square and the main subway station. We were a few blocks from Rockafeller Center. It was such a pleasant experience. And the restaurants on the block are fantastic! Vergils is a must!

Room Tip: not sure what standard rooms are like but the delux king room had a desk, sitting chair and plenty o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jrw11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2013

Yay for free WiFi!!! This hotel gets extra Brownie Points from me for this!!! But don't expect a fantastic view. You are not here to sleep or loiter around in the room...you are literally half a block away from Times Square, although you wouldn't know it from the noise...apart from the odd siren, it genuinely didn't feel like we were in the city centre! The staff are super helpful and accommodating and the rooms, while small, are spotlessly clean. The beds are heavenly!!!! The bathrooms are REALLY small though, and I guess it would have been a nice touch to just advise us that maintenance was taking place on the pipes BEFORE I climbed into the shower. Since this was one of the hottest days of the summer, a nice cold splash was not out of order, but it could have been a nasty discovery otherwise.

Room Tip: If you can afford to upgrade, I'd recommend it, as the rooms while spotless, are a little on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ScubeyToo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2013

On one of the most heavily hotel and university clubbed aves in the theatre district- here is a new little gem. I was in a king size room, so I can't report about other rooms. But the hotel service was extremely helpful, pleasant and accommodating. I had a medical issue in the middle of the night, nothing serious but I needed something from the pharmacy, and they front desk was helpful and kind. My breakfast was right on time, as requested (not in the range) and just fine.

Room Tip: interior rooms are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Catrina618
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013

Great location / good value. Stayed for business a couple days and found the hotel, clean,comfortable and accommodating. A simple small boutique hotel practically without a lobby area. Gym is small, filled with tread mills, but there is a bench and dumb bells. Staff was friendly. Stayed in room 801, next to elevator and the window view was a brick wall. But, it was quiet and zero street noise. Gregory's coffee is about a block away (good stuff) and zen sushi is on the same block & very good, they get crowded for lunch (try the cold tofu). Stay away from the French cafe across the street...underwhelming. Wish I would have tried the bistro restaurant in the hotel.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
Thank Dlacu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2013 via mobile

Great location, high price for value, no hot water for 2+ days, Luke warm water. Was told it isn't what I expect from home, was told that its warm bc other people are taking a shower, light bulb requested to be changed, had to ask twice, was told refrigerator was comped, no fridge, complained again, got a fridge, was told to use mini bar and notes in system, food removed from mini bar next day. When you get to the right people they take accountability , comped breakfast for two for a week and a night but problems persist as well as poor statements like other people taking a shower which is why it's warm. Could have stayed My go to chain of Marriott for a better experience. Did enjoy location and breakfast next door and free wifi..make sure you know who you are speaking with in management and make sure you know what you are paying for at 340 a night ....

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bemorrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nickhotelmela, General Manager at Hotel Mela, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2013

Hello Mr. Morrow

Thank you so much for taking the time and writing a review in regards to your recent stay at Hotel Mela.
I would also like to sincerely apologize about the several mishaps during your stay.

We pride ourselves on unique personal service and high quality guest rooms; unfortunately we did not deliver that experience to you on your visit.
I’m also very sorry to hear we did not fulfill requests for simple amenities such as a delivering a refrigerator to your room. Additionally we did experience a very isolated issue with our hot water temperature in the past week which has been resolved 100%. Please know this is not indicate of our standards and we are following up immediately with our staff members.

Although we cannot change the experience you had recently with us; we would like to invite you back at a deeply discounted rate and upgraded room whenever you decide to visit New York City again.


Feel free to contact myself directly or anyone of my colleagues and they will be more then happy to assist you.

Warmest Regards,

Nick Ivezaj
General Manager
Hotel Mela
direct: nicki@hotelmela.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Paramount Hotel Times Square New York
Paramount Hotel Times Square New...
#396 of 469 in New York City
4,582 reviews
Midtown
The Premier Times Square by Millennium
The Premier Times Square by Mill...
#178 of 469 in New York City
800 reviews
Midtown
Millennium Broadway New York Times Square
Millennium Broadway New York Tim...
#279 of 469 in New York City
5,359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Row NYC Hotel
Row NYC Hotel
#352 of 469 in New York City
19,264 reviews
Midtown
Room Mate Grace
Room Mate Grace
#78 of 469 in New York City
1,022 reviews
Midtown
Distrikt Hotel New York City
Distrikt Hotel New York City
#71 of 469 in New York City
5,358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mela? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mela

Address: 120 West 44th St, New York City, NY 10036-4050
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#104 Family Hotel in New York City
#162 Business Hotel in New York City
#165 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#180 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $169 - $416 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Mela 4*
Number of rooms: 233
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, TravelUp, Agoda, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Mela reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mela Hotel New York City
Hotel Mela New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing