We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Nice location but awful customer service and rooms!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of New York Hilton Midtown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
New York Hilton Midtown
Ranked #331 of 475 Hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersBronze level
Virginia Water, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Nice location but awful customer service and rooms!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights before checking out and moving to another hotel! On arrival we were greeted by a rude member of staff who rushed to check us in and send us on our way. We were sent to a standard room despite having booked an executive room - after having traveled for 16 hours my patience was wearing thin. After returning to reception we were moved to another room but told the room we had booked was not available that night - not pleased! The room was very small and dark, the bath was tiny and i could have done a better job cleaning the room myself. On waking we were greeted by the loud noise of the housekeeping staff which continued for 3 hours every morning as they ran up and down the corridors shouting at each other. We did not try any of the food at the hotel. Despite being a Hilton Honours member we did not receive free WIFI despite asking several times - since returning home we are aware that WIFI was included in our package but they are incredibly unhelpful! If you try to contact the concierge from the room, they NEVER answer the phone! On visiting the concierge downstairs to find out how long it would take to get to a restaurant by taxi we were told to take a subway!! We did point out that we didn't want to take the subway but she was adamant that i should and made sure i felt stuck up and spoilt - i was on holiday!! If the hotel was not in such a great location we would have left after the first night... instead we left after the third! The gym is the best feature of this hotel and has a great view. This Hilton hotel is not of the same calibre as any other Hilton hotel i have stayed in.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LuxuryTraveller111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kek98, Director of Sales at New York Hilton Midtown, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Please accept our sincere apologies for the hassle and frustration you experienced during your recent stay with us. We strive to make every guests' stay a pleasant one and apologize this was not your impression. We will share your comments on noise and service with our team and use them as we work towards our brand standard quality hospitality. The next time you are in the area we hope you will return to stay with us so we may show you the level of service and stay you expect from our family of hotels.

Thank you,

Kellie A. Cahill, CMP
NYCNH_DS@hilton.com
New York Hilton Midtown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8,721 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,068
    3,372
    1,929
    887
    465
See reviews for
2,515
1,921
418
2,346
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,592)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

uggly hotel. horrible service, small bathroom, it takes hours to take an elevator. crowded and expensive for the value. bar is horrible too
i should have stayed at the london one block away and similar price

Room Tip: dont come to this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank manuel a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kek98, Director of Sales at New York Hilton Midtown, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Manuel,

Please accept our sincere apologies for the poor experience you had during your recent stay with us. We strive to make every guests' visit a pleasant one and we regret this was not your impression. We value your input and will use it as we work to improve our guests' experience and hope to have a second chance the next time you are in the area.

Thank you,

NYCNH_DS@hilton.com
New York Hilton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these New York City hotels

Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

Fantastic hotel, truly capturing the essence of Manhattan! We stayed for 10 nights in a deluxe queen sized bedroom, and could not have wished for a better hotel in which to enjoy our first trip to New York.
Bedrooms were lovely, airy, modern and spacious. The bed was the best I have ever slept in as far as hotels go. Our room was kept spotlessly clean throughout our stay, and had all the amenities you could wish for. Also had a lovely bathroom, offering bath and shower, and had complimentary Crabtree& evelyn toiletries replenished on a daily basis. Lovely touch for pampering yourself after a hectic day sightseeing and shopping
Eating in the hotel was ridiculously expensive, particularly for what you got to eat; cafes and restaurants on the hotel's doorstep offer far better value for money in terms of quality and
ambience, which to me is the whole point of coming to the Big Apple, for the atmosphere and variety of cafes, restaurants & bars on every street corner.
Location was exceptional, literally 2 minutes walk from 5th Avenue, Museum of Modern Art, Rockefeller Centre, Radio City Hall, and 5 minutes walk from Central Park.
Would highly recommend this hotel, and would certainly stay here again.

Good Tip: don't book directly through Hilton website; we booked through lastminute.com and got our 10 nights £1000 cheaper than booking direct.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephanie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harriman, TN
Level Contributor
57 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

Very nice hotel, very busy but staff seems to keep up with all requests. Very clean rooms and great location. We were there to visit our daughter who was playing Carnegie Hall. There were taxi's on every corner, very convenient. Several good eating placing within walking distance of the hotel. The hotel has many amenities and sundries in the event you forgot something. Nice restaurant, especially for breakfast.

Room Tip: Close to businesses, art museums, taxi at every corner. Downtown and close to nice restaurants as w...
See more room tips
Green Features: Use a green towel and green sheet method of not changing or replacing everyday unless guest request it.
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CynthiaTN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

This hotel is big, noisy and in need of a major facelift. The staff are extremely friendly though, and the location is great. We booked as part of a Hilton Vacation Club promotion, what a mistake!!! Our appointment was for 1:30pm and the sales person didn't show up until 2:30. He was relentless, and wouldn't let us go, until finally at 4 pm, I said I'd had enough!! What a waste of a beautiful afternoon in New York.
We had pre-booked a king room 2 months before, but upon our arrival were told that all the king rooms were gone. I am a honors gold member, and asked for a room with executive lounge access, but there were none left. So beware, if you are gold, but do not have an executive room booked, you are not allowed in the lounge. What's the point of having a gold card then?
The rooms are old, dated and tired, but are clean. The lobby is like Grand Central!!! So many people. We stayed for 2 nights, then moved to the Grand Hyatt. It is a lovely hotel, that has had a complete facelift. Much nicer.
The New York Hilton is OK, with a great location, but there are much better hotels in Manhattan.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KimberleyToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Currumbin, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

We were on the 35 th floor and had great views, could see Central Park. The room was clean the bed comfortable but no bar fridge. The position of the Hilton is great. Walking distance to Central Park, top of the rock, radio city music hall, Times Square, subway, fifth avenue.... By australian standards 400. Is a lot for a basic room but I guess by New York standards its not. Anyway glad we stayed here because of the convenience. The staff were friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: The higher the better
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Oceanblue_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandler, Arizona
Level Contributor
41 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

I have read many reviews on here that are disappointed this hotel is not a 5 star. I would agree with that assessment. But I cannot say I was disappointed at all with my recent stay. I was treated very well and the location is simply great. It's walking distance to most anywhere if you are inclined to hoof it.

Yes, the hotel is older but I really can't complain about how the place looks. Service was good and facilities seemed in great shape. Maybe I'm not that picky or perhaps I just don't care about little things.

Judging by how busy the lobby was at all times of the day, I think many other folks share my sentiment of the midtown hilton.

I would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelscout1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Hilton Times Square
Hilton Times Square
#95 of 475 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 5,652 reviews
Midtown
Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel
Sheraton New York Times Square H...
#299 of 475 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 5,732 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
#134 of 475 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 6,179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Hilton Club - New York
The Hilton Club - New York
#144 of 475 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 516 reviews
Midtown
Warwick New York Hotel
Warwick New York Hotel
#91 of 475 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 3,744 reviews
Midtown
Grand Hyatt New York
Grand Hyatt New York
#304 of 475 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 7,151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New York Hilton Midtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New York Hilton Midtown

Property: New York Hilton Midtown
Address: 1335 Avenue of the Americas, 6th Avenue at 54th Street, New York City, NY 10019-6078
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#67 Green Hotel in New York City
#202 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#243 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — New York Hilton Midtown 4*
Number of rooms: 1932
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A sophisticated international hotel designed for both the business and leisure traveler, the New York Hilton Midtown is located in the midst of New York City’s business headquarters and media centers, conveniently near Rockefeller Center, Radio City Music Hall, and the Museum of Modern Art, just one block from Fifth Avenue shopping, and a short stroll to Times Square, Broadway theatres, Central Park, and many more cultural attractions for which New York is famous. Equipped with modern conveniences to meet all your business and travel needs, the hotel features extensive facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels, Expedia, Cancelon, Hotwire, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, getaroom.com and Hotels.com so you can book your New York Hilton Midtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton New York Hotel New York City
Hilton New York City
New York Hilton
New York City Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing