We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrific location, adequate in all other ways”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
New York Hilton Midtown
Ranked #324 of 467 Hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersBronze level
North Shore, MA
Level 6 Contributor
173 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
“Terrific location, adequate in all other ways”
Reviewed May 28, 2009

We stayed at the Hilton New York for 4 nights in mid-May on HiltonHonors award points. As Hilton Gold members, we received coupons for a beverage and a pastry at the lobby Starbucks each day (though NYC is one place where we could easily have found an inexpensive and much better breakfast) and got free internet access as our "MyWay" benefit; the internet worked fine, though the connection was slow.

Our 2 double bed room on the 36th floor was of reasonable size, clean, and well maintained except for peeling ceiling paint in the bathroom and a scruffy, banged up safe in the closet. A small, but nice touch was having 2 luggage racks. The mattresses were the low point (pun intended). We only needed 1 bed, but tried both. They were ok, but both sagged considerably on the night stand side. Another annoyance was that there was only the center night stand. I did manage to pull a little side table somewhat near to my side of the bed to hold my glasses, etc. at night. Our north-facing room had a tiny view of Central Park and an even tinier view of the Hudson River, but it was nice to see more than just tall buildings. The noise level from both inside and outside was remarkably low.

The staff were courteous, though with the exception of the housekeeping staff and the person who checked us out, I wouldn't characterize them as friendly. We never waited long for help. The Hilton Club hucksters at 2 booths in the lobby were aggressive and annoying--they are best avoided.

Finally, the best thing about the Hilton New York is its location, It's an easy walk to Central Park, Lincoln Center, the Empire State Building, and much more. It's also of course near Times Square, but far enough away (a plus in my book). Subway stations and bus stops are nearby. Though the hotel is large and impersonal, this really mattered little to us as our goal was to enjoy the city--the Hilton's location made it the perfect home base.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Route128North
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10,272 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,535
    3,932
    2,229
    1,022
    554
See reviews for
3,061
2,270
469
2,726
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,813)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Voorhees, New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2009

We stayed in a standard two-double bed room for Memorial Day weekend. The room was on the larger size of those we've stayed in in NYC before, which was nice. The beds were comfortable. The bathroom was tiny. Overall, the room was clean. OK, so there's the good stuff.

Only two sets of towels were provided, and it took forever to get extras. Despite having 4 sets hung up on the morning of day 2, when we returned in the afternoon - two sets of towels again. Another wait for additional linen.

Check-in was a nightmare. The line for "non- HHonors" was 8 people long, and they kept letting the HHonors people have priority to ALL of the registration agents. After 40 minutes on line, we finally made it to the front - only to be told (at 2:30PM) that the room wasn't ready and to come back and stand in line AGAIN any time after 3PM. Same MO at 3PM - waiting for all the HHonors guests to get first dibs at all the registration folks. Needless to say, we joined HHonors program - think it's a plot??

Overall, we guess we can get past the check-in. We might consider staying here again. The location is great.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank voorheesians
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2009

I have been here before and once again the room was great, quiet. I asked for a quiet room and non-connecting and got an end room.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ScopeDRK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, VA
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2009

We visited NYC for 8 days, we booked 2 room suite.
This place was awesome!
Evrything about our stay was great but we did have some rain.
who cares , your in NYC.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hvacrsteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2009

Just came back from New York with my girlfriend and we stayed at the Hilton. The place was very nice and the rooms were very clean. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The bed was super comfortable. The only thing I found that sucked was that nothing was really included. We asked for a water bottle in our room and they wanted $5.50 for it, you might as well go across the street to the Pharmacy and get one for $1.00. The internet is not free either but you can usually catch a wireless signal from the building across the street. The bag storage is not free either, it is roughly $3.50 per bag. I'm not sure if it is like that everywhere in New York but some places, bag storage is included in the price of the room.

The location is excellent, however. you are just a few blocks from central park and just 10-15 minute walk from Times Square. You are really close to all the flagship stores on fifth avenue, so if you're going with a women, you might want to hold on to the credit cards. Also, very close is the Rockefeller center which you can pay to go up and see the view.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DREWson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2009

Stayed at this hotel in mid-May for a weekend visit to Manhattan. This was our first visit and we were looking for a hotel near Broadway and other tourist attractions. The location was perfect - took the subway from Penn Station and there is a stop about a block from the hotel.

Room seemed recently renovated (king deluxe suite). Bed was comfortable and the room had a wide-screen TV and a couch. Bathroom had a full-size shower but the sink and toilet area reminded me of cruise-ship bathrooms.

I stay at Hilton brand hotels often on business and found this property to be consistent with the others.

Only two negatives:
1. Staff selling timeshares were too aggressive even by NYC standards. They should not be allowed to shout out at guests as they walk by.

2. $3.50 per bag charge to store baggage before or after checkout.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ssmatthews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Level 6 Contributor
36 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2009

We needed a hotel close to Radio City for the Leonard Cohen concert so I chose the Hilton for its location. The hotel is large and busy, but our floor (36) was quiet and from the window we could see a small slice of Central Park. The room was clean and attractively decorated. The bathroom, small, but was clean and the marble sparkled. There was a small patch of peeling ceiling in the bathtub/shower from the humidity. The staff we encountered were friendly. Housekeeping greeted us whenever we passed them in the hallway. The concierge helped us with a reservation at a nearby restaurant(IL Gattopardo) which we both enjoyed. Dinner was $118 for two with wine and dessert. Check in and out was quick and pleasant. We were only in the city for the show so this hotel was perfect for being close to the venue and the nearby dinning saved us time.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GypsyWife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Hilton Times Square
Hilton Times Square
#108 of 467 in New York City
6,776 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
#151 of 467 in New York City
7,067 reviews
Midtown
Grand Hyatt New York
Grand Hyatt New York
#323 of 467 in New York City
8,694 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Warwick New York
Warwick New York
#95 of 467 in New York City
4,320 reviews
Midtown
The Hilton Club - New York
The Hilton Club - New York
#195 of 467 in New York City
637 reviews
Midtown
Park Central Hotel New York
Park Central Hotel New York
#259 of 467 in New York City
4,629 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New York Hilton Midtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New York Hilton Midtown

Property: New York Hilton Midtown
Address: 1335 Avenue of the Americas, 6th Avenue at 54th Street, New York City, NY 10019-6078
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#69 Green Hotel in New York City
#204 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#238 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — New York Hilton Midtown 4*
Number of rooms: 1932
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A sophisticated international hotel designed for both the business and leisure traveler, the New York Hilton Midtown is located in the midst of New York City’s business headquarters and media centers, conveniently near Rockefeller Center, Radio City Music Hall, and the Museum of Modern Art, just one block from Fifth Avenue shopping, and a short stroll to Times Square, Broadway theatres, Central Park, and many more cultural attractions for which New York is famous. Equipped with modern conveniences to meet all your business and travel needs, the hotel features extensive facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and TripOnline SA so you can book your New York Hilton Midtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton New York Hotel New York City
Hilton New York City
New York Hilton
New York City Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing