We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Hostel for a trip with some friends!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel 309

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel 309
Ghent, Belgium
1 review
“Great Hostel for a trip with some friends!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2013

When we arrive there was a little problem with the reservation. Luckily we had all the right documents + a confirmation mail, so the problem was solved really fast. We got another room (actually a better one, with private bathroom), just for 1 night, but we didn't have to pay it. So a really nice service.

The rest of the week we got a room for 4 persons and a shared bathroom. The room is rather small, but you don't come to NY to stay in your room! ;) Both room and bathroom were very clean. The fact that the bathroom isn't private wasn't a problem at all since it was free whenever we wanted to use it. And if not you can just go to a second one on the same floor.

Also the staff is very friendly. Real New Yorkers!

Across the street you can find several coffee places with the best bagels, many bars, a pharmacy,... On the corner of the street there is also a subway station.

Very good location if you go on a trip with some friends. The only thing that bothered us was the fact that the beds were kinda noisy. But still, we slept very well!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lindy30061990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

423 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    146
    83
    48
    97
See reviews for
59
148
48
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2013

I booked this place based on the previous entries in trip advisor; how misleading they were. The place was rundown, dingy, but clean (so, in summary it did not look like the pictures on their website....which is ok), but what was NOT ok was the discovery of multiple syringes in the hotel room. The staff were extremely apologetic and did their best to assist upon the discovery; however, there was no way we were going to stay there as they had no other rooms to shift us to. I acknowledge that this sometimes happens, and to the hotels credit, they gave us a full refund; however, if this is the type of clientele that are attracting to the premises, then I would be very cautious before booking.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Liesl_07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotel309, General Manager at Hotel 309, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
I booked this place based on the previous entries in trip advisor; how misleading they were. The place was rundown, dingy, but clean (so, in summary it did not look like the pictures on their website....which is ok), but what was NOT ok was the discovery of multiple syringes in the hotel room. The staff were extremely apologetic and did their best to assist upon the discovery; however, there was no way we were going to stay there as they had no other rooms to shift us to. I acknowledge that this sometimes happens, and to the hotels credit, they gave us a full refund; however, if this is the type of clientele that are attracting to the premises, then I would be very cautious before booking.

Hello,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. As the GM at Hotel 309, I wanted to respond personally. First off, I completely understand your point of view and I take your concerns VERY seriously. In this case, we failed to have your room properly prepared and as a result this negative experience came about. This issue has NEVER occurred in this hotel before, to our knowledge, and I will take every measure possible to ensure it does not happen again. I spoke personally to the cleaning staff and other team members regarding this issue, more than one time, just to drive the point home. In this instance, although all areas of our rooms are cleaned and inspected, the item in question seemed to be in an unconventional spot and unfortunately was missed by our staff. We bear full responsibility for this. We would certainly, in circumstances such as this, be happy to provide accommodation via a full refund. Additionally, if you were at all willing to give staying with us another shot, I would personally arrange for a credit to be applied to your next stay. If you are interested in the offer, please contact me at Hotel309@gmail.com or via phone and I would be happy to discuss with you. Again, we understand your feelings completely and apologize for this experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these New York City hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Sydney
Level Contributor
41 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2012

stayed with 3 others in early October 2012. The room was more than adequate for us.
Room, kitchette and the bathroom were clean. Especially happy with the cleaniness of the shared bathroom considering it was shared. There was a computer with free access downstairs. Location was perfect very close to the subway, Chelsea and Meat Packing District.
We were lucky we stayed on the first floor so no issues with carrying luggage up the stairs.
Only (small) gripe is that sometimes the staff were a bit slow. But their friendlyness and helpfulness made up for it.

Room Tip: Ask for ground or first floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank elise1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2012

We stayed in Hotel 309 for a week. In general our stay was good, there were some downsides the hotel could (and should!) improve on. The location of the hotel in Manhattan is perfect! Close to the different metro lines, and good accessibility to the airports. The area it's located in is also great!

Good things:
- Location
- Accessibility
- Hotel staff (very friendly)
- Internet connection, 20$ per week, but good connection
- Size of the rooms
- The beds!! Beds were very comfortable
- Television with lot of channels for some in room relaxation

Points of improvement:
- Cleanliness, especially in the bathroom (old stains, hairs from previous guests and mold on the shower curtain). Bathrooma was actually kind of dirty unfortunately. (while the rest of the room was clean!!)
- Doors not noise proof, some noise disturbance from hall way can be heard.
- We had a mouse in the room, even though we were located on the 5th floor

In general, the experience was good. The price was reasonable and the staff friendly. If the bathroom were cleaner, I would have given 5 points in stead of 3.

Nevertheless, I would return to this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a low floor room, there is no elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mitchs89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
62 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2012 via mobile

I stayed in this hotel during a business trip and had a room with private bathroom. The room is clean and quite spacious and a little kitchen. The loaction is great and the staff friendly. Even though I had a room at the back you will still hear the noise from outside. But other than that this place offers great value for a reasonable price.

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Chantal P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

We had 4 girls in one of the apartment type rooms (double bed, and double futon). It was great value, and a brilliant location. However the rooms were inevitably small and there was a lot of noise from all around the hotel at all hours- not the best for sleeping!!

Pros:
- clean room
- BARGAIN
- great location
- comfortable beds (including the futon bed)
- kitchenette

Cons:
- noise around the hotel 24/7
- small rooms

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank J9xxJCB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2012

My title says it all. The hotel is right on the ACE at 8th on 14th st. The rooms are clean, the shower was small, but nice, and the price was great. The staff was polite and helpful. They were doing work on the room next to ours, and they asked us what time we planned to wake up so they could tell the workers when to start. I will stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bretro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Chelsea
The Maritime Hotel
The Maritime Hotel
#129 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 615 reviews
West Village
Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC
Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC
#206 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,706 reviews
Chelsea
Chelsea Pines Inn
Chelsea Pines Inn
#32 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,063 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chelsea
The High Line Hotel
The High Line Hotel
#108 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 550 reviews
Chelsea
Dream Downtown
Dream Downtown
#96 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,418 reviews
Chelsea
Chelsea Savoy Hotel
Chelsea Savoy Hotel
#271 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 594 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel 309? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel 309

Property: Hotel 309
Address: 309 W 14th St, New York City, NY 10014-5001
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Chelsea , Manhattan
Amenities:
Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #102 of 166 Specialty Lodging in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel 309 2*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer nicely furnished Studio Hotel Rooms for reasonable rates. Hotel Rooms in a fantastic location, just steps from the A,C,E & L trains. Minutes to Times Square and Central Park. Also minutes downtonwn to World Trade Center etc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity and Despegar.com so you can book your Hotel 309 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing