We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is a classy place, but expect to pay for it...probably too much”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
New York Hilton Midtown
Ranked #324 of 467 Hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersBronze level
Houston, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“This is a classy place, but expect to pay for it...probably too much”
Reviewed June 14, 2013

This is the famous original Hilton built by Conrad Hilton way back in 1963. It has class for sure.
The location on 6th avenue is in the center of things. The service is superb. The rooms are nice with very comfortable beds. The gym is large and what you would expect of a city fitness center.

A few drawbacks, however, lead me to rate this hotel as too expensive for what it offers. For one, they advertise a sauna but the locker rooms seem to have been out of service when we were there. As well, the breakfast is marginal, at best, and is not up to par with breakfasts that I've had at other Hiltons (eg Copenhagen, Madrid). The decor is nice but a bit cramped, unlike every other Hilton where I've seen a nice atrium that greets you when you enter.

Overall, I wouldn't pay more than $250 for a 2-person suite at this place, but last time I checked, the prices are minimum $350, which in my opinion is simply not worth what they provide. I suspect, however, that they will keep charging such a high price simply because they have the popularity of being Midtown Hilton and can attract enough customers who don't know any better to overpay for their rooms.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank landonroussel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10,149 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,499
    3,886
    2,206
    1,009
    549
See reviews for
3,015
2,248
465
2,695
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,794)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brentwood, California
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2013

The property is the perfect location to stay. The property has everything one would need to enjoy their vacation in the Big Apple.

Some of the staff can be at times not friendly and reluctant to answer a simple question. However, the majority of the staff will go far an beyond the call of duty!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angel A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed June 14, 2013

We had a wonderful time, hotel was nice and we loved the location! The room service help was extremely helpful and kind. The rooms were bigger than expected. Would have like to have had a coffee maker in the room!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2013

I was very pleased with this hotel. I did not have high expectations, based on some previous reviews. However, I was pleasantly surprised. This is an older hotel,but, in my opinion it was well maintained. The rooms were clean and comfortable and relatively large for NYC standards. The bed was very comfortable. The staff was excellent. They were friendly and helpful. This location is excellent. Close to all of the tourist sites and business areas. I will stay here without any hesitation.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Samuel K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2013 via mobile

Great location but this hotel has the standards of a cheap motel. Lights in the room were broken and not fixed by room service. Bathrooms from the dark ages. No coffee / tea makers or mini-bar in the room. No staff in the gym (which was average). Room service menu was limited and the food quality was poor. The use of leaving voicemail at services (eg laundry) is frustrating. One just receives the impression that the hotel is short of staff.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eliot_place
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Water, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights before checking out and moving to another hotel! On arrival we were greeted by a rude member of staff who rushed to check us in and send us on our way. We were sent to a standard room despite having booked an executive room - after having traveled for 16 hours my patience was wearing thin. After returning to reception we were moved to another room but told the room we had booked was not available that night - not pleased! The room was very small and dark, the bath was tiny and i could have done a better job cleaning the room myself. On waking we were greeted by the loud noise of the housekeeping staff which continued for 3 hours every morning as they ran up and down the corridors shouting at each other. We did not try any of the food at the hotel. Despite being a Hilton Honours member we did not receive free WIFI despite asking several times - since returning home we are aware that WIFI was included in our package but they are incredibly unhelpful! If you try to contact the concierge from the room, they NEVER answer the phone! On visiting the concierge downstairs to find out how long it would take to get to a restaurant by taxi we were told to take a subway!! We did point out that we didn't want to take the subway but she was adamant that i should and made sure i felt stuck up and spoilt - i was on holiday!! If the hotel was not in such a great location we would have left after the first night... instead we left after the third! The gym is the best feature of this hotel and has a great view. This Hilton hotel is not of the same calibre as any other Hilton hotel i have stayed in.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LuxuryTraveller111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kek98, Director of Sales at New York Hilton Midtown, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Please accept our sincere apologies for the hassle and frustration you experienced during your recent stay with us. We strive to make every guests' stay a pleasant one and apologize this was not your impression. We will share your comments on noise and service with our team and use them as we work towards our brand standard quality hospitality. The next time you are in the area we hope you will return to stay with us so we may show you the level of service and stay you expect from our family of hotels.

Thank you,

Kellie A. Cahill, CMP
NYCNH_DS@hilton.com
New York Hilton Midtown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these New York City hotels

New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed June 14, 2013

uggly hotel. horrible service, small bathroom, it takes hours to take an elevator. crowded and expensive for the value. bar is horrible too
i should have stayed at the london one block away and similar price

Room Tip: dont come to this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank manuel a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kek98, Director of Sales at New York Hilton Midtown, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Manuel,

Please accept our sincere apologies for the poor experience you had during your recent stay with us. We strive to make every guests' visit a pleasant one and we regret this was not your impression. We value your input and will use it as we work to improve our guests' experience and hope to have a second chance the next time you are in the area.

Thank you,

NYCNH_DS@hilton.com
New York Hilton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Hilton Times Square
Hilton Times Square
#105 of 467 in New York City
6,698 reviews
Midtown
Warwick New York
Warwick New York
#100 of 467 in New York City
4,285 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
#155 of 467 in New York City
7,000 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Hilton Club - New York
The Hilton Club - New York
#217 of 467 in New York City
631 reviews
Midtown
Grand Hyatt New York
Grand Hyatt New York
#322 of 467 in New York City
8,571 reviews
Midtown
Park Central Hotel New York
Park Central Hotel New York
#262 of 467 in New York City
4,538 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New York Hilton Midtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New York Hilton Midtown

Property: New York Hilton Midtown
Address: 1335 Avenue of the Americas, 6th Avenue at 54th Street, New York City, NY 10019-6078
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#70 Green Hotel in New York City
#201 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#240 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — New York Hilton Midtown 4*
Number of rooms: 1932
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A sophisticated international hotel designed for both the business and leisure traveler, the New York Hilton Midtown is located in the midst of New York City’s business headquarters and media centers, conveniently near Rockefeller Center, Radio City Music Hall, and the Museum of Modern Art, just one block from Fifth Avenue shopping, and a short stroll to Times Square, Broadway theatres, Central Park, and many more cultural attractions for which New York is famous. Equipped with modern conveniences to meet all your business and travel needs, the hotel features extensive facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hilton Hotels Direct, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your New York Hilton Midtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton New York Hotel New York City
Hilton New York City
New York Hilton
New York City Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing