We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“1/2 block from Time Square. Walk everywhere”
Review of Hotel Mela

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Mela
Ranked #268 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Edmonton, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“1/2 block from Time Square. Walk everywhere”
Reviewed April 1, 2013

Typical small Euro style hotel, reasonable prices for being so close. Very clean. Very helpful with recommendations. We walked to Central Park, the theatres, the Metropolitan Museum, to Macy's and the Rockafeller Centre as well as Times Square. Subway is easy to use to 9/11 Memorial.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank judy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,037 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,615
    1,588
    539
    175
    120
See reviews for
599
2,050
239
448
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (655)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
brazil
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2013

My wife and I stayed for a week at Mela, we got a double bed room but was not a good choice, the living space was so small that we couldn't fit our luggage and our stuff in the room, besides the bed itself was even smaller and it was not comfortable, looks like it's been used for many, many years and the mattress couldn't make it. The good point is that the room was clean and quiet. The subway ans Times Square stayed just 2 blocks away. The hotel staff was nice, however we've bought 2 things thru internet and sent them to the hotel, one of them arrived but the other one didn't, after coming back home we called the site we've shopped from and they said both of them were delivered however we got just one at the hotel. I don't know if either the hotel made some confusion or if it did was never delivered, we will never know. Last but not least we could get just one extra hour to check out, any minute more would be charged. The experience was just OK, don't know if we would come back again, I guess I would try somewhere new.

Room Tip: quiet but very tiny room (double bed).
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lrenatoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2013

The hotel is in an awesome location, just a block behind the Good Morning America Studios. Even with long city blocks, we were able to walk to all the theatre shows we booked, as well as Rockefeller Plaza and even Grand Central, when we left the city by train for a weekend in Connecticut. The hotel staff was super friendly despite putting us in a room with a full bed, instead of the queen that I booked. It took them several hours and 2 phone calls to remedy the situation and the 2nd room did have a queen bed, but it was stuffed into the same small space. The hotel said that the hotel was full and it seemed so, with many European tour groups crowding the small lobby area. Both rooms I saw were older and in need of updates, especially the bathrooms. I know that NYC rooms are notoriously small, but the room with a queen bed was super tiny and even though we had just a duffle and a small suitcase, they both had to stay on the floor, one directly in front of the door so that I had to move it to go in and out. I would book this hotel again b/c of the location and the very helpful staff. However, it is super small and needs a facelift.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Miloman10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2013

Stayed at the Mela with friends over a long weekend via a package deal with Air Canada. The hotel is shouting distance from Times Square and adjacent to a number of good restaurants, especially the Saju Bistro.

Lobby is small as are the rooms. We were originally given a superior room (chair, desk and closet) but it had a very small double bed so we traded for a standard Queen (no chair, desk or closet). Bit of a hassle not having a place to hang a full-length garment like a dress or coat, but livable. We needed service to unblock a toilet and repair the safe (which would not close) and it was fast and efficient. Luggage storage likewise and also free.

Bed was extremely comfortable, room was quiet, water was hot. What more do you need?

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FrequentTravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2013

We stayed at the Hotel Mela pre-cruise March 4 for two nights. I booked the least expensive room for two adults possible and the room was exactly how I thought a NYC room 1/2 of a block from Times Square would be. The room was small, enough room for the king bed, a small closet type dresser and another stand with a TV. We didn't have much room for our 2 large and 2 small suitcases (in preparation for our 10 day cruise). The bathroom was small as well, basic vanity with just a stand up shower. BUT, everything was clean, updated, smelled great and the location could not be beat! We were able to walk over 2 blocks to Fifth Avenue and walk up to Central Park. Times Square was litterally just outside and down 1/2 blocks.

In Times Square the food was pricy (that is the case all over NYC) but a few doors down from this hotel is Times Deli. The deli is open 24 hours, has a hot/cold items, a deli counter, sodas, everything you could want. We ended up doing several meals at Times Deli. Once you get the hang of the crowd in the deli, its perfect. You buy your sandwich, breakfast item, hot dinner item up from and then sit at the tables in the back and eat. They even had healthy options includes soups and salads.

Overall I would give our stay at the Mela a complete A+, we had friendly service, a very nice stay (in a small room) and will be back!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ellestar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
1 review
Reviewed March 29, 2013

This is the fourth year we have stayed at the Mela, seven nights each visit. Jonathan, Anna, J.P., Jed, Rose and Arturo provide customer service beyond compare. Add the impeccable customer service to the comfort of the accommodations and the location and this is the ONLY place I will stay in NYC. This location makes ALL of NYC easily accessible. No more giant chains for me, love the Boutique feeling of the Hotel Mela.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MerylandJamie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2013

I stayed at Hotel Mela for one night after a late rooftop party for work. I commute to work at the city, so our late night event often leads to a killer commute home just to turn around three or four hours later and come right back.

I was supposed to share a room with a co-worker and have two separate beds, but that was not in the cards that night. The front desk let us know that all of their double bed rooms were booked and we had to share a king size bed. Since we were two women, the staff thought it would be cool to share. You know, not that it's awkward or anything...

My co-worker did not take kindly to this and went off on a tirade. The staff took it all in with a grain of salt. I mean not only was she drunk, drunk, drunk, but she shoeless, sloppy and angry. Bad combination. The staff offered us free breakfast, which worked for me, but my co-worker kept going at it.

I eventually got her to our room when she decided she wanted to smoke outside without shoes in the New York street... on her way out she gave a few choice words to the front desk.. again.

I ended up sleeping on the floor because there were no cots and no other single bed options. The room was nice, clean, the bathroom was big for NYC. It wasn't easy, but somehow it still worked.

Room Tip: Make sure you get what you pay for Street-side gets noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marilyn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Paramount Hotel Times Square New York
Paramount Hotel Times Square New...
#389 of 467 in New York City
4,302 reviews
Midtown
The Premier Times Square by Millennium
The Premier Times Square by Mill...
#183 of 467 in New York City
766 reviews
Midtown
Millennium Broadway New York Times Square
Millennium Broadway New York Tim...
#281 of 467 in New York City
5,225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Night Theater District
Night Theater District
#247 of 467 in New York City
2,151 reviews
Midtown
The Time New York
The Time New York
#72 of 467 in New York City
383 reviews
Midtown
The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel
The Manhattan at Times Square Ho...
#298 of 467 in New York City
7,333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mela? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mela

Property: Hotel Mela
Address: 120 West 44th St, New York City, NY 10036-4050
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#104 Family Hotel in New York City
#163 Business Hotel in New York City
#166 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#177 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Mela 4*
Number of rooms: 233
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, TravelUp, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, HotelsforEveryone, Agoda, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Mela reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mela Hotel New York City
Hotel Mela New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing