We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location but not quite 4* for me”
Review of Hotel Mela

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Mela
Ranked #266 of 470 Hotels in New York City
Reviewed April 17, 2013

Great location on 44th street, just off Times Square though for me it wasn't quite a 4*. Clean and tidy but low on amenities. Small room as can be expected with most hotels in NYC. Beingg near Times Square though, easy access to everything - Fifth Ave, theatres, Central Park, Rockefella, Empire State, etc

Room Tip: Wouldn't go for an inward facing room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Need_M0re_H0liday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (4,172)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,874 - 1,880 of 4,172 reviews

Reviewed April 16, 2013

Just checked out following my second stay at Hotel Mela. Great location. Room 809 is small and has no great view. However this is New York City so your out of the hotel all day. The beds are comfortable, the shower is great and towels soft and fluffy. Last time I stayed we had some road noise, no problem this time around.

Did have a problem when we checked in as there wasno room safe in our room, but the desk sorted that I. 10 minutes and one was screwed into the wardrobe.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank Simon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights as part of our honeymoon and we were extremelly disappointed...this is NOT a 4 star hotel. Location is perfect...30 second walk to time square but everything else was disappointing. We were upgraded when we go to the hotel...so goodness knows what we would have got if we hadnt been. The rooms are small and the walls are thin. We had a small double bed when a hotel of this standard should have kings throughout. It was looking tatty round the edges and the lift was right next to our room causing noise.

The worst thing about this trip was when we were asleep from a long flight at 10:30pm. I could hear a knock but thought it was for another room, then I heard it again and it was def for our room, before I had a chance to tell myself partner the person proceeded to ENTER OUR ROOM. Luckily we had the chain on. My partner went to the door and it was a member of staff saying we had ordered ice to the room. We hadnt of course and he went away. We phoned down to reception who seemed less than bothered and just said they had made a note on the system. We got no apology from the manager or anyone else.

Overall there are better places to stay...we could have stayed at the Waldolf Astoria for around the same kind of money when we were looking at deals on-line but opted for this because of the location...but wish we had gone to the Waldolf.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KazyG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2013

This was our first visit to New York and the location was perfect for us. It was close to the theatre, we could walk to many of the sites we wanted to visit - Grand Central, Empire State Building,High Line,Central Park. We stayed on the 11th floor in an inward facing deluxe king room which was spacious enough and quiet. The bed and pillows were comfortable. Staff at the front desk were friendly. I would recommend to friends.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Raubies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2013

I was in NYC for a conference but didn't want to pay the prices for the conference hotel. Hotel Mela fit my needs perfectly - a few minutes walking to Times Square, clean and comfortable, free wifi and most importantly affordable! It is also walking distance from Grand Central and even closer to the Times Square and Bryant Park subway stations.
I had a deluxe room which was plenty of space for a bed, desk and closet. If you're coming to NYC to hang out in a hotel room you may need a larger room or a different hotel, but there's so much to see and do in the city!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank thesefoolishthings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2013

Had a great stay at the hotel. Booked another hotel initially but was put off by the bad reviews and booked Hotel Mela via their Spring package. They upgraded me to the corner room = bigger room. Had good service from the reception staff to housekeeping to bellboy. Only problem is the shower was a bit hard to manipulate, hot water took a while to appear tho.

Will recommend the hotel to anyone visiting NYC. :)

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SuKii_Travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2013

I booked this hotel last minute for an overnight stay. The location was fantastic - half a block off of Broadway. We arrived early, checked in and left our bags with the bell hop. We were upgraded to a Deluxe room with a King size bed on the 8th floor. We returned to the room around 3:00 and, shortly after, the concierge knocked on the door and gave us a couple of bottles of water, trail mix, and a list of recommended restaurants.

The room was very clean and comfortable, as was the bathroom. The mini-bar is sensor-activated as many seem to be these days. This apparently is true of the items on top of the fridge, as well as in it. My mother was lifting things up to see what was there and we ended up with a charge on the bill (for the "Intimacy Pack" which was a little embarrassing:).) They took the charge right off the bill when I told them about it.

Breakfast was included next door at the Bistro and it was probably the best hotel breakfast I've ever had. The restaurant is cute, the service was good and the food was delicious - especially the fresh fruit which came with each order. (There is an abbreviated menu for patrons of Hotel Mela but everything was very good.)
We had no problems with this hotel - it was clean, well-located, quiet, the elevators were quick and the staff was very friendly. We will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank needavacationplanned
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Room Mate Grace
Room Mate Grace
#77 of 470 in New York City
1,095 reviews
Midtown
Paramount Hotel Times Square New York
Paramount Hotel Times Square New...
#400 of 470 in New York City
4,731 reviews
Midtown
Row NYC Hotel
Row NYC Hotel
#356 of 470 in New York City
19,832 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Millennium Broadway New York Times Square
Millennium Broadway New York Tim...
#285 of 470 in New York City
5,479 reviews
Midtown
Distrikt Hotel New York City
Distrikt Hotel New York City
#69 of 470 in New York City
5,494 reviews
Midtown
Hotel Edison Times Square
Hotel Edison Times Square
#313 of 470 in New York City
9,959 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mela? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mela

Address: 120 West 44th St, New York City, NY 10036-4050
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#104 Family Hotel in New York City
#162 Business Hotel in New York City
#165 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#177 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $144 - $510 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Mela 4*
Number of rooms: 233
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, TravelUp, Agoda, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Mela reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mela Hotel New York City
Hotel Mela New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing