We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Staff, Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
New York Hilton Midtown
Ranked #323 of 466 Hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersBronze level
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great Staff, Great Location”
Reviewed July 18, 2007

I stayed at this hotel as part of a convention, so I didn't have much of a choice. Check-in was nicely organized and the staff was very helpful. The location is excellent to pretty much anything in midtown. The only complaint I had was that the elevators are EXTREMELY slow. Because I was staying with a convention of 1000 people, when there was an event at 8:00 am that all 1000 people were required to attend, people ended up walking down six flights of stairs because the wait for the elevators took so long. Not the greatest hotel I've ever stayed at, but I have few complaints.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Slow Elevators
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank njsuburbian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10,167 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,504
    3,892
    2,209
    1,011
    551
See reviews for
3,019
2,253
466
2,701
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,796)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ashford, Kent, UK
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2007

This hotel does exactly what it says on the tin - the location is central for most things to see and do on Manhattan, the lobby/reception is fabulous, the staff are all very polite and efficient, the room well equiped and modern and with the most comfortable bed (essential after walking miles daily) and a clean bathroom. Even better on the morning of our departure, we discovered we could check-in on-line for our flight from free kiosks in the lobby area....! Fantastic idea - saved us time and aggravation at the airport and gave us precious extra time in NYC!
This hotel is not cheap by any stretch of the imagination, but we felt it worth every penny, for the comfort/quality it provided.
BUT, the cost of eating at the hotel is outrageous, we did try the breakfast buffet one morning, but at $26 per person we expected a greater choice than we got. However, it does have an extensive Japanese buffet choice, so if that was your breakfast of choice then you may feel differently. Rather than opt for breakfast here again, we went to a previously visited diner - Burger Heaven, which offers a good choice of menu and a more 'authentic' NYC breakfast!
If it is was a toss up between staying here again and another similar hotel in the same block, I would probably say go with the Sheraton, but only because they do have a fantastic breakfast buffet and isn't breakfast supposed to be the most important meal of the day!?

  • Liked — clean and modern room
  • Disliked — expensive food in hotel
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank mrspodge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2007

I really liked this hotel. I didn't expect it to be as nice when seeing it from the outside, but the room was great, I'm wondering if it was recently remodeled. A good size for a NY hotel room, and I've been in quite a few now. Very good for travelling with children...we had a 16, 13 and 7 year old and they accomodated the 5 of us very well. Central to many NY locations, Times Square, 5th Ave Shops, Central Park, great places to eat.

  • Liked — Central Location, Modern Updated Large Room
  • Disliked — Expensive
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Travelinsider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bristol
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2007

Had a great time in New York for holiday. This hotel is a busy hotel close to the South side of Central Park and Rockerfeller Centre. Can walk easily to the 5th Ave shopping area and Times Square.

The hotel itself was very good. The main receptiion area was always busy as you may expect for such a large hotel. There are nice bars but very expensive.

Would recommend this hotel to anyone going on holiday purely for the location.

Stayed May 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank nathe1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2007

The location of this hotel is excellent. Radio City Music Hall, within a few minutes walk - just sorry there were no concerts on when we were there! Central Park just minutes over the road.

The hotel itself was fine. Very busy with lots of conventions and business people. Check in was as you would expect from New York.

The room was quite small - there was a sofa situated at an angle, which was strange as it took up lots of room - probably best without that and just a chair instead. Bathroom looked new, but again very small.

We tried the restaurant for breakfast on the first morning - you learn by your mistakes - it was very expensive - and confusing! From then on, we tried a cafe to the left of the hotel - excellent breakfast and very reasonable.

Overall, a nice hotel, but maybe a bit pricey.

  • Stayed July 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank manilow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2007

through Priceline - got this as a "4 star Midtown West." at very reasonable price. Bypassed the check-in line w/ Zip Check In lobby terminal - very speedy, BUT the room we were assigned was dirty. So, we had to go back down and wait in the front desk line anyhow. The clerk apologized, and the second room was a slight upgrade, a little bigger with a bay window. Overall, for NYC, good size, clean, updated - great location just 4 blocks out of Times Sq. Would certainly stay again at a discounted price.

Stayed July 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank Charlesgate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2007

Our party of eight (four adults, four kids ages 9 - 12) stayed at the Hilton New York from June 28 - July 2 and had a very nice experience, overall. The rooms were clean and comfortable, and were reasonably large by New York standards. Check in was efficient, extra towels arrived promptly, daily housekeeping was very good.
The only real drawback was the elevator service. Four elevators service the 24th - 34th floors, and at busy times it took us as long as 15 minutes to get to the lobby from 26. As a party of eight, we began squeezing into already packed elevators two at a time, or going up to the 34th floor to go down to the lobby (a strategy adopted by a lot of guests).
The location is great! There is a grocery store and a Duane Reade one block north on 6th Ave, which allowed us to avoid the overpriced hotel sodas, water, coffee, snacks, etc. The Astro diner, also one block north, was a great place for an inexpensive breakfast. If you are traveling with kids, be aware that drinks are not refilled for free - something we learned when the bill reflected $24 for 8 ojs! We walked to many attractions and were easily able to get a cab at the hotel when we needed one. The Broadway and Lexington subway lines are also easliy accessible.
I would absolutely stay at this property again, particularly with children.

  • Liked — Clean, nice rooms, great location, good value
  • Disliked — The elevators are inadequate for the number of guests
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank ackz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Hilton Times Square
Hilton Times Square
#104 of 466 in New York City
6,713 reviews
Midtown
Warwick New York
Warwick New York
#97 of 466 in New York City
4,293 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
#154 of 466 in New York City
7,008 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Hilton Club - New York
The Hilton Club - New York
#208 of 466 in New York City
632 reviews
Midtown
Grand Hyatt New York
Grand Hyatt New York
#322 of 466 in New York City
8,598 reviews
Midtown
Park Central Hotel New York
Park Central Hotel New York
#260 of 466 in New York City
4,550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New York Hilton Midtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New York Hilton Midtown

Property: New York Hilton Midtown
Address: 1335 Avenue of the Americas, 6th Avenue at 54th Street, New York City, NY 10019-6078
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#69 Green Hotel in New York City
#199 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#239 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — New York Hilton Midtown 4*
Number of rooms: 1932
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A sophisticated international hotel designed for both the business and leisure traveler, the New York Hilton Midtown is located in the midst of New York City’s business headquarters and media centers, conveniently near Rockefeller Center, Radio City Music Hall, and the Museum of Modern Art, just one block from Fifth Avenue shopping, and a short stroll to Times Square, Broadway theatres, Central Park, and many more cultural attractions for which New York is famous. Equipped with modern conveniences to meet all your business and travel needs, the hotel features extensive facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your New York Hilton Midtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton New York Hotel New York City
Hilton New York City
New York Hilton
New York City Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing