We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Location excellent but service lacking at times” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of New York Hilton Midtown

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
New York Hilton Midtown
Ranked #322 of 463 Hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersBronze level
Cumbria, UK
Level Contributor
48 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Location excellent but service lacking at times”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2014 via mobile

The hotel has lots of positives! These included great location, large, well appointed, quiet rooms and fantastic quality of food at breakfast. The omelette bar was a high point for quality and service. The downsides are that the hotel feels too big to care enough about its clients.; long queues at reception means asking a question is too much effort, the cleaners often forgot to replenish shampoo etc, the breakfast waiters mostly looked miserable and most oddly of all, after spending $35 on two drinks at the bar being told I could not sit down as I was in the wrong zone! It felt the bar was run by waiters jealously protecting their own customers for tips. I had paid a different person at the bar so apparently I had to sit in his zone! This was not obvious and unwelcoming !! Is the bar for clients or waiters? Would I stay again, yes but I'd avoid the bar.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JJJP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9,508 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,312
    3,657
    2,080
    956
    503
See reviews for
2,807
2,107
449
2,497
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,705)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
282 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 383 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2014

We visited for a two night stay and ended up in the newly renovated rooms on an Executive Floor.

With a hotel of this age the rooms certainly needed to be refreshed and they have done a modern, trendy look to the rooms. The bathrooms have always been small and remain so but have also been neatly refurbished. The beds were very comfortable and we enjoyed a good night's sleep.

As an Elite Member, Diamond, their Executive Lounge has reasonable offerings for breakfast and early evening. Quite spacious but then it's a big hotel so there can quite frequently be many Elite Members staying on property which makes it difficult to get a table! In fact the breakfast can be quite frantic and one doesn't want to enjoy a leisurely cup of coffee because there are so many people needing a table!!

Other than this, the hotel is extremely well located!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Harv and Les C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2014

We recently stayed at Midtown Hilton New York in NYC. We had a fabulous time. This hotel is located at 6th and 54th street, close to Times Square, shopping, Central Park, we felt very central. Although the Midtown Hilton is not a view hotel, it was clean, safe and close to everything. My family and i would recommend this hotel to friends and family.

Room Tip: This hotel doesn't offer a view to NYC, so if you are looking for a view hotel, then i suggest y...
See more room tips
Green Features: If i return to NYC, will definitly consider staying at the hilton again.
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sekara_005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria Bay, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2014

We stayed for three nights. Near almost everything. We never used a taxi. We walked everywhere. Room was great, and service was fine. Recommend the 'Hallal guys' Fallafel stands about a block away. Soo good, and too much food to finish! Walked to Radio City music hall, Central Park, Times Square, Broadway, ETC...

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank phabyj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kellie C, Director of Sales at New York Hilton Midtown, responded to this review, September 5, 2014
Dear Phabyj,

We are happy to hear you had such a memorable and enjoyable stay during your visit to the New York Hilton Midtown. As you stated, a taxi is not required when visiting our hotel. Our location is just minutes from a variety of attractions. From Rockefeller Centerto the Theatre District, there is something for everyone.

Thank you for providing your feedback and we are pleased to hear you had such a wonderful experience. We hope you'll stay with us again on any future trips to New York City.

Sincerely,

NYCNH_DS@hilton.com
New York Hilton Midtown
Kellie Cahill
Director of Sales and Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, TX
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2014

Spent 4 days with a group of 14 from Brazil and Spain.

Taxi's always available.

Staff well trained and respectful of foreigners. In fact most of the people staying were foreigners.

Near Central Park, 5th Avenue, Times Square....

Have a great DIY Restaurant where you can get a snack or a light meal.

Room Tip: All were good. I was on a lower floor and it was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HOU-RoadWarrior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2014

I stay here on business quite frequently and love the international feel and various ethnicities that stay here. Truly a great international location. Well run by the staff and always clean and presentable. Great experiences!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Ian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Hills, Utah
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2014

The location of this hotel is great for tourism, close proximity to Central Park, Theatre District, Times Square, Rockefeller Center, Radio City Music Hall. The lobby and public areas, at this Hilton, are beautifully maintained, and exactly what you expect from Hilton. The guest rooms left much to be desired. We were placed in a standard double room, on the 19th floor. Beds are TINY (two double beds do NOT sleep four people, comfortably) rooms were noisy - you could hear street noise, elevators, and other hotel guests. Bathroom was dingy and needed a remodel. (I understand some rooms at this location have been remodeled, but our room had not.) Rooms are not supplied coffee/tea makers. There is a deli/restaurant on site serving quick convenience food (fruit, yogurt, sandwiches) at a premium price. The hotel does offer mini-fridge rentals for $35/stay - I'd recommend asking for a fridge & purchasing breakfast items at a local market. All in all, not a terrible stay... accommodations were just less than what I've come to expect from Hilton properties.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JCD21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kellie C, Director of Sales at New York Hilton Midtown, responded to this review, September 5, 2014
Dear JCD21,

We appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback on your recent stay. As you noted, the location of the New York Hilton Midtown is one of the many features that makes staying here special. We are minutes from a variety of locations, such as Radio City, Central Park, and Times Square.

We are sorry to hear your room was not up to your expectations. Our hotel offers a variety of room and view options, depending upon your preferences. Going forward, we will keep your comments in mind for future improvements for our property and amenities.

We hope you will consider a return stay the next time you are in the area so we can better demonstrate our commitment to guest satisfaction.

Sincerely,

NYCNH_DS@hilton.com
New York Hilton Midtown
Kellie Cahill
Director of Sales and Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Financial District
Millenium Hilton
Millenium Hilton
#228 of 463 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,211 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
#141 of 463 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,547 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Times Square
Hilton Times Square
#98 of 463 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Warwick New York
Warwick New York
#88 of 463 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,005 reviews
Midtown
Millennium Broadway Hotel New York
Millennium Broadway Hotel New Yo...
#278 of 463 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,922 reviews
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Square North
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Squa...
#157 of 463 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,998 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New York Hilton Midtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New York Hilton Midtown

Property: New York Hilton Midtown
Address: 1335 Avenue of the Americas, 6th Avenue at 54th Street, New York City, NY 10019
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#68 Green Hotel in New York City
#199 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#243 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — New York Hilton Midtown 4*
Number of rooms: 1932
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A sophisticated international hotel designed for both the business and leisure traveler, the New York Hilton Midtown is located in the midst of New York City’s business headquarters and media centers, conveniently near Rockefeller Center, Radio City Music Hall, and the Museum of Modern Art, just one block from Fifth Avenue shopping, and a short stroll to Times Square, Broadway theatres, Central Park, and many more cultural attractions for which New York is famous. Equipped with modern conveniences to meet all your business and travel needs, the hotel features extensive facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your New York Hilton Midtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton New York Hotel New York City
Hilton New York City
New York Hilton
New York City Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing