We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay Here for Location”
Review of Hotel Mela

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Mela
Ranked #270 of 466 Hotels in New York City
Lake Forest, California
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Stay Here for Location”
Reviewed July 23, 2013 via mobile

We just finished a 3 night stay at Hotel Mela. While I don't really have anything overly negative to say, there is not also too much to rave about. The location, obviously, is perfect for access to Times Square and surrounding activities. While the rooms were clean they were teeny tiny; even for NYC standards. We were in a King Deluxe. I am scared to think about how small the basic room must be. Wallpaper in bathroom is peeling. Staff was cordial. No hospitality room to freshen up in while waiting for your room to be ready. Overall, not bad, but not impressive.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pkashinsky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,011 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,607
    1,574
    537
    174
    119
See reviews for
591
2,040
238
445
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (653)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Corpus Christi, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 22, 2013

We had a delightful stay here in Hotel Mela. Staff was very friendly & our room was nice & clean. Elevators are slow but not so bad. I didn't have any problem with the outside noise, our room was very sound proof. It was only a 2 minute walk from Times Square & their's plenty of places to eat at near the hotel. They are a little on the pricey side but not so bad. I recommend Juniors & Virgils BBQ. 5th Ave & Central are a quick 10-15 minute walk away! I love that this hotel is smack in the middle of all that NYC has to give. I had excellent stay here. Only set back is that the air conditioning units aren't efficient here. I would recommend a fall or winter visit. I'm definitly coming back for a stay here but it won't be during the summer. Also ask the staff for help getting a cab for you. It's tough to get one in that location with all the visitors. All in All this place is great!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chlorow7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Stayed here in June location is fantastic right on Times Square, rooms are on the small side but how long are you going to spend in there? The double was a squeeze, but the room was clean with ample small ensuite coffee maker. It was value or money , in a great location, extremely helpful staff, would stay here again.

Room Tip: There are larger rooms so if you are on the large side don't risk the standard double
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joanne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Level 6 Contributor
201 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2013

I stayed here for a weekend with a girlfriend and had an amazing time. It's in the most amazing location, walking distance to Times Square, Broadway, 5th Avenue, Grand Central Station, St. Patrick's cathedral, etc. Everyone at the hotel was super friendly and really helpful, particularly the concierge, JP - he gave us such great advice and seemed to know the city like the back of his hand. He made great restaurant reservations and our meals were one of the highlights of our weekend in New York, so we owe him a big thanks! Front desk and all the other staff were really nice as well - everyone went out of their way to help.

The rooms are lovely - small, as you'd expect from NYC, but well turned out, very clean and with comfy beds and great bath products.

I would highly, highly recommend this place and will definitely stay here again when I return to NYC.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LaurelG15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 21, 2013

As a family of four, this was not the place for us. The elevators were so small literally only four people could fit and that is without luggage. The rooms are very small. The carpeting and the bathrooms have seen better days. There is absolutely no counter space in the bathroom or anywhere in the room. The walls are paper thin. Our hotel room door shook everytime another hotel guest near us closed their door. We have been to New York on numerous occasions over the years and this is the worst hotel we have ever stayed in. We will not be returning guests at this establishment. The only positive thing we can say is that this hotel is in a prime location. Look around before settling on the Hotel Mela.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank laperla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nickhotelmela, General Manager at Hotel Mela, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Hello Dear Guest,

We thank you for your recent review on your stay at Hotel Mela. We appreciate the feedback and we constantly are striving to improve the guest experience.

Additionally please accept my personal apologies on the mishaps during your recent visit. Please know we have much larger rooms available including our Deluxe and Executive rooms which are very roomy.

Please contact me directly if there is anything at all we can do to make it up to you.

Yours in Service,

Nick Ivezaj
General Manager
Hotel Mela
Direct: 212-710-7008
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2013

The hotel is in a great location. The service at the hotel was great, Bárbara Desalles was very helpful. The only thing is that The rooms are very small, but half a block from times square and two blocks away from the subway

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Erick_duran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrie, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2013

Our hotel of choice when visiting NYC!!

My daughter & I have stayed at Hotel Mela several times during our many visits to NYC. This boutique style establishment has lots of charisma and is perfectly located within walking distance to Times Square in one direction and the beautiful Bryant Park the other. We have always been made to feel welcome & pampered by ALL the staff every time we visit. In particular, the ever friendly Neyole on the front desk, the always smiling bellman Christian and the extremely knowledgeable concierge JP (who was successful in helping me finally understand the subway—that was a feat!). These people are only a few of the wonderful staff that will make your stay memorable. Yes, the rooms are modest in size (most NYC rooms are) but they are comfortable & clean. We’ve never experienced any issues with noise (even when staying on the street side) or concerns with other patrons. Our most recent stay was during the very busy July 4th week and while the hotel was definitely hopping, it didn’t faze the staff as they remained composed, helpful and accommodating. We can’t wait to come back again soon!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sue M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Paramount Hotel Times Square New York
Paramount Hotel Times Square New...
#384 of 466 in New York City
4,188 reviews
Midtown
The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel
The Manhattan at Times Square Ho...
#297 of 466 in New York City
7,220 reviews
Midtown
The Premier Times Square by Millennium
The Premier Times Square by Mill...
#174 of 466 in New York City
757 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Millennium Broadway New York Times Square
Millennium Broadway New York Tim...
#284 of 466 in New York City
5,193 reviews
Midtown
Night Theater District
Night Theater District
#245 of 466 in New York City
2,144 reviews
Midtown
The Time New York
The Time New York
#76 of 466 in New York City
363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mela? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mela

Property: Hotel Mela
Address: 120 West 44th St, New York City, NY 10036-4050
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#104 Family Hotel in New York City
#164 Business Hotel in New York City
#167 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#177 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Mela 4*
Number of rooms: 233
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Mela reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mela Hotel New York City
Hotel Mela New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing