We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent New York City Hotel Experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Mela

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Mela
Ranked #257 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
California
Level Contributor
39 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Excellent New York City Hotel Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013

Hotel Mela is a 14-story boutique hotel, right in the Theater District, 2 blocks from Times Square. I was a little concerned about booking a hotel in such a "touristy" location, but everything about the hotel was excellent. It has been remodeled within the last two or three years. So, everything was very clean and in good condition. It was obvious from close inspection of the bathroom that the housekeeping staff has been well trained and are keeping everything in newly remodeled condition. The housekeepers were also pleasant and helpful. Everyone was helpful. The front desk staff was friendly and helped me with questions and with printing boarding passes when the shuttle service wasn't on the list of services that could be accessed for free on the 2 computers available (for a fee) to hotel guests. Room service is provided by the attached Saju Bistro, and while it wasn't cheap (about $24 for a full breakfast), the room service food and service were excellent. All-in-all, we were very pleased with our stay at Hotel Mela, and we'll probably stay there again.

Room Tip: We were on the 9th floor, right on 44th street, but we didn't have any problem with street noise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tourer_Dave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,865 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,569
    1,515
    513
    163
    105
See reviews for
563
1,975
233
425
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (625)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Crestline, California
Level Contributor
298 reviews
184 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 220 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013

What a awesome hotel. The bowl of apples, nice touch. The rooms very well apointed, with a generous mini-bar and excellent bathroom and shower. An excellent adjacent french restaurant, serving room service. VERY GOOD! the hotel employees went OUT OF THEIR WAY, to assit me, a first time visitor to THE BIG APPLE.

Room Tip: I had a standard room. very small. but this is New York. Other frooms are bigger
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aerovergalineas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WNY
Level Contributor
129 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2013

Back again for a business trip and another wonderful stay at the Mela:) Staff are friendly and the room was excellent. The location could not be better as it was blocks from the training site I utilize and steps from Broadway! Lots of good restaurants in the area and of course plenty of options for Broadway shows. I have stayed with Mela so many times and it is rare that there is any problem. If there is, they correct it. I love that about this place! Thank you for a great visit.

Room Tip: Higher the room the better the view, and usually quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank elainewny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2013

We booked the spring package on Tues for the following weekend. The hotel staff is friendly and the room exceeded our expectations for what we paid. Everything was sparkling clean and we had plenty of room for 2 women with 2 suitcases. The hotel was quiet, inside and out, even though we were on the street side( as we requested). The bistro breakfast next door(included) greatly exceeded our expectations! One reviewer said the "breakfast was adequate"- we had cooked-to-order eggs(any way), bacon, hash browns, toast and a fruit cup with beautiful berries. More than adequate- especially in NYC. The bistro ambiance is beautiful- very French Provincial feel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ZMT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellingborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2013

This was a perfectly placed hotel, we could see the lights of Times Square from our window!
Being that close to the city was great for stopping in on the way out in an evening, rather than going out in the morning for the entire day and not getting back until late at night.

I wasn't overly impressed with the cleaning standard of the room - I admit that everything was cleaned perfectly adequately but I've stayed in spotless hotels for less money. Don't be put off by this but just maybe something to bear in mind.

The room was small but not too cramped for the two of us which in the heart of New York was quite an achievement!

The staff were very friendly and helpful on reception, and even helped us with planning our subway route back to JFK.

There is a little deli about 5 or 6 shops down from the hotel called 'Times Deli' which served lovely snacky food (and very nice cakes!) I can definitely recommend the very close-by Virgil's BBQ and O'Donoghue's pub as good places to eat dinner too.

Hotel Mela is great little hidden gem in the heart of the Theatre district - don't bother getting the subway anywhere unless you're going near the Financial district end of the city. Even the Empire State building and Madison Square Garden wasn't that bad a walk from the hotel, and Central Park was about 15 minutes walk away!

Oh one tip though - do NOT touch the mini bar and fridge!! It was very expensive so we didn't even think about it ($10 for a 750ml bottle of water anyone?)

Room Tip: Don't be put off if your room overlooks West 44th Street - when we first got there and were gree...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albers, Illinois, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

My husband and I chose Hotel Mela because of its location and were very pleased. We were a little nervous about the room size after reading some reviews, but our room was fine. The bed was comfortable and the bathroom was clean. Our room provided the solace we needed for our busy days and we would stay at Hotel Mela again.

Room Tip: We recommend the Deluxe King room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KristenT20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

Typical small Euro style hotel, reasonable prices for being so close. Very clean. Very helpful with recommendations. We walked to Central Park, the theatres, the Metropolitan Museum, to Macy's and the Rockafeller Centre as well as Times Square. Subway is easy to use to 9/11 Memorial.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank judy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Row NYC Hotel
Row NYC Hotel
#338 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 15,767 reviews
Midtown
Paramount Hotel Times Square New York
Paramount Hotel Times Square New...
#374 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,658 reviews
Midtown
Room Mate Grace
Room Mate Grace
#81 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 722 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Millennium Broadway New York Times Square
Millennium Broadway New York Tim...
#278 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 5,000 reviews
Midtown
The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel
The Manhattan at Times Square Ho...
#289 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 6,651 reviews
Midtown
Broadway at Times Square Hotel
Broadway at Times Square Hotel
#177 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,001 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mela? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mela

Property: Hotel Mela
Address: 120 West 44th St, New York City, NY 10036-4050
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#106 Family Hotel in New York City
#166 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#167 Business Hotel in New York City
#170 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Mela 4*
Number of rooms: 232
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Despegar.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Mela reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mela Hotel New York City
Hotel Mela New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing