We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place”
Review of Hotel Mela

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Mela
Ranked #268 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Long Island, NY
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great Place”
Reviewed June 27, 2013

My wife and I stayed at Hotel Mela to celebrate our one year anniversary 2 weeks ago and thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the hotel. All of the staff, particularly Barbara, the concierge, was fantastic. I called her the day we were arriving to arrange roses in the room for the next morning and not only did she arrange their delivery, she also upgraded our room for the occasion!

The location is great, a half block from 7th Avenue, just a short walk from Times Square and the Theater District, but the noise wasn't bad at all, anything we heard was very minor

The rooms aren't large but standard for what I would expect from a boutique hotel in cluttered midtown. They were clean and well stocked with towels, toiletries, etc. Just a note, don't touch anything in or on the minibar if you don't want to purchase it, everything is on sensors that can tell when it was moved and you'll be charged. Not that we bought anything but the prices weren't bad at all, $6 for a beer, a few bucks for nuts or chips. There was a $10 bottle of Fiji Water, don't touch that one, lol!

All in all, we really enjoyed our stay and would definitely stay at this property again!

Room Tip: Beware the mini bar!! Also, they will hold your bags after you check out so you can spend additiona...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Miketoast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,037 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,615
    1,588
    539
    175
    120
See reviews for
599
2,050
239
448
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (655)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Mid-Atlantic
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed June 27, 2013

My teenage daughter and I were so pleased with the Hotel Mela during our three day stay recently. The location was perfect for walking to many sightseeing attractions. Gregory's Coffee, Red Flame convenient picks to start the day(no waiting) and two great restaurants (Saju Bistro and Trattoria Dopa Teatro) reasonably priced with great food and service literally next to and across the street from the Mela - a perfect way to end an exhausting day of walking, walking, walking! The hotel was very clean, comfortable with nicely decorated. We were surprised at how quiet our room was for being right in the middle of Manhattan-a block away from Times Square! Most importantly, I need to mention that the staff at The Mela - Arturo, Jonathan and Carla in
addition to each staff member we came across, were so warm and friendly, always helpful and greeting us with a smile making our stay a very comfortable and pleasant experience. We definitely will recommend this hotel and will return in the future. Thank you, Thank you, Thank you!

Room Tip: We stayed in 1207 and found it to quiet, clean and spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Combo-4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kamloops B.C.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2013

My wife and I just returned from a 5 day stay at the Mela and we couldn't have been more pleased with our stay. I had studied the message boards for some time and rarely read anything negative about this boutique hotel. It was all good...from the affordable price, to superb location and friendly and helpful staff. Our room the first night was rather small so without any question they moved us to a much larger room for the remainder of our stay. There with several restaurants on the same street that were very good as well. The Saju restaurant and Long Bar next door were favorites. Would we stay here again? You bet...and we'll spread the word.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the back Rooms at back and higher up are much quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shineitallaround
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2013

Stayed here with my husband during my 30th birthday trip to NYC in mid-December. I researched A LOT of places before booking. We got a great deal on a regular room on TravelZoo; we mentioned when making the reservation that it was a special occasion, and were upgraded to a corner room with sitting area (as others have mentioned - the rooms are small, but I expected that. And you're not in the room much anyway).

I work in the hospitality industry, so am rather particular. The room was very clean for the most part, though there was some dried red stuff (juice?) on top of the nightstand. No biggie; stuff gets missed sometimes. I would offer the following synopsis for those considering this hotel:

PROS:
- Quiet (granted, we were on a higher floor, but it seriously was very quiet)
- Great location for those visiting NYC for the first time. It's literally just a couple minutes walk to all the shows and Times Square, yet it's not right in the middle of Times Square, which is nice
- Great concierge who handled scheduling our 3am shuttle to Newark to fly out
- No fees to hold bags if your room isn't ready when you try to check-in early

CONS:
- I don't know why they bother doing the "your desires" program or whatever it's called. I set this up online in advance (for fruit and bottled water to be placed in the room complimentary on check-in), but it wasn't there. Others have also mentioned this in their reviews. They should just do away with it if they can't execute.
- The location is a plus, but also a con. On our next trip to NYC, we won't stay in this area (too touristy ;) No standout restaurants for us nearby, but maybe there is and we just missed it). The thing is, you don't really know what area you most prefer until you visit, so I'd say definitely stay here if it's your first trip to the city, especially if you get a great rate.
- There's no mattress pad cover. I don't understand why :) There's just a double sheet, which seems unsanitary to me. That being said, I did a thorough inspection for potential "bugs" and didn't find anything, so I guess it's working out okay for them.

All in all, an above average stay!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kariessa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamestown, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2013

We definitely enjoyed our stay at Hotel Mela on our recent trip to NYC. The location can't be beat, just steps from Times Square with easy access to almost everything. We stayed in a Deluxe King room which was very spacious, we did not feel cramped at all. The bed was very comfortable and the room was modern and exceptionally clean. The housekeeping services each day were fantastic and we even received a surprise turn down on our last night. We will definitely stay in this hotel again!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelly W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonita Springs, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 25, 2013

I would highly recommend Hotel Mela - it is reasonably priced and the rooms were exceptionally clean. The staff was friendly and knowledgeable. We stayed 3 nights and they were having a Spring special where a full breakfast was included in the restaurant next door to the hotel. I can't say enough nice things about this hotel - it was a perfect location! We will definitely stay their on our next trip to NYC!!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Candice M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
1 review
Reviewed June 24, 2013

After spending a lot of time trying to find a reasonably priced hotel in New York, we found Hotel Mela. With so many hotels being crazy expensive, we were worried this hotel might not meet our standards. However, it was great! Very clean, everyone was friendly and helpful, and it's a perfect location. Plus, breakfast was included at an adorable cafe next door. It's the perfect place to stay!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JBSSanDiego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Paramount Hotel Times Square New York
Paramount Hotel Times Square New...
#389 of 467 in New York City
4,302 reviews
Midtown
The Premier Times Square by Millennium
The Premier Times Square by Mill...
#183 of 467 in New York City
766 reviews
Midtown
Millennium Broadway New York Times Square
Millennium Broadway New York Tim...
#281 of 467 in New York City
5,225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Night Theater District
Night Theater District
#247 of 467 in New York City
2,151 reviews
Midtown
The Time New York
The Time New York
#72 of 467 in New York City
383 reviews
Midtown
The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel
The Manhattan at Times Square Ho...
#298 of 467 in New York City
7,333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mela? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mela

Property: Hotel Mela
Address: 120 West 44th St, New York City, NY 10036-4050
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#104 Family Hotel in New York City
#163 Business Hotel in New York City
#166 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#177 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Mela 4*
Number of rooms: 233
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TravelUp, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Hotwire, Agoda, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Mela reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mela Hotel New York City
Hotel Mela New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing