We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Couldn't ask for a better location!”
Review of Hotel Mela

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Mela
Ranked #266 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Skipton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Couldn't ask for a better location!”
Reviewed March 14, 2013 via mobile

This is the 2nd time we have stayed here now, and to be honest I can't see us staying anywhere else in Manhattan!
The location is just steps away from Times Square, but in a really quiet spot.
The rooms are spotless and very modern, staff friendly and helpful.
The only thing I would say is be careful what you touch in the minibar - even if you don't have it! We found out after we had left that we had been charged for something we never had because everything in the minibar is on a sensor. So if you pick something up to take a look you will be charged! Only thing is though was that they never mentioned the charge when we were checking out, it just appeared on our card after. So double check when you leave!
Other than that though it really is a great hotel and we will definitely stay there again if we return to NYC :)

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bubbleblowers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,939 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,583
    1,547
    529
    170
    110
See reviews for
571
2,014
234
436
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (640)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Jackson, Mississippi
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

This hotel is a great value and is in a wonderful location! So close to Times Square without the big pricetag that usually comes along with that location. Rooms are small, but for a weekend trip where all you need to do is sleep, it's perfect! Very clean and trendy decor. The front desk staff could be a little more friendly, but other than that I highly recomend this hotel. I booked through bookit.com and got a low rate so try there first! Happy traveling! :)

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jennbb06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
91 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 212 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2013

Took advantage of a terrific offer advertised through Travel Zoo for Hotel Mela Superior Queen with a free upgrade at check in to a larger Deluxe Room which was SUBJECT TO AVAILABILITY for $129.00 per night plus tax.

We requested Twin Beds as we were not a couple. WOW Hotel Mela did not disappoint!! We had a lovely room (no. 1211). The decor and colouring was very appealing. We had twin beds which were very comfortable with a table lamp between and drawers below for clothes. There was a large desk and chair, TV and double wood closet. In the closet was an ironing board, iron and a safety deposit box and there was still plenty of room for hanging clothes. They even supplied two bathrobes. There was also a cabinet with a fridge inside supposedly stocked with supplies and also snacks on the top of the cabinet. I was never informed by the Front Desk at check in but I was for warned before on reading Trip Advisor reviews "Don't touch anything unless you want to buy something or you will get charged". The bathroom was very clean and enjoyed the spacious step in shower with good water pressure. There is a decent hairdryer supplied. The only small issue was there was no fan in the bathroom so it was quite stuffy after taking a shower that you had to open the bathroom door soon after. Even though we were about two rooms away from the elevator we found our room to be very quiet. For the 3 nights we were at Hotel Mela only twice we heard somebody going to their room and hearing the door close. We were also pleasantly surprised every evening by the turn down service and two chocolates each on the pillows. It was a nice touch.

The Hotel Mela staff was very nice and friendly and always greeted us when we came back to the hotel in the evening. They were always very helpful with directions when we were starting our day in the morning. Even when we were checking out, Ronald at the Front Desk mentioned to us that a storm was coming late afternoon and was nice enough to offer to check if our flight in the evening would be delayed or cancelled. Another nice service is that if you arrive earlier for check in or leave later than check out Hotel Mela will store your luggage for you and you can enjoy the time touring New York.

Hotel Mela is in an excellent location a half block away from Times Square. For a fast cheap breakfast turn left from the Hotel towards Times Square and there is Times Deli Cafe. Order at the counter, pay at the cash and then go to the back where there are tables and chairs. If you turn right from the Hotel and walk to 6th Ave. on the corner of 44th Street there is The Red Flame Diner Restaurant on 44th which is also very reasonable for Breakfast and Lunch. It is a very busy place and even if there is a line up it moves fast. It seems to be a popular place for business people and tourists. We went to Chez Josephine Restaurant on 42nd St. (near 9th Ave.)and thouroughly enjoyed the French ambiance while having dinner and listening to the piano player. Ask for a table downstairs. Highly recommend the French Onion Soup. Another enjoyable restaurant with a New Orleans ambiance is Bourbon Street Bar and Grill on 46th St. (between 8th & 9th Ave.) Enjoyed the Jambalaya and $5.00 Hurricane cocktail. Ask for a table on the upstairs balcony overlooking the bar. If you are visiting the 911 Memorial a few blocks away a great place to stop in for a reasonable lunch is Champs Gourmet Deli on Broadway corner of Rector across from Trinity Church. Try the Grilled Reuben sandwich (Pastrami, Swiss, Sauerkraut on Rye) and a bottle of old fashioned cherry coke. Chipotle Mexican Grill is a good choice for a fast, healthy, delicious fast food alternative which are located all over New York City. Another must see free recommendation only a few blocks from Hotel Mela is Grand Central Station "The Whispering Room", the Magnificent New York City Public Library "Reading Room" on the 3rd floor and Bryant Park. Radio City Music Hall Backstage Tour is also an awesome tour which would be more of an interest for adults.

I would highly recommend Hotel Mela for anyone that is looking for a clean, reasonably priced hotel and an excellent central location.

Room Tip: Ask for quiet higher floor and try to get an upgrade as the room will be larger and more comfortable...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Donna K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2013 via mobile

I've stayed at several places in Midtown Manhattan with the same price point-- this one has most beat, hands down.

Superb location, 44th between 6th and 7th Avenues. Attractive rooms, clean, friendly and helpful staff, free newspapers in lobby (Financial Times)!

I stayed in a very compact full room for one, but it was so comfortable that the small size was not a problem. Wish others would do what the Mela does!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ANetliner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Key West, Florida
Level Contributor
134 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2013

When visiting NYC I cant think of anywhere else Id even bother to stay. The hotel is chic, clean, low key, and worth the moderate price by far. Staff is friendly and you are in walking distance to Times Square and fantastic shopping. Stay there for yourself and you will see what I mean ...

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Smilingeveryday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
74 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2013

We went for a weekend, half work half fun, so, not much of time to commute, we decided to stay right in the middle of where the action is...Mela is small 'boutique type' hotel with well decorated and furnished rooms with good service that is walking distance to everything, theatre, sports, Central Park, Museums, 5th avenue, name it! Service level is what you can expect in small hotels, dedicated and warm, to my sense better than bigger hotels...
One little downside, the check in area and desk is to scale, small, only two clients may register at once and during rush hour you may find yourself waiting for quite a long time before getting to your room, but this is a common problem with small hotels, not worse at Mela than others of the same type...the restaurant attached to the hotel is just great, it is French cuisine but adapted to America, at least when it comes to breakfast. We had also lunch there and it was delicious...

Room Tip: Beware, if you get to NY early morning be prepared to wait until 3 PM at high season to be unable to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gillef999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Rock
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2013

I booked the Hotel Mela thru their website getting a "Winter Special" with free upgrade and free breakfast. I was very please with the upgrade which was a king size bed and executive room. The free breakfast was adequate and the location was superb and the room was spacious and clean. Out the front door and walk one block and you are in Times Square and one block from subway. The only blemished was at checkout when I was charged $17 from their mini fridge in room which is electronically sensored.I informed them that I did not pick up anything and insisted that we go to the room and check but they refused. A couple of days later they took the charge off. I think they would be better off taking that "Tourist Trap" out of their rooms and put a mini fridge in their roooms for their guest.

Room Tip: look for specials.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Papawillie56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Row NYC Hotel
Row NYC Hotel
#342 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 17,021 reviews
Midtown
The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel
The Manhattan at Times Square Ho...
#291 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 6,995 reviews
Midtown
Room Mate Grace
Room Mate Grace
#83 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 820 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Paramount Hotel Times Square New York
Paramount Hotel Times Square New...
#376 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,876 reviews
Midtown
The Premier New York Times Square
The Premier New York Times Squar...
#160 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 732 reviews
Midtown
Millennium Broadway New York Times Square
Millennium Broadway New York Tim...
#275 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 5,109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mela? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mela

Property: Hotel Mela
Address: 120 West 44th St, New York City, NY 10036-4050
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#105 Family Hotel in New York City
#166 Business Hotel in New York City
#169 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#174 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Mela 4*
Number of rooms: 233
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Priceline, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and HRS so you can book your Hotel Mela reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mela Hotel New York City
Hotel Mela New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing