We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, great service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
New York Hilton Midtown
Ranked #326 of 468 Hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersBronze level
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Great location, great service”
Reviewed October 30, 2013 via mobile

Used the Hilton Midtown for the second time this year and have found the service excellent both times - service could easily be lost in such a large Hotel, hospitality was great!

The midtown location is perfect for business and leisure.

Recommended!

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank StephenHart66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10,055 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,472
    3,846
    2,188
    1,008
    541
See reviews for
2,970
2,236
464
2,675
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,784)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2013 via mobile

When booking this hotel on line several months ago, I requested a room with a decent view since this was a 70th birthday celebration for my husband. We hadn't been in NYC in over 30 years. I was pretty convinced that my request would be overlooked or ignored, but I was wrong! The view was amazing even though we were only on the 28th floor. In addition, when we returned from dinner that first night, there was a bottle of champagne and a box of chocolates along with a card wishing him a Happy Birthday. I was floored! Despite the sticker shock from room rates in the city, the Hilton turned out to be perfect for what we wanted. We could walk just about everywhere - Times Square, Broadway, Central Park, 5th Avenue, etc. We were even given early check in and a late check out. Couldn't have asked for more!

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank JoanFB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights last June with my husband and we weren't disappointed! Great location in easy walking distance to 5th Ave, Broadway, Central Park, Times Square. Staff were extremely helpful and a lovely lady suggested a great restaurant for our anniversary dinner Tao, and even made the reservation for us. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ReshiG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2013

I'm not one to usually complain easily but, after being a loyal member to Hilton and staying at many of its hotels across the globe, I have to say that this one ranks pretty much at the bottom of the list. That's especially disturbing considering, one would think, that New york should serve as a flagship to other locations.

As a Diamond member, I usually don't like to flaunt status to gain additional priviliges ... in this case, however, it seemed that my status wasn't at all recognized (except for having the possibility to stand in the HHonors queu which, in the end, took longer than the normal line) ... according to the receptionist, after I had to ask, I was upgraded to a larger room ... turns out that the room was much smaller than any I had previously stayed in ... on top of this, my colleague who was travelling with me, and does not have HHonors membership, also received an upgrade (without asking) and his room was much larger than mine. Perhaps they were punishing me for having had the nerve to ask :-)

Again, not being one to complain, I accepted the room they gave me as I would be spending very little time there anyway ... the room itself was dank, dark and there was toilet paper stuck inside the peephole to the door ... couldn't quite figure out what for but perhaps this is a new style of decoration for Hilton.

The next morning, I met my colleague for breakfast and, because he didn't have access to the executive lounge, decided to go the normal breakfast area ... here I asked if my complimentary breakfast could be transferred whereupon, without explanation, I was answered no ... so I ended up paying $45!! for a standard, average breakfast ... unbelievable!

The icing on the cake came when, on the evening before, I asked for a late check out due to an evening flight ... I did not mention my status as this should be in the computer ... the receptionist, who was very rude, told me that I could check out at 1330 .. when I asked if there was any possible way to extend this further, I was told to check in the morning ... the following morning I called the reception and was told (again rudely) that there was no possible extension as the hotel was overbooked ... I was forced, at this point, to mention my status and the conversation I had the previous evening whereupon, with great annoyance, she said she'd call me back. Afterwards, with obvious reluctance and in a very unfriendly tone, I was once again granted the 1330 check-out .. at this point I gave up fighting.

Even without any special "status" priviliges, I have never been in a hotel which treated me in such an unfriendly manner ... you really feel as if you're a number and that they can't wait to get you out to turn around the rooms ... this upset me so much that I'm honestly thinking of giving up my loyalty to Hilton to favor another branch where status is recognized and treated accordingly.

Room Tip: ... don't ask
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank VikeST
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kek98, Director of Sales at New York Hilton Midtown, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Please accept our sincere apologies for the poor experience you had during your recent stay with us. We strive to ensure every guest has a pleasant stay and we regret our missteps that hindered your visit. We will use your comments as part of our ongoing customer service training and hope you will give us another opportunity to show you the complete quality stay and value that you deserve should you return to our area in the future.

Thank you,

KELLIE ANN CAHILL, CMP I Director – Sales & Marketing
NEW YORK HILTON MIDTOWN
e: NYNCH_DS@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these New York City hotels

Denver
Level Contributor
68 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2013

Nice location for work or pleasure. Rooms have been upgraded with new carpet etc. My only complaint was there was no coffee maker in the room. Nice gym that is now complementary. Lots of street noise which is common in NYC (garbage trucks, ambulances etc). Great location for business conference.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BDBoomer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
72 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2013

Very large and busy hotel. The location was excellent, what interaction we had with staff was good. For a large hotel, the elevator system was good- never waited more that a couple of minutes. Rooms were fairly up to date. Overall, a good experience.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rwueste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed October 29, 2013

I recently spent three nights with my sister at the New York Hilton and was thrilled with its location. Very central to everything. Diagonally across from Radio City Music Hall. About 5 block south of Central Park and 5 blocks north of Times Square.
Friendly staff at reception desk.
Beds very comfortable.
You can print your boarding pass free.
Wine by the glass $14.00 ( avoid hotel bars for that reason)
No coffee maker in the room but Starbucks across the street.
A $3.50 per bag charge for them to hold suitcases if you book out early but have a late flight.
Overall good stay.

Room Tip: We were on the 29th floor. View was good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 249MackT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Warwick New York
Warwick New York
#89 of 468 in New York City
4,247 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Times Square
Hilton Times Square
#104 of 468 in New York City
6,645 reviews
Midtown
The Hilton Club - New York
The Hilton Club - New York
#215 of 468 in New York City
621 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
#153 of 468 in New York City
6,937 reviews
Midtown
Grand Hyatt New York
Grand Hyatt New York
#318 of 468 in New York City
8,476 reviews
Midtown
Park Central Hotel New York
Park Central Hotel New York
#266 of 468 in New York City
4,470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New York Hilton Midtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New York Hilton Midtown

Property: New York Hilton Midtown
Address: 1335 Avenue of the Americas, 6th Avenue at 54th Street, New York City, NY 10019-6078
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#68 Green Hotel in New York City
#202 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#242 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — New York Hilton Midtown 4*
Number of rooms: 1932
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A sophisticated international hotel designed for both the business and leisure traveler, the New York Hilton Midtown is located in the midst of New York City’s business headquarters and media centers, conveniently near Rockefeller Center, Radio City Music Hall, and the Museum of Modern Art, just one block from Fifth Avenue shopping, and a short stroll to Times Square, Broadway theatres, Central Park, and many more cultural attractions for which New York is famous. Equipped with modern conveniences to meet all your business and travel needs, the hotel features extensive facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and HRS so you can book your New York Hilton Midtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton New York Hotel New York City
Hilton New York City
New York Hilton
New York City Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing