We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First trip to New York”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
New York Hilton Midtown
Ranked #323 of 466 Hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersBronze level
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“First trip to New York”
Reviewed August 1, 2014

This was an excellent base for our first trip to New York. It was located on the corner of 6th Ave and 53rd West and was within 10 min walk of Times Square. It was also within walking distance of Central Park, where you could pick up the hop on and off buses.
The hotel was clean and the room was serviced every day. I would have liked tea and coffee in the room but that was not an option. There was a cafe where food was available most of the day and it was reasonably priced.
Wifi was free in hotel lobby.

Room Tip: We were on 34th floor, and you could still hear the traffic below in terms of car horns and sirens...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anita F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10,167 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,504
    3,892
    2,209
    1,011
    551
See reviews for
3,019
2,253
466
2,701
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,796)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Westminster, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2014

If you don't care about customer service, and conference quality, the Midtown Hilton may be a good choice. The location is wonderful and is so close to main attractions in NY. However, if you care more about customer service and quality, you may want to look else where. The conference areas seem shabby and need major improvements. I wouldn't recommend this hotel for conference goers until they have an upgrade. Also, please bring your own refreshments back to your room. There are no coffee machines or vending machines. Plan on walking in the middle of the night to grab a bottle of water.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
2 Thank Tanya L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kek98, Director of Sales at New York Hilton Midtown, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
We're glad that we had the opportunity to serve you and that you enjoyed our location. We appreciate your candid feedback about our hotel accommodations and decor. We're always looking for guest input to help us reevaluate our offerings and enhance our guest experience and will keep your input in mind. We hope you'll consider giving us another chance to serve you and we welcome any additional suggestions.

Kind regards,
NYCNH_DS@hilton.com
New York Hilton Midtown
Kellie Cahill
Director of Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these New York City hotels

Toronto
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2014

Location - Excellent! So close to central park, times square, everything you need within walking distance
Rooms - Clean, average size for NYC standards, quiet - you don't hear neighbours or ppl in hallway
Atmosphere - Busy but not overly loud
Service - EXCELLENT! We were travelling with our baby, every day we were asked by someone how she was that day. Cleaning ladies were spectacular!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lisacanadaToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2014

We have stayed at this hotel in Oct 2011, July 2012 and Oct 2013, Each time at this Hotel we had a good experience with not a single problem. In July 2014, We decided to come back a 4th time before going to Miami Beach and then onto a cruise on Oasis of the Seas from FLL. As usual, Check in was a breeze and the hotel looked very clean. Our room on 9th floor, 949 was very nice and we had no complaints there, However we had an issue with a the Bartenders a few times.
First, On our second day we went to the relatively quiet bar/lounge to get some free internet. 45 mins later, we were told by a bar server "Unless you are having drinks you are not allowed in here"
The bar was not busy, and I deemed that unprofessional to paying customers.
We went to the Front Desk to complain and the woman said "Sir that is policy, But I will get the Food and Beverage Manager to explain it to you"
Well that just doesn't cut it for us as we have stayed here 3 times prior to the most recent stay and they haven't bothered us before. We are just getting internet and the bar wasn't busy. There was a big group of lawyers at the hotel the same time as us and the service seemed to only be focused on them and not the tourists.
As I said, It is a very nice hotel with great rooms and it is in good condition, I hope to stay here again but it will be crossed off all future considerations if that issue in the Bar/Lobby occurs again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank josephdaisley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2014

My 9 year daughter had a National Dance Competition in New York for 9 days!! Although, the competition was hosted at a neighboring hotel, we chose to stay at this property because of good reviews and recommendations from other dance moms! We had a fabulous time! The hotel was wonderful! We were able to upgrade to club level and the newly renovated rooms. The rooms were large enough to comfortably accommodate 3 people for the entire time. The club level lounge was neat! We were able to have a luxurious continental breakfast each morning, bottle water and sodas throughout the day, and light meals in the evening! The hotel is in a great location! We could walk to Times Square, Broadway, Radio City Music Hall, Central Park, and Rockerfeller Center! Although not a full restaurant, the market place inside the hotel provided more than enough options for dinner each night!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lee129
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level 6 Contributor
286 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2014

First, I'll describe the pros. I was there for meetings, and we stayed for six nights. The meeting rooms were quite good. Our room was well-furnished and very clean, and the housekeepers did an excellent job in the guest room. The martinis at Bridges (bar on the first floor) were outstanding. Most of the staff was friendly, especially our usual housekeeper and the waiter in the bar. The location is excellent, with many good restaurants in the area.

Now for the cons. The hotel is very dated above the third floor. There was torn wallpaper in the hallway, which I reported to the Assistant Manager who acted surprised, but nothing was done about it. The same trash remained on the floor of the hallway for several days. There is no coffee maker or refrigerator in the guest rooms. WiFi is an extra charge. The food at the meetings was "OK" - much less in quality than most meetings. The elevator service to a given floor is very limited with sometimes long waits because of full cars.

The next time I am in NYC, I'll stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hawaii-Biker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kek98, Director of Sales at New York Hilton Midtown, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Thank you for submitting your experience. Your feedback is truly important to us because it helps us to realize both our strengths and weaknesses from our guests' point of view. I apologize that we did not exceed your expectations throughout your stay. We strive to provide the quality experience you expect from our brand and regret this was not your experience. We will keep your concerns in mind as we continually evolve to best meet and exceed our guests' needs and hope you will give us another opportunity to impress should you return to the city in the future.


NYCNH_DS@hilton.com
New York Hilton Midtown
Kellie Cahill
Director of Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago IL
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2014

Close to Central Park, St Patrick's Cathedral, Top of the Rock, Radio City Music Hall, Times Square, 5th Avenue shopping, and the 53rd Street Gourmet Deli---the ideal place to get breakfast , lunch or dinner if you're in a hurry. Or if you just want to see what you are getting. Been coming here for 31 years!

Room Tip: higher floors tend to be quieter.
See more room tips
Green Features: they do the usual, "save your towels and we only change sheets if asked." they have recycling bins too.
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnneMcD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Hilton Times Square
Hilton Times Square
#104 of 466 in New York City
6,713 reviews
Midtown
Warwick New York
Warwick New York
#97 of 466 in New York City
4,293 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
#154 of 466 in New York City
7,008 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Hilton Club - New York
The Hilton Club - New York
#208 of 466 in New York City
632 reviews
Midtown
Grand Hyatt New York
Grand Hyatt New York
#322 of 466 in New York City
8,596 reviews
Midtown
Park Central Hotel New York
Park Central Hotel New York
#260 of 466 in New York City
4,550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New York Hilton Midtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New York Hilton Midtown

Property: New York Hilton Midtown
Address: 1335 Avenue of the Americas, 6th Avenue at 54th Street, New York City, NY 10019-6078
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#69 Green Hotel in New York City
#199 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#239 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — New York Hilton Midtown 4*
Number of rooms: 1932
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A sophisticated international hotel designed for both the business and leisure traveler, the New York Hilton Midtown is located in the midst of New York City’s business headquarters and media centers, conveniently near Rockefeller Center, Radio City Music Hall, and the Museum of Modern Art, just one block from Fifth Avenue shopping, and a short stroll to Times Square, Broadway theatres, Central Park, and many more cultural attractions for which New York is famous. Equipped with modern conveniences to meet all your business and travel needs, the hotel features extensive facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Cancelon, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your New York Hilton Midtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton New York Hotel New York City
Hilton New York City
New York Hilton
New York City Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing