We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Great, Not Horrible”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
New York Hilton Midtown
Ranked #325 of 467 Hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersBronze level
Salem, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
100 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Not Great, Not Horrible”
Reviewed March 12, 2014

Just an average hotel. It is conveniently located. We were on the 25th floor, our room was apparently NOT on the noisy side (we were with a group and a few across the hall complained of honking horns and traffic noise all night) As far as value, I don't know what the room cost, but if it was over $200./night, not worth it. Our room was clean (sort of) the bathroom area below the sink was pretty gross... looked like either throw up or urine stains ALL over the wall behind the toilet and sink (Icky). Be prepared for 2 things.... HOT rooms (temp is governed at 73) we were on the side that didn't get the sun, so we kept our windows open 24/7 (outside temp 40's) our friend's room across the hall was unbelievably hot. Elevators.... yikes! Our group snuck on the service elevators A LOT! you have to, I am not exaggerating.... certain times of the day, there would be a 10 minute wait for an elevator going down LOL. We were there only 3 days, so no biggy, and if I was picking the hotel, this would not be my choice, but with a group and only 8 hrs at best spent sleeping in our room, it worked. Oh yeah, one more thing... there is no room service?

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2theT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kek98, Director of Sales at New York Hilton Midtown, responded to this review, March 16, 2014
Thank your for sharing your concerns on your most recent stay at the hotel. We are disappointed to hear that you waited for the hotel elevators. We hope that you would have been alerted that the hotel does have room delivery service that will deliver food to your rooms. Thank you for your stay.

NYCNH_DS@hilton.com
New York Hilton Midtown
Kellie Cahill
Director of Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9,962 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,449
    3,817
    2,166
    998
    532
See reviews for
2,941
2,210
460
2,653
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,775)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bergen, Norway
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 11, 2014

Not value for the price. Hotel is well located but that's about it. Rooms had been upgraded in "modern" style but quality was in best case average. Breakfast was less than average and expencive. Personell was helpfull and friendly though.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank Hakon N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kek98, Director of Sales at New York Hilton Midtown, responded to this review, March 16, 2014
Hakon,

Thank you for sharing this quick feedback on your recent stay with us via TripAdvisor. We appreciate your honest input on our comfort and style and we will keep your comments in mind as we constantly look for new ways to improve our guests' experience. We hope you will return to stay with us the next time you are in the city and let us know how we are doing.

Thank you
NYCNH_DS@hilton.com
New York Hilton Midtown
Kellie Cahill
Director of Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these New York City hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2014

I stayed for 2 weeks for a business trip. The hotel is fine, a very busy large hotel. Good location on Sixth Ave.

During my stay, there was a massive high school Model UN conference, which meant the hotel was overrun by high schoolers, who proceeded to get drunk on their final day. However, the noise was primarily limited to the lobby and was tolerable.

The Internet was ok for the first week of my trip, however, they must've given free wifi to the entire conference, which caused the internet connection to slow to a crawl. I was unable to do any work in the hotel for the ENTIRE second week I was there. Fortunately I had received the internet for free (as a Hilton Gold), but I had to go into the office to do work one night because the internet was so slow. Be wary if you are coming for business.

Lastly, the most ridiculous was the extortionate storage charges for a service most hotels do for free. I had a late flight - 6pm. At any other hotel I have ever stayed at, the concierge or bellmen would take the luggage and store it until I returned to collect it. However, here they extort $3.50 per piece from you. Furthermore, this was not disclosed to me until I returned to collect the luggage, so I was forced to pay the fee. This is an insult after having spent thousands of dollars.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CkC612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kek98, Director of Sales at New York Hilton Midtown, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Felix,

Thank you for being a loyal guest and for sharing feedback on your recent stay at our hotel with the TripAdvisor community. I appreciate your honest input and apologize for the issues you encountered with noise and guestroom appointment. We do our best to provide our guests the best amenities possible and understand that you were unhappy with some of the charges. I apologize if the charges were not clear when you booked the room and we will keep your comments in mind as we look to improve our guests' experience moving forward. We hope you will give us another opportunity to show you the complete quality stay you deserve should you return to our area in the future.

Thank you,
NYCNH_DS@hilton.com
New York Hilton Midtown
Kellie Cahill
Director of Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Worth, United States
1 review
Reviewed March 10, 2014

This Hilton is located in a perfect area. Nice conference space. Loved the room. The bar area was nice. The Hilton staff really were professional and friendly. I would recommend this hotel to my friends and family. I had a corner room and it was really comfortable.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Rhonda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kek98, Director of Sales at New York Hilton Midtown, responded to this review, March 16, 2014
Thank you for your most recent stay. Glad you were able to enjoy the corner rooms. Also nice to hear that the staff was able to delight you. Please visit again.

NYCNH_DS@hilton.com
New York Hilton Midtown
Kellie Cahill
Director of Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conroe, Texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2014 via mobile

First of all huge props for early check in @11:00am and late check out at 3:00 pm to accommodate our late flight. Being from TX, we're used to large hotel rooms and the room size was just a bit smaller. The bathroom is small but an efficient use of space. The beds are great. There's no coffee pot, but there's a Starbucks across the street. The hotel is in a great location and centrally located to everything.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank lschaller2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kek98, Director of Sales at New York Hilton Midtown, responded to this review, March 16, 2014
Glad to see you were staying with us on your first stay to New York City. Happy to have been your home for a few days. Thank you so much for your visit and please do come back and visit. Please visit again when you come to the city.


NYCNH_DS@hilton.com
New York Hilton Midtown
Kellie Cahill
Director of Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2014

Hi, just spent a week at the hilton midtown. If i look at the total experience from this hotel it was very good.
First of all the location is great close to everything . There Is subway just around the block . 2 minutes walk.
I asked for a refurbished room and got a room on the 32 floor we had to add 20 USD per night,The room was very clean and big one.
Concerning thaw Wifi issue , we were told at the reception that if we will skip one day of housekeeping we will get the Wifi free for the whole week , we took this deal, but I have to say that it's quite odd .
There are two down sides: the fist one is that there is no possibility to make coffee in the room ,
So if you want coffee you have to go down stairs.
The second one is that the hotel is very crowded feels like Vegas a lot of people,so the elevators
Might be an issue.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the higher floors and refurbished one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Yifat b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Dora, Florida
Level Contributor
43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2014

Since our trip last year, the modifications and renewal have begun. Nice to see. The E lounge guards have been replaced with a card room vending system. I huge improvement and less uncomfortable. I can honestly say, that there have been many improvements since my last review.
Front desk, Concierge and Lounge are all better staffed.
There is a new take out restaurant that serves basically breakfast items all day. They do not have a dinner menu, so if you really want to eat in, you can order thru room service. Pricey as you would expect, but for those times you really do not feel like going out, it is ok. On site brick oven makes most of the items I tried pretty good. Since last year, major improvements are visable and I encourage them to keep getting it back to glory! They are working in the right direction. TY

Room Tip: If you are a Hilton Honors person, ask for a renovated room. They usually have glassed in tubs insst...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joelwildman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Hilton Times Square
Hilton Times Square
#106 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,547 reviews
Midtown
Warwick New York
Warwick New York
#93 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,191 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
#147 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,854 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Hilton Club - New York
The Hilton Club - New York
#203 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 614 reviews
Midtown
Grand Hyatt New York
Grand Hyatt New York
#315 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 8,332 reviews
Financial District
Millenium Hilton
Millenium Hilton
#235 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New York Hilton Midtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New York Hilton Midtown

Property: New York Hilton Midtown
Address: 1335 Avenue of the Americas, 6th Avenue at 54th Street, New York City, NY 10019-6078
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#69 Green Hotel in New York City
#200 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#242 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — New York Hilton Midtown 4*
Number of rooms: 1932
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A sophisticated international hotel designed for both the business and leisure traveler, the New York Hilton Midtown is located in the midst of New York City’s business headquarters and media centers, conveniently near Rockefeller Center, Radio City Music Hall, and the Museum of Modern Art, just one block from Fifth Avenue shopping, and a short stroll to Times Square, Broadway theatres, Central Park, and many more cultural attractions for which New York is famous. Equipped with modern conveniences to meet all your business and travel needs, the hotel features extensive facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your New York Hilton Midtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton New York Hotel New York City
Hilton New York City
New York Hilton
New York City Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing