We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of New York Hilton Midtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
New York Hilton Midtown
Ranked #326 of 478 Hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersBronze level
West Chester, PA
Level Contributor
85 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Great location!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Good location for tourists and business meetings. Great service. Good restaurant for breakfast, the omelets are very food. Very nice shoppes, especially the jewelry store. There are always reasonable sales. I always check it out.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank brandywinelady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kek98, Director of Sales at New York Hilton Midtown, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Thank you for your review of the New York Hilton. The hotel was pleased to have been the choice for your stay. Glad you enjoyed the omelettes and that you were able to shop in the stores.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel.

KELLIE ANN CAHILL, CMP I Director – Sales & Marketing
NYCNH_DS@hilton.com
NEW YORK HILTON MIDTOWN
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8,907 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,117
    3,442
    1,969
    903
    476
See reviews for
2,581
1,974
421
2,389
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,614)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
texas
Level Contributor
271 reviews
106 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

i had a rare chance to come to do business and to go to the US Open.

the corporate guys chose this hotel. i had been here about a decade ago.

i appreciated the midtown location. very opportune. also the hotel was nice. a bit cramped.

the service was nice but the hotel seemed overwhelmed. there were two conventions and a ton of foreigners. by that i mean a lot of visitors. with these crowds, the hotel truly seemed overwhelmed.

we spent little time there. slept and woke up and went about our business.

overall, the location is the key point here. as for the ambience, there is little. it is a business hotel. as for the service it was ok. as for the price, again ok. would i recommend it for someone visiting New York, not really. New York has so many great hotel venues, i would tell them to select something else. if the purpose is simply to come in and use this as your base for going around New York, then this hotel will do just fine.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank shark4rk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kek98, Director of Sales at New York Hilton Midtown, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Glad to hear you were able to come to the city and enjoy the US Open. It is a great time to travel to New York City. Nice to see that the location suited your travels.

KELLIE ANN CAHILL, CMP I Director – Sales & Marketing
NYCNH_DS@hilton.com
NEW YORK HILTON MIDTOWN
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

This large modern hotel is really well located for visitors - walkable to Times Square, Rockefeller Center, Central Park and 5th Ave and works well but has a few shortcomings. The main one being no coffee making facilities in the room. The hotel should realise that guests from Europe wake early and it really is annoying to have to dress and go down for a coffee to bring back. Had an Executive room with lounge access which was fine but very crowded for breakfast and when it says a 'healthy breakfast' they mean absolutely nothing hot except toast! Overall a good hotel for visitors if location is important.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnSW07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kek98, Director of Sales at New York Hilton Midtown, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Appreciate your review of the hotel and glad to hear we were a good location for your stay. Sorry to hear that during your stay it was a bit crowded. We look forward to welcoming you in the near future.

KELLIE ANN CAHILL, CMP I Director – Sales & Marketing

NEW YORK HILTON MIDTOWN
t: +1 212 586 7000 e: NYCNH_DS@Hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

it was nice in every aspect, huge reception great room and practical location only few minutes walking to times square and few minutes to subway going to uptown or downtown
it was in the center of manhattan, nearby starbucks one on 2 corners of the hotel. around the corner pizza place and applebees and KFC.

the breakfast is one of a luxury with smoked salamon

Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Molly2310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kek98, Director of Sales at New York Hilton Midtown, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Thank you for your review of the hotel and glad to hear and see that it was a WOW for you. Our location worked for your stay and we love to hear that. Thank you for your business and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

KELLIE ANN CAHILL, CMP I Director – Sales & Marketing

NEW YORK HILTON MIDTOWN
t: +1 212 586 7000 e: NYCNH_DS@Hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
112 reviews
108 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013 via mobile

This hotel's lobby area is busy as Union Station. You have to queu to everything.. Front desk, concierge, breakfast.. always a hefty wait in line, which I find annoying. Service is not personal. When we got in our room we found out that there were no towels at all, another sign how everything must be tuned to mass servicing. The hotel breakfast is rather average and not worth the money. But location is convenient for sure.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank mikaramram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
108 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

The staff is friendly and my room was quiet, but I always leave the hotel loathing myself for staying there. Why? First, there is no longer any room service. It's a grab and go/flat bread takeout area where I paid $25 for a chicken caesar salad and soup. I didn't even get a drink. That's worse than the prices at the airports in NYC. Second, the thermostat in the room does not work. I asked the desk, but I was told that the systems don't respond well. Third, I was told I was in an updated room. It was fine, but it didn't feel brand new. Finally, the Wi-Fi was slow, even at 6am. The good news is that I slept quite well and that there was no room noise and that the TV had a timer, which I enjoy. It's a good location, but there are plenty of other Hilton properties in NYC that offer better amenities and similar to nicer rooms.

Room Tip: A high floor always helps out with lessening the din from NYC.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CLEShawn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kek98, Director of Sales at New York Hilton Midtown, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Thank you for being a valued guest of our hotel and for sharing this feedback on your recent stay with us via TripAdvisor. We appreciate your honest input and will keep your comments in mind as we constantly look for new ways to improve our guests' experience through our service and amenities. We hope you will return to stay with us the next time you are in town so we may better demonstrate our commitment to your comfort and satisfaction.

Thank you,

KELLIE ANN CAHILL, CMP I Director – Sales & Marketing
NYCNH_DS@hilton.com
NEW YORK HILTON MIDTOWN
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these New York City hotels

St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

Stayed there on a girl's trip first weekend in September. I have few positive things to say. As we checked in they said, we gave you one of our renovated rooms....um, it was probably renovated 6 years ago. It is an average room, the bathroom is tiny and for the size was not nice, rather banged up making it look not that clean. The location, for us, was perfect. We were only sleeping in this room, so it fit our needs. If your looking for luxury, keep looking. If your looking for a decent hotel, with a good location...this is your spot.

Room Tip: We were on the 7th floor, it was not noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kkullman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Hilton Times Square
Hilton Times Square
#103 of 478 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 5,751 reviews
Midtown
Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel
Sheraton New York Times Square H...
#301 of 478 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 5,865 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
#138 of 478 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 6,271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Warwick New York Hotel
Warwick New York Hotel
#93 of 478 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 3,814 reviews
Midtown
The Hilton Club - New York
The Hilton Club - New York
#124 of 478 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 530 reviews
Midtown
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
#282 of 478 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 9,835 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New York Hilton Midtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New York Hilton Midtown

Property: New York Hilton Midtown
Address: 1335 Avenue of the Americas, 6th Avenue at 54th Street, New York City, NY 10019-6078
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#67 Green Hotel in New York City
#200 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#243 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — New York Hilton Midtown 4*
Number of rooms: 1932
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A sophisticated international hotel designed for both the business and leisure traveler, the New York Hilton Midtown is located in the midst of New York City’s business headquarters and media centers, conveniently near Rockefeller Center, Radio City Music Hall, and the Museum of Modern Art, just one block from Fifth Avenue shopping, and a short stroll to Times Square, Broadway theatres, Central Park, and many more cultural attractions for which New York is famous. Equipped with modern conveniences to meet all your business and travel needs, the hotel features extensive facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels, Hotwire, HotelTravel.com, Cancelon, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your New York Hilton Midtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton New York Hotel New York City
Hilton New York City
New York Hilton
New York City Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing