We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dirty sheets no heat no elevador”
Review of Hotel 309

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel 309
Sao Paulo, SP
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Dirty sheets no heat no elevador”
Reviewed May 1, 2014 via mobile

Well there is no elevador and I stayed on the 5th floor. Room a bit dirty but organized with no heat on and shared bathroom. I wouldn't stay here anymore. But neighborhood was perfect and supermarket super close and subway station.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Gazito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

435 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    149
    84
    48
    105
See reviews for
66
150
49
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2014

Before I arrived, I read all of the reviews online. Most of them were spot on. I arrived at 1:30 PM on the Friday before Easter and the attendant, Matt, was very nice. He told me to just go drop off my bags in the room because the maid was still getting it ready. I came back in an hour after eating and it was perfect! It's located directly beside the 14th St. & 8th Ave subway, which is VERY convenient. I went all over the city using this entrance. The property is not glamorous or fancy, but my room was nice and clean. It's obviously a family-run property and if need something, just ask the maid whenever you happen to bump into her. I reserved a room that included a private bathroom (because I just can't fathom the thought of sharing a bathroom with a stranger all weekend). Be sure to bring your own soaps and lotions because they are not provided. I mean, there is this generic soap/shampoo dispenser in the shower, but I I prefer to know where my soap is coming from. The TV channels are basic cable, so don't expect to watch HBO. My room came with a clean fridge and microwave, which was good. The location is great and it's comfy. The exterior doesn't reflect how the rooms look, so don't be put-off when you arrive. I recommend this place to anyone looking for a great deal in a good place. Just know that if you're gonna need/expect amenities, this isn't the place for you. But if you're looking to have a fun time in New York, then please give this place a try.

Room Tip: Try to get a room with a bathroom. I had room 22, which perfect for one person or a couple.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Quincy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2014

Room was nice and bed was comfy. We had a room with the private bathroom along with the room with the 2 bunk beds. Room space was kinda small but then again its NYC you can to see the city not to stay in the room. The hotel employees was nice and helpful when we need a cab to go out they called one for us. But over all it was a nice decent place to stay. I wouldn't mind staying there again.

Room Tip: Make sure to book the room with the private bathroom, cause the shared bathroom doesn't seem lik...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jenna D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamworth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2014

This hotel was just as described and more!.
When I arrived which was around 12.30 mid day, there staff were very swift and efficient in checking me in and allocating a room even though it was well before the official booking in time.

They were always on hand to assist in any way they could.

The room was very clean and warm, Shower clean and in very good working order.
Room safe was very easy to use.

Location is ideal and very close to subway, bars and dining of the meat packing quarter.
All in all I was very happy I have found this little gem of an hotel.

Very good price of rooms. AAA

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2014

I love this place - this was my second stay at 309 and I always recommend this place for the comfort, price and location. Matt is very friendly and helpful and will try to accommodate all your needs. Great place :)

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Simone M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2014

We arrived a day late for our stay at hotel 309 after being delayed by our airline and unfortunately we forgot to let the hotel know.

Upon arriving at the hotel (tired and excited to be in New York) we got a very poor reception from the gentleman on reception. After explaining we were late for our check in we were told this was going to cause 'real problems'. He would have to go to a real effort of re-checking us in. We explained we didn't have a problem paying for the 1st night that we weren't there, but he still said that it would be a problem.

Eventually after around 10 - 15 minutes (whilst we stood there feeling very uncomfortable) he got us our room sorted and we paid the balance in US dollars. A couple of days after leaving the hotel I noticed there had been an extra £80 taken out of my account which I am disputing to what this was for (I'm presuming it's because we were late arriving).

The actual hotel was 'ok' for what we wanted. Wasn't a nice atmosphere to the place but was reasonably clean and tidy. Just a shame we didn't get a more friendly welcome. We stayed at around 10 different hotels and hostels on our trip and this was the only one I wouldn't recommend.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Vanno84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotel309, General Manager at Hotel 309, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Dear Sir,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with this feedback. I am very sorry and disappointed to hear that your reception at the hotel was unsatisfactory. Guest service is truly our highest priority. I expect nothing less of my staff than friendly, helpful and responsive assistance to all our customers at all times. Clearly our receptionist that night handled this situation incorrectly. If you could provide me with more information, I would take it upon myself to discuss this situation with the employee. Additionally, if you are willing to give us another shot I am certain we can provide an excellent level of service. I would like to offer you a free night at the hotel. If you are interested in the offer, please write to me at Hotel309@Gmail.com. Again, please accept my apologies for the unsatisfactory check in experience and I hope to hear from you.

Best,

Matthew Miller
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these New York City hotels

Wollongong
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2014

Only stayed 1 night but hotel was exactly as described. Room was small but efficient and only complaint was that the pull out sofa was rock hard and needed to be replaced. The manager was excellent with so much helpful advice and assisted us with a car the next day. Also changed our room so we didn't have to lug our cases upstairs.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Wendy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Chelsea
The GEM Hotel Chelsea
The GEM Hotel Chelsea
#305 of 467 in New York City
1,204 reviews
Chelsea
The Maritime Hotel
The Maritime Hotel
#138 of 467 in New York City
639 reviews
Chelsea
Chelsea Pines Inn
Chelsea Pines Inn
#44 of 467 in New York City
2,097 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West Village
Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC
Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC
#206 of 467 in New York City
1,787 reviews
Flatiron District
Chelsea Inn - 17th Street
Chelsea Inn - 17th Street
#424 of 467 in New York City
124 reviews
Chelsea
The High Line Hotel
The High Line Hotel
#99 of 467 in New York City
605 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel 309? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel 309

Property: Hotel 309
Address: 309 W 14th St, New York City, NY 10014-5001
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Chelsea , Manhattan
Amenities:
Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #98 of 163 Specialty Lodging in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel 309 2*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer nicely furnished Studio Hotel Rooms for reasonable rates. Hotel Rooms in a fantastic location, just steps from the A,C,E & L trains. Minutes to Times Square and Central Park. Also minutes downtonwn to World Trade Center etc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel 309 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing