We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Hotel Location-Stingy on Amenities” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of New York Hilton Midtown

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
New York Hilton Midtown
Ranked #321 of 467 Hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersBronze level
Los Aneles, CA
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great Hotel Location-Stingy on Amenities”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

The hotel is delightful for the location, including walking distance to Central Park, Times Square and all Theaters. We went to see the delightful play Newsies, and the Hilton concierge reserved a fine dinner at Oceana on the way (we got a free dessert drink for reserving through the concierge. The room was clean, spacious (for New York) and comfortable. The shower was fantastic-not the "water-saver" that we normally put up with. However, there were virtually no amenities in the room-no coffee-maker, no refrigerator, no microwave-seems a little stingy to me! The lobby bar area was continually thriving with action-we watched the Spurs/Heat basketball and had a wonderful time (O.K. the drinks at $15 were a bit steep). There is no swimming pool in the hotel-luckily the weather in town was not too hot.

Room Tip: Not much view from anywhere-other high buildings block any possible view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MoatMonster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9,742 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,388
    3,740
    2,117
    982
    515
See reviews for
2,879
2,152
452
2,593
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,750)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sherrills Ford, North Carolina
Level Contributor
154 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2013 via mobile

This hotel was perfect for our family of four! It was well worth the price to stay here-- never had to take the subway! Quick walk to Central Park (must take the carriage ride), Times Square, and Rockefeller Center! Loved the restaurants in the area and shopping on 5th Avenue was just 1 block over. I felt so safe in this super clean hotel! (Took a $20 taxi to China Town/ Little Italy for lunch then $10 taxi to 911 memorial.) Fun day sightseeing, then went back to our cozy hotel, napped, and walked to Bistro Milano for superb outside dining experience! This Hilton made our trip to NY perfect!!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank April N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2013

We stayed at the Hilton New York for two days.
Business trip, and a bit of pleasure. Great location, all facilities, great staff.
If its quiet you are looking for though, this isn't the place. Its a big hotel, lots of hustle and bustle in the lobby, plenty going on. Once in the room its ok, decent rooms for the price.
The bar staff, in particular ' Mac ' very funny, good company. Good valet parking, all round good place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LAROZA12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leesburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2013

Stayed here the weekend of May 31 - June 2nd. Had a wonderful time and as usual the rooms were clean and fairly large by NYC standards. We stayed on the Club Level floor and it was perfect with the rooms being exactly what I have come to expect here at the Hilton Mid-Town, clean and well maintained. Conceirge was great in giving advice of where to go for dinner and shows. This hotel is great for coouples, families and friends as it has something for everyone and is just a few blocks from both Central Park and Times Square. And if you like to shop, 5th Ave is a block away..

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cjbyogi1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bend, Oregon
Level Contributor
69 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2013

Paid top dollar for a room with very tired furniture. Had to call to have the back of the bathroom door cleaned -- lots of grimy fingerprints. Safe was broken, light in entry was burned out... all were fixed after a call. On another stay, the desk chair was worn out - no support in the seat and the upholstery was badly worn. I called and during my week-long stay, it was never replaced. They are undergoing renovations so maybe the floor I was on will be taken care of this round.

Room Tip: Higher floors are quieter, ask for a room that has been renovated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2013

We enjoyed our 3 night stay. The lobby of this hotel is always extremely busy so we were delighted when we found our room to be so quiet.
The hotel was convenient to the play "Cinderella" which was handy since it was raining! Also, it was only a couple of blocks to the subway and Central Park.
You will have difficulty escaping the timeshare pitches as you pass through the lobby. Perhaps the most annoying aspect of our stay was having to listen to the same Hilton commercial repeatedly on the elevators!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lonestarwiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2013

This hotel made my stay in New York City, have visited it several times and am reluctant to stay anywhere else. It feels like home. The rooms are lovely and inviting, the beds are out of this world. Hotel lobby is great and the staff are so nice. I especially love the on site jewellers and the ladies who work in there are brilliant. The restaurant is fab, honestly order their Caesar salad and steak! There was only a problem once in all of the times I've stayed here and we were offered a free breakfast. No complaints here! I should mention the great location: Fifth Ave out the front, Times Sq out the back. Perfect!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LLS1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Hilton Times Square
Hilton Times Square
#106 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,369 reviews
Financial District
Millenium Hilton
Millenium Hilton
#230 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,317 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
#142 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,702 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Warwick New York
Warwick New York
#91 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,097 reviews
Midtown
The Hilton Club - New York
The Hilton Club - New York
#184 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 584 reviews
Midtown
Grand Hyatt New York
Grand Hyatt New York
#311 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 8,108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New York Hilton Midtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New York Hilton Midtown

Property: New York Hilton Midtown
Address: 1335 Avenue of the Americas, 6th Avenue at 54th Street, New York City, NY 10019-6078
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#70 Green Hotel in New York City
#197 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#243 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — New York Hilton Midtown 4*
Number of rooms: 1932
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A sophisticated international hotel designed for both the business and leisure traveler, the New York Hilton Midtown is located in the midst of New York City’s business headquarters and media centers, conveniently near Rockefeller Center, Radio City Music Hall, and the Museum of Modern Art, just one block from Fifth Avenue shopping, and a short stroll to Times Square, Broadway theatres, Central Park, and many more cultural attractions for which New York is famous. Equipped with modern conveniences to meet all your business and travel needs, the hotel features extensive facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Despegar.com and Hotels.com so you can book your New York Hilton Midtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton New York Hotel New York City
Hilton New York City
New York Hilton
New York City Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing