We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst of times, best of times”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
New York Hilton Midtown
Ranked #326 of 469 Hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed April 27, 2014

The short story here is that when I approached the front desk on my 2nd morning, they GLADLY moved me, but I should have complained when I first got into my room. If you ever stay at this hotel, ask to see your room first before you unpack.

Worst of times: There were a number of things that I had problems with... #1 - The A/C didn't cool the room lower than 73; just a few degrees too warm for me. #2 - The room itself was tired and used #3 - I traded a day of maid service so I could have free internet.... and #4 - They put me in the middle of a pack of travelling High Schoolers enjoying Spring Break. The students' noise running up and down the hall at 1:45 AM (and again at 2:30) was the last straw for me and security was sent up, but I was trapped in a hot room for the rest of my sleepless night.

Best of times: Much to the hotel's credit, the new room was significantly nicer and looked as though it had undergone a complete renovation. I guess I'm a bit surprised that as a frequent stayer at Hilton, the staff would have put me in one of the "nicer", "newer" rooms to begin with.

I'm going to rate this place a "C" because of the following:
1 room was great and the other... well - it just wasn't.
The staff was responsive but I shouldn't have been put in the position to test them.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roger S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (10,563)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,829 - 4,835 of 10,563 reviews

Reviewed April 27, 2014

I am for the second time in this hotel (on business purpose, so I didn't choose myself).
It have a very good location, near Times Square, Fifth Avenue.....so you can almost everywhere by foot, but I expected better services from a Hilton 5 stars hotel
You don't have minibar in the room, if you don't ask they don't bring slippers and bathrobe, the wifi is only in the lobby, or you have to pay for it (but if you pay, it is very good)
So, it is a good hotel with an excellent location.........

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yafeEvian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2014

We splurged and stayed at the is hotel. The locationis terrific, right next to the memorial (ironically we didn't go in, the lines were ridiculously long due to spring break) and right next the subway. The lobby is small but efficient. The only free wifi in the hotel is in the lobby, but it keeps dropping out. We were able to leave out luggage there after we checked out which was a great service. Other than that, the service was very generic. The front desk were Ok but not overly friendly or helpful. Even though we have silver status, the internet is not free.
Mr Oscar was nice and allowed us to check in early and took the time to find us a higher floor room. The room was amazing on the 34th floor. It was a corner room with an amazing view! both of the river and upper Manhattan. The bathroom was a little dated, but the amenities were sufficient. The bed was very soft and comfortable. The negative was the room mini fridge, there was no room to put your own items in. We didn't eat in though, there is deli across the road and breakfast restuarant on the next corner.

Room Tip: ask for higher floor, eat locally
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FandangoMango671
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2014

You'll get exactly what you expect from this large chain in the middle of Midtown - a standard, clean, respectable stay without any frills. The lobby is gorgeous and the staff is generally courteous, but this is a large, bustling enterprise so don't expect special treatment. Our room was actually pretty large and clean as far as room in NYC go.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kiersten S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2014

The hotel rooms are very Noisy ..the Bed is very lumpy. There is no coffee-maker in room…no internet service. The maids start servicing rooms early and slam the doors. Over priced..But I guess thats New Your

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
3  Thank George R A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kek98, Director of Sales at New York Hilton Midtown, responded to this reviewResponded April 28, 2014

George,

Thank you for sharing this quick feedback on your recent visit to our hotel. I am so sorry we failed to meet your expectations on guestroom appointment and value. Rest assured I take your comments seriously and will see to it that those concerns for comfort and amenities are addressed. Thank you again for your comments as I use them as a tool to better improve our hotel.

Thank you,



NYCNH_DS@hilton.com
New York Hilton Midtown
Kellie Cahill
Director of Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2014

We had high expectations of this expensive and well known hotel chain, especially as we often use the Hilton. We travelled by car from London Canada, 12 hours and arrived at the hotel at 830pm, the room was guaranteed to be ready at 3pm, we eventually got in to the room at 10.30pm - too late to go out and eat. We spoke with the manager and he made arrangements for compensation which was not taken care of at check out! Very Disappointed!!!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
2  Thank Steven W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kek98, Director of Sales at New York Hilton Midtown, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2014

Steven,

Thank you for taking the time to share feedback on your recent stay with us via TripAdvisor. We appreciate your honest input on our service and appointment and apologize for our delayed check-in disrupting your evenings plans. We will use your comments as we continue to evolve our guests' experience moving forward and we hope you will return to stay with us the next time you are in the area so we may better demonstrate our commitment to your satisfaction. If we may be of any additional assistance, please do not hesitate to contact our offices directly.

Thank you,


NYCNH_DS@hilton.com
New York Hilton Midtown
Kellie Cahill
Director of Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2014 via mobile

The reception people were courteous but impersonal and the room given was not what we had booked or paid for. Only changed to the right room after querying why we had such a small room with a double bed when we had booked a larger room with a king bed. Rooms are very basic and have no fridge, no coffee or tea facilities.
Bathrooms are tiny and only fit for one person. We would rate this hotel a two stars hotel, and that is being generous. We thought Hilton had better standards.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WillLeon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kek98, Director of Sales at New York Hilton Midtown, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share feedback on your recent stay with us via TripAdvisor. We appreciate your honest input on the comfort and appointment of our guestrooms and we will use your comments as we continually evolve to best meet and exceed our guests' expectations. We hope you will return to stay with us the next time you are in the city.
NYCNH_DS@hilton.com
New York Hilton Midtown
Kellie Cahill
Director of Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Warwick New York
Warwick New York
#110 of 469 in New York City
4,451 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Times Square
Hilton Times Square
#111 of 469 in New York City
6,994 reviews
Midtown
Park Central Hotel New York
Park Central Hotel New York
#270 of 469 in New York City
4,878 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City
Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - ...
#334 of 469 in New York City
4,967 reviews
Financial District
Millennium Hilton New York Downtown
Millennium Hilton New York Downt...
#217 of 469 in New York City
4,718 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn New York/West 35th Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New York Hilton Midtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New York Hilton Midtown

Address: 1335 Avenue of the Americas, 6th Avenue at 54th Street, New York City, NY 10019-6078
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#69 Green Hotel in New York City
#206 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#237 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $192 - $649 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — New York Hilton Midtown 4*
Number of rooms: 1932
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A sophisticated international hotel designed for both the business and leisure traveler, the New York Hilton Midtown is located in the midst of New York City’s business headquarters and media centers, conveniently near Rockefeller Center, Radio City Music Hall, and the Museum of Modern Art, just one block from Fifth Avenue shopping, and a short stroll to Times Square, Broadway theatres, Central Park, and many more cultural attractions for which New York is famous. Equipped with modern conveniences to meet all your business and travel needs, the hotel features extensive facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and HotelsClick so you can book your New York Hilton Midtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton New York Hotel New York City
Hilton New York City
New York Hilton
New York City Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing