We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Business trip? You will NOT be able to work in the rooms.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
New York Hilton Midtown
Ranked #323 of 466 Hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersBronze level
Chicago, IL
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Business trip? You will NOT be able to work in the rooms.”
Reviewed November 14, 2008

Quite simply the network in this hotel is unusable - both wired and wireless. You can connect but never send/receive because of the low capacity and heavy usage. Did not work a single night during my 4-night stay and I was paying $400/night. Complaints are only worked if the network is down or if a specific wired room is not operating. Otherwise you are left with an $18.99/night bill for no service.

Stayed October 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank SoftwareSam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10,161 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,504
    3,888
    2,208
    1,011
    550
See reviews for
3,017
2,251
465
2,700
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,796)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Old Forge, New York
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2008

Having stayed there a few years ago, I knew what to expect, and I was pleasantly surprised. I found the staff to be accomodating and professional. The room was fine, Hilton Beds are great. It gets worn quickly, as it is one of the best located hotels with a
very high occupancy. Seems to me at its age, it will be an ongoing rehab. Safe, clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed November 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank johnnieb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shiggles
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2008

I stayed at the Hilton because of a conference I was attending was held there.

The room itself was nice--nice bed, tv, and bathroom.

However, after a long day of traveling, I unfolded the sheets to crawl into bed but found six hairs in the sheets! Tired and cranky, I called customer service to ask for someone to come change the sheets for me. It took a while for someone to get there and once she did, she had the wrong sheets. They told her it was for the sofa bed--completely wrong. She was very apologetic and sweet and ran to get the correct size. It took her almost 10 minutes to get the right ones and come back.

Another complaint was a dirty towel I found in the bathroom that was hung up. Looked like someone had a dirty finger and just wiped it prior to my visit.

Also, there was an unattractive white stain on the brown sofa bed.

BTW, strange enough, the bathroom had only a shower. I had a friend staying there at the same time that had bathtub so if you're a soaker, be sure to check you have a tub.

Amenities were light--gym was $12 a day and internet access started at $14 and ran to $19/day. For $500, you'd think both of these would be complimentary!

  • Stayed November 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Shiggles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these New York City hotels

Sittingbourne, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2008

This is the first time we had stayed at a Hilton, we were expecting high standards and we were not dissapointed . We had an "executive room" on the 34th floor, it was a very good size and the beds were REALLY COMFORTABLE, the same could be
said for the pillows, way above average. We had our breakfast - included in the room rate - in the 44th floor lounge, its a pretty standard continental breakfast, wont set the world on fire but filling and plenty of it. One tip here though is GET THERE EARLY we used to be there by about 7 and when we left there was always a long queue to get in as the capacity of the room is 99 persons and any more is illegal as the sign clearly points out!!!.
There is also free internet access in the lounge, you can either use your own laptop or the provided pc. Although it is shared with a lot of guests it works well as you just book a 15 minute slot, we never had any problems using it. The loung also provides free tea and coffe throughout the day upto 2245 and hors d'oevres at 5 pm, again the secret here is get there early.
I had read several rather negative reports on trip advisor about this hotel and I was a little apprehensive especially as it was part of a birthday treat for wife and daughter, but everything was fine To give an example one evening the bathwater was very slow to run away, i rang the reception and they were going to send up a plumber straight away !!! now that is what I call service.
There are two nearby subway stations, one by the Sheraton and one by the Radio City music hall, which is the one we used mainlhy as more lines go through it, both of them are less than a couple of hundred yards from the entrance.

One thing though which shouldnt happen is the Hilton's policy of charging 3 dollars 50 cents per bag if you leave it at the hotel after you have checked out and before you actually leave for the airport. In all the hotels I have ever stayed in no one has ever charged for this. I did object to the charge, pointing out I had paid a lot of money to stay in their hotel and didnt expect to pay for something which should be provided free. the charge was waived, so do query it and tell them how unacceptable it is. The lady in front of us collecting her bags was charged 21 dollars which does seem a rip off.

This is a good hotel, in a great location in a truly world class destination, as they say NewYork NewYork its a wonderful town, and we were really really sorry to have to leave,

Certtainly stay here again

  • Liked — Comfy beds and pillow, good sized room, general ambience of the place
  • Disliked — the Hilton trying to charge for looking after my bags for 3 hours
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank KentishTravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2008

I'd stayed at this hotel before so knew the location was perfect- 5 blocks from Central Park, 10 from Times Square and only one block across from Fifth Avenue. However the service this time was beyond a joke - right from the check-in when the woman behind the desk argued my rate wasn't inclusive of tax until I showed her my copy of the bill (thank goodness I had it with me).

During our stay the front staff, concierge and theatre desk were all helpful but not friendly.

The beds at this place are the most comfortable I've ever slept in and the room we had was quiet and very nicely set out and fresh/new - we had a problem with no hot water one morning (hotel wide) but the people I rang seemed less than bothered - having paid over $3,000 for a week - I wasn't best pleased.

Final straw was them attemtping to charge $14 to leave our bags with them for 3 hours after checking out. The guy on the luggage desk was the rudest we'd confronted and dropped my heavy suitcase into my hand rather than lift the bar and pass it through. We refused to pay as the sign clearly said $3.50 daily charge and I assumed this was for people leaving luggage for a few days whilst going elsewhere. After trying to struggle to retrieve the suitcase and a bit of a scuffle the guy (still have uttered NOTHING other than "$14") called security.

It was an unpleasant and unnecessary end to the week.

However their follow up action - a Director of the Hotel rang me in the UK to apologise for the issues I'd had and for bringing it to their attention via the Guest Survey they emailed - has made me feel they are seriuos about sorting the issues.

I would definitely stay again but probably only because it's location is fantastic.

  • Liked — Location and comfort of beds
  • Disliked — Lack of friendliness of staff and charging me to leave my luggage for 3 hours
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank One-and-Only-Aly-G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2008

Stayed here with my dad in both of our first trips to NYC. Very clean rooms, helpful concierge, a pretty good location to do touristy stuff (times square, 5th avenue shopping, central park, etc.), and we felt safe walking outside of the hotel at midnight (a big plus in my book). Pretty expensive for what would otherwise be an average hotel, but worth it for the location alone.

  • Liked — location location location
  • Disliked — price
  • Stayed May 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank linuscaldwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dammam, Saudi Arabia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed November 2, 2008

I asked for a central park view , although the hotel was very far from the park they did there best to get me one of the rooms with a partial view , I have to mention that I am a hilton honnor gold member
one of the rooms did smell as a smoking room , and we asked for connecting rooms but they gave us rooms infront of each other .
the hotel is in excellent location one block from moma , 4blocks from central park.,, 5 blocks from time square
build a bear workshope is about 6 blocks away , american girl shop is 5 blocks away .
the only thing is the lobby is always congested .
and if you have very small kids make sure you bring a stroller
we had fun and great time at this hotel and great time in new york

  • Liked — classy
  • Disliked — crowded lobby
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank fuzzybearksa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Hilton Times Square
Hilton Times Square
#105 of 466 in New York City
6,707 reviews
Midtown
Warwick New York
Warwick New York
#99 of 466 in New York City
4,290 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
#154 of 466 in New York City
7,004 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Hilton Club - New York
The Hilton Club - New York
#207 of 466 in New York City
632 reviews
Midtown
Grand Hyatt New York
Grand Hyatt New York
#321 of 466 in New York City
8,585 reviews
Midtown
Park Central Hotel New York
Park Central Hotel New York
#261 of 466 in New York City
4,543 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New York Hilton Midtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New York Hilton Midtown

Property: New York Hilton Midtown
Address: 1335 Avenue of the Americas, 6th Avenue at 54th Street, New York City, NY 10019-6078
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#69 Green Hotel in New York City
#200 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#239 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — New York Hilton Midtown 4*
Number of rooms: 1932
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A sophisticated international hotel designed for both the business and leisure traveler, the New York Hilton Midtown is located in the midst of New York City’s business headquarters and media centers, conveniently near Rockefeller Center, Radio City Music Hall, and the Museum of Modern Art, just one block from Fifth Avenue shopping, and a short stroll to Times Square, Broadway theatres, Central Park, and many more cultural attractions for which New York is famous. Equipped with modern conveniences to meet all your business and travel needs, the hotel features extensive facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your New York Hilton Midtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton New York Hotel New York City
Hilton New York City
New York Hilton
New York City Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing