We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is a classy place, but expect to pay for it...probably too much”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
New York Hilton Midtown
Ranked #328 of 471 Hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed June 14, 2013

This is the famous original Hilton built by Conrad Hilton way back in 1963. It has class for sure.
The location on 6th avenue is in the center of things. The service is superb. The rooms are nice with very comfortable beds. The gym is large and what you would expect of a city fitness center.

A few drawbacks, however, lead me to rate this hotel as too expensive for what it offers. For one, they advertise a sauna but the locker rooms seem to have been out of service when we were there. As well, the breakfast is marginal, at best, and is not up to par with breakfasts that I've had at other Hiltons (eg Copenhagen, Madrid). The decor is nice but a bit cramped, unlike every other Hilton where I've seen a nice atrium that greets you when you enter.

Overall, I wouldn't pay more than $250 for a 2-person suite at this place, but last time I checked, the prices are minimum $350, which in my opinion is simply not worth what they provide. I suspect, however, that they will keep charging such a high price simply because they have the popularity of being Midtown Hilton and can attract enough customers who don't know any better to overpay for their rooms.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank landonroussel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (10,741)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

5,853 - 5,859 of 10,741 reviews

Reviewed June 14, 2013

The property is the perfect location to stay. The property has everything one would need to enjoy their vacation in the Big Apple.

Some of the staff can be at times not friendly and reluctant to answer a simple question. However, the majority of the staff will go far an beyond the call of duty!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angel A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1
Reviewed June 14, 2013

We had a wonderful time, hotel was nice and we loved the location! The room service help was extremely helpful and kind. The rooms were bigger than expected. Would have like to have had a coffee maker in the room!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2013

I was very pleased with this hotel. I did not have high expectations, based on some previous reviews. However, I was pleasantly surprised. This is an older hotel,but, in my opinion it was well maintained. The rooms were clean and comfortable and relatively large for NYC standards. The bed was very comfortable. The staff was excellent. They were friendly and helpful. This location is excellent. Close to all of the tourist sites and business areas. I will stay here without any hesitation.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Samuel K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2013 via mobile

Great location but this hotel has the standards of a cheap motel. Lights in the room were broken and not fixed by room service. Bathrooms from the dark ages. No coffee / tea makers or mini-bar in the room. No staff in the gym (which was average). Room service menu was limited and the food quality was poor. The use of leaving voicemail at services (eg laundry) is frustrating. One just receives the impression that the hotel is short of staff.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eliot_place
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights before checking out and moving to another hotel! On arrival we were greeted by a rude member of staff who rushed to check us in and send us on our way. We were sent to a standard room despite having booked an executive room - after having traveled for 16 hours my patience was wearing thin. After returning to reception we were moved to another room but told the room we had booked was not available that night - not pleased! The room was very small and dark, the bath was tiny and i could have done a better job cleaning the room myself. On waking we were greeted by the loud noise of the housekeeping staff which continued for 3 hours every morning as they ran up and down the corridors shouting at each other. We did not try any of the food at the hotel. Despite being a Hilton Honours member we did not receive free WIFI despite asking several times - since returning home we are aware that WIFI was included in our package but they are incredibly unhelpful! If you try to contact the concierge from the room, they NEVER answer the phone! On visiting the concierge downstairs to find out how long it would take to get to a restaurant by taxi we were told to take a subway!! We did point out that we didn't want to take the subway but she was adamant that i should and made sure i felt stuck up and spoilt - i was on holiday!! If the hotel was not in such a great location we would have left after the first night... instead we left after the third! The gym is the best feature of this hotel and has a great view. This Hilton hotel is not of the same calibre as any other Hilton hotel i have stayed in.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LuxuryTraveller111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kek98, Director of Sales at New York Hilton Midtown, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2013

Please accept our sincere apologies for the hassle and frustration you experienced during your recent stay with us. We strive to make every guests' stay a pleasant one and apologize this was not your impression. We will share your comments on noise and service with our team and use them as we work towards our brand standard quality hospitality. The next time you are in the area we hope you will return to stay with us so we may show you the level of service and stay you expect from our family of hotels.

Thank you,

Kellie A. Cahill, CMP
NYCNH_DS@hilton.com
New York Hilton Midtown

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2013

uggly hotel. horrible service, small bathroom, it takes hours to take an elevator. crowded and expensive for the value. bar is horrible too
i should have stayed at the london one block away and similar price

Room Tip: dont come to this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank manuel a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kek98, Director of Sales at New York Hilton Midtown, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2013

Manuel,

Please accept our sincere apologies for the poor experience you had during your recent stay with us. We strive to make every guests' visit a pleasant one and we regret this was not your impression. We value your input and will use it as we work to improve our guests' experience and hope to have a second chance the next time you are in the area.

Thank you,

NYCNH_DS@hilton.com
New York Hilton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Warwick New York
Warwick New York
#113 of 471 in New York City
4,517 reviews
Midtown
Park Central Hotel New York
Park Central Hotel New York
#276 of 471 in New York City
4,995 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Times Square
Hilton Times Square
#116 of 471 in New York City
7,116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Financial District
Millennium Hilton New York Downtown
Millennium Hilton New York Downt...
#226 of 471 in New York City
4,809 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn New York/West 35th Street
Midtown
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Metropolitan - New York City
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Metro...
#333 of 471 in New York City
5,094 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New York Hilton Midtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New York Hilton Midtown

Address: 1335 Avenue of the Americas, 6th Avenue at 54th Street, New York City, NY 10019-6078
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#69 Green Hotel in New York City
#115 Family Hotel in New York City
#204 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $198 - $490 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — New York Hilton Midtown 4*
Number of rooms: 1932
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A sophisticated international hotel designed for both the business and leisure traveler, the New York Hilton Midtown is located in the midst of New York City’s business headquarters and media centers, conveniently near Rockefeller Center, Radio City Music Hall, and the Museum of Modern Art, just one block from Fifth Avenue shopping, and a short stroll to Times Square, Broadway theatres, Central Park, and many more cultural attractions for which New York is famous. Equipped with modern conveniences to meet all your business and travel needs, the hotel features extensive facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelPower, Expedia, Agoda, Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your New York Hilton Midtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton New York Hotel New York City
Hilton New York City
New York Hilton
New York City Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing