We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
New York Hilton Midtown
Ranked #324 of 467 Hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersBronze level
Cruso, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
191 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Excellent value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2014

Great location 53rd St, between 5th and 6th Ave, a couple of short blocks from several subway stations. Unless you're incapacitated don't bother with MTA passes. We bought 7-day passes on our arrival and used them only to go to Greenwich Village and Battery areas. Very convenient to MoMA, Carnegie Hall, plays and shows, great restaurants, Central Park, etc.. We were on 37th floor in the timeshare area. Room was modern, spacious, and well appointed. Wouldn't call it luxurious, but definitely far above average. Very friendly and helpful staff. Free continental breakfast and free happy hour drinks and snacks; free coffee and cookies until midnight. These were served in a sizable lounge area which was a convenient meeting place for friends. This was an incredible value for midtown NYC.

Surprisingly, we never had more than a 1-2 minute wait for elevators, even in busy periods.

Only minor complaint: I'm personally not a fan of duvets.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Everett B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9,847 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,416
    3,772
    2,145
    992
    522
See reviews for
2,912
2,175
456
2,623
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,762)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2014

The hotel location is great, walking distance to Central Park and Subway stations, 15 USD taxi ride from downtown. Staff was friendly and eventhough it was springbreak we had no noise issues during the night.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank Sander V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2014

Definitely centrally located, noone can deny it isn't. For tourists, it's in the Midtown region, near literally most touristy things - Central Park, Times Square, Broadway, and a decent walk to the UN and eateries.

The room itself is decent, it's not particularly large, but it's not particularly small either. I've stayed for both work and on holidays, and the room sizes do differ, so if you think your room is small, chances are there are other rooms, just ask concierge. The bellboys are fantastic, as is the service from the staff. The rooms are clean, and well maintained.

I would stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Thalius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2014

Very good hotel at a perfect location (located near Times Square, Broadway, 5th Ave. and Central Park). Rooms are very nice, clean and have all the nessecary utilities. We stayed at the 29th floor and had a good view of the city. Staff was decent and helpful. Only disadvantages were that there was no refrigiator in the room and the (finger)food in the lounge was not that great (price/qualtity). Would definitely go again.

Room Tip: We were on the 29th floor West 54th street. Could still hear the traffic, but at night it was very q...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MichaSam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2014

I recently stayed at the Hilton Midtown for one night. Despite the fact that I'm a diamond member and stay in Hiltons litterally every week of the year, they gave me a room on the 28th floor. The room/floor hadn't been updated since about 1975, which I was fine with for one night until I got to my room. My room had a connecting room and I noticed about 1 1/2 inches of light under the connecting door. Furthermore, when I checked in there were about 1,000 high school kids in the lobby for a junior UN convention. I had visions of noise in the middle of the night so I asked for a new room. I was moved to the 12th floor and it looked like a totally different hotel! Newly renovated and everything was updated! It was beautiful. Of course my question is why the Hilton wouldn't have put one of their best customers on a renovated floor in the first place.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for a renovated room!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ChiHub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heatland
Level Contributor
62 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2014

It would be hard to find a hotel with a better location if you are visiting NYC. It is centrally located, within walking distance of many areas of interest and on the subway system. It is also a good quality hotel and I found nothing about which to complain. I have been to this hotel several times over the years but it had been about 20 years since my last visit. It was pretty much as I remembered it. Even though I found everything good, there is nothing about the hotel itself that particularly excites me. It just doesn’t have a lot of character to me; others may disagree. If you are looking for a centrally located, high quality hotel, it should suit you.

As you might expect, this location and quality comes at a price. I was attending a large conference and got a conference rate which was much better than anything else in the neighborhood. Even with the conference rate, the price was just tolerable. Without a special rate, staying here probably would have been out of the question for me. Some years ago, I used to be able to find decent smaller hotels in the area that were reasonably priced but they all seem to have gone by the wayside.

Perhaps the thing that bothered me most about my stay is not directly related to the hotel. Other than a Subway sandwich shop and street vendors, I could not find reasonably eating establishments within easy walking distance. I was paying $20 for breakfast and $40+ for no frills dinners at very plain restaurants that were mediocre. Because of a pretty heavy schedule during my stay this time, I wasn’t able to get out and look too much so there may be some good, reasonably priced places to eat around there but I sure didn’t find them. I guess if you have enough money to stay at this location, you don't worry about paying a lot for something to eat.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank whoknows987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watertown, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2014

There was a Jewelry show in the hotel that I was going to attend. The time I had there was amazing. The room was super comfortable. The check in took a little time, but that was understandable since there were a lot of people. I got the breakfast package and really enjoyed the buffet in the morning. Everything was high quality. They have everything you might ever need.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Hossep A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Hilton Times Square
Hilton Times Square
#102 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,458 reviews
Midtown
Warwick New York
Warwick New York
#91 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,135 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
#147 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,784 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Hilton Club - New York
The Hilton Club - New York
#204 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 600 reviews
Midtown
Grand Hyatt New York
Grand Hyatt New York
#314 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 8,230 reviews
Financial District
Millenium Hilton
Millenium Hilton
#233 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New York Hilton Midtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New York Hilton Midtown

Property: New York Hilton Midtown
Address: 1335 Avenue of the Americas, 6th Avenue at 54th Street, New York City, NY 10019-6078
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#70 Green Hotel in New York City
#200 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#242 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — New York Hilton Midtown 4*
Number of rooms: 1932
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A sophisticated international hotel designed for both the business and leisure traveler, the New York Hilton Midtown is located in the midst of New York City’s business headquarters and media centers, conveniently near Rockefeller Center, Radio City Music Hall, and the Museum of Modern Art, just one block from Fifth Avenue shopping, and a short stroll to Times Square, Broadway theatres, Central Park, and many more cultural attractions for which New York is famous. Equipped with modern conveniences to meet all your business and travel needs, the hotel features extensive facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your New York Hilton Midtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton New York Hotel New York City
Hilton New York City
New York Hilton
New York City Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing