We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“3 night stay in February 2013”
Review of Hotel Mela

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Mela
Ranked #270 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Montrose, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
83 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“3 night stay in February 2013”
Reviewed February 12, 2013

Arrived on Sunday 3rd February (3 nights) and was giving a room on the 15th floor unfortunately it did not have a bath so went back down to reception who then gave us a room on the 14 floor, it did have a bath but don't expect a long luxiourous soak as it doesn't hold much water . The bedroom was tiny no space ,at all - suitcases had to lie on top of one another on the floor, the only place to sit was on the bed - It was superbowl weekend so decided to watch it on the television the picture was so bad my husband gave up No one at any time advised there where different rooms obviously we must of got the cheapest overlooking an office block. (this was booked by a travel agent)

On the positive side great location, clean and staff where very helpful. Would we stay here again probably yes but definately a different room

Room Tip: before you book make sure you know how big the room is
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 19CaroleK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,038 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,615
    1,589
    539
    175
    120
See reviews for
600
2,050
239
448
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (655)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
vermont USA
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2013

Our most recent stay was for a conference although we usually visit for pleasure. We don't often get to NYC, but over the past few years have made a point of it more often. This is particularly due to finding Hotel Mela on W. 44th. This boutique hotel is in a great location and is cozy, comfortable, and clean. The rooms are moderate in size and very nicely appointed. The king beds are delightfully comfortable. We cannot imagine staying anywhere else. There is only a tiny lobby, but our room had a comfortable reading chair. Another bonus is the French bistro next to the hotel called Saju. It is delightful as well and you can hop over for a wonderful breakfast in the morning, or for cocktails, lunch, or dinner. This hotel is great quality for the price - the staff is very helpful and kind.

Room Tip: Rooms are quite quiet. We recommend the executive king.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank parosblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galveston, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2013

It is almost hard to believe that a hotel in this location could be so perfect in every respect AND affordably priced. The rooms are clean, quiet and beautifully appointed with all the amenities. The staff are professionally warm, with evident customer-service mentality. The restaurant staff included, and the warmth and menu make the restaurant a favorite along with the hotel. I cannot say enough good things about this establishment.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms can be small, so be sure to ask if you require a bit of space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Donna V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level 6 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2013

We loved hotel mela, it was a cute little boutique hotel In an awesome location in the heart of NYC and within walking distance to the main streets.

The service was really great and the bellboys were helpful. The only thing we didn't like was we never got the hotel complementary drink and snack that we ad requested before arrival as part if their hotel mela package, most likely because we were upgraded upon arrival which was great but they didn't transfer our snack. Oh well but they told us the would get us something else but never did

The rooms are small but since we were upgraded we felt our foo wasa good size

They have apples at the front desk everyday if you wAnt a quick snack

I would stay there again and would recommend mostly because of the location, price and cute hotel feel

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Larisa121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2013

I would definitely recommend Hotel Mela when staying in Manhattan. Great little boutique hotel; trendy but not overly twee. Very nice and helpful staff. Location can't be beat. The rooms, however, can range from the teeny to the normal. I got a teeny room on my first try and a normal room on my second try (I had to stay an extra night because of a flight cancellation). As MauiBear noted in an earlier review, the teeny room has a double sized bed that is squeezed into an alcove with poor lighting. The bed does have some low wattage reading lamps attached to the headboard, but I kept hitting my head on them because they wouldn't stay in place. The "normal" room I got had two twin beds (traveling alone, so no worries), regular bedside lamps, and a tub/shower combo rather than just a shower in the teeny room.

But what can you do? New York is known for its small spaces and the price for Hotel Mela was unbeatable for the location. Unless you're planning on staying in your hotel room the whole time, don't worry about the small room. Get out. Enjoy all that is NYC. Sleep in the comfy bed. Chat with the friendly staff. Leave with a happy face.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank klc818
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2013

My review is a little late, my fiance and I stayed here in October 2012. I have to say I couldn't fault this little hotel. I would and have already recommended it to friends. The location is amazing, the staff were friendly and helpful; our room was clean, comfortable and the bathroom was very nice.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank blw1810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 27, 2013

Excellent boutique hotel in the heart of Times Square adjacent to the perfect little French bistro that served the most delicious breakfast!
Well appointed abd clean rooms, friendly staff, great location! Couldn't have asked for more!!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Artius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nickhotelmela, General Manager at Hotel Mela, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Greetings Dear Guest,

We are absolutely delighted you took time out of your travels to post a review on your recent visit at the Mela. We have shared your thoughts with our team and please dont hesitate to contact us directly the next tiem you wish to visit NYC!

Warmest Regards,

Nick Ivezaj
General Manager
Hotel Mela
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Paramount Hotel Times Square New York
Paramount Hotel Times Square New...
#391 of 467 in New York City
4,309 reviews
Midtown
The Premier Times Square by Millennium
The Premier Times Square by Mill...
#183 of 467 in New York City
766 reviews
Midtown
Millennium Broadway New York Times Square
Millennium Broadway New York Tim...
#283 of 467 in New York City
5,226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Night Theater District
Night Theater District
#247 of 467 in New York City
2,151 reviews
Midtown
The Time New York
The Time New York
#74 of 467 in New York City
384 reviews
Midtown
The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel
The Manhattan at Times Square Ho...
#297 of 467 in New York City
7,344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mela? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mela

Property: Hotel Mela
Address: 120 West 44th St, New York City, NY 10036-4050
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#104 Family Hotel in New York City
#163 Business Hotel in New York City
#166 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#178 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Mela 4*
Number of rooms: 233
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, TravelUp, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, Agoda, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Mela reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mela Hotel New York City
Hotel Mela New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing