We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It is OK but I would look for other options in the future”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
New York Hilton Midtown
Ranked #323 of 468 Hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed May 15, 2013

This hotel is very well located, just 1 block from the main area of the 5th Avenue. It is a giant hotel, Rooms are fine but they are old in my opinion. Furniture, equipments, curtains, wall paper and carpet shoudl all be renewed. The same applies to the bathroom whish is fine but makes you feel you are in the 90's. The gym is really great. Considering the cost of the night they do not evene provide free internet. You are mostly paying for the Hilton brand and the location. I will look for other better value for money options in the future.

Room Tip: Ask for top floors.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Borboroglu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kek98, Director of Sales at New York Hilton Midtown, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share feedback on your recent stay with us via TripAdvisor. We appreciate your honest input and we will keep your comments in mind as we look towards future refresh options. We hope you will return to stay with us the next time you are in the city so we may show you the quality service and amenities you have come to expect from our family of hotels.

Thank you,
NYCNH_DS@Hilton.com
Director of Marketing
Kellie Cahill

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (10,382)
There are newer reviews for New York Hilton Midtown
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

5,663 - 5,669 of 10,385 reviews

Reviewed May 15, 2013

This was a great place to stay. Right in the heart of Manhattan & in within walking distance of 5th Ave shops, Radio City Music Hall, Times Square, & Rockefeller Center. Concierge was very helpful & the Show Desk did great at setting up reservations & giving info about shows. The Restaurant was not the greatest - was closed nearly everytime we wanted to eat there, but the one time we did it was very expensive for what you got (worse than usual hotel restaurant). Rooms were just normal clean rooms, nothing exciting. LOCATION IS THE BEST THING GOING FOR IT. Was there for a conference & those facilities were satisfactory. They had Diet Coke available to drink & that goes a long way in whether I like the hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RondaB4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kek98, Director of Sales at New York Hilton Midtown, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2013

Thank you so much for review of the hotel. We appreciate our guests feedback and the loyalty of our customers. Glad you like the Diet coke!

Thank you

Kellie Cahill, NYCNH_DS@Hilton.com
New York Hilton Midtown
Kellie.Cahill@hilton.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2013

This is a great hotel in a great location just off Times Square but close to Cental Park, etc. This is the Hilton Flagship for us. We are NYer's living in NJ now, post 9/11, and when we like to stay in NYC this is always our first thought.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Robert V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2013 via mobile

Let me preface this review by saying I'm a Hilton Diamond member. I mention that only to give perspective to my commentary. I've stayed at lots of different Hilton hotels over the years. In big cities and small, large hotels and more moderate properties. It's been difficult lately to find a really good Hilton-branded hotel. Recently I've stayed at the Palmer House in Chicago, the Millenium Hilton in the Wall Street area in New York, and just this past weekend, the Midtown Hilton. All 3 of these hotels are given 4 diamonds by AAA, and are considered premium properties by Hilton. They're all over-rated in my estimation and should be over-looked if you want a great lodging experience in NYC. Their rooms are small and worn, and they charge a premium for them. Ok, they have room service and restaurants on premise, but that doesn't make up for small rooms and rundown furniture. I've been very disappointed with the Hiltons, and recently, the DoubleTree hotels nearly anywhere. They don't live up to the high-quality promise that used to distinguish a Hilton. They're tired and in need of Investment refreshing. I do love the Conrad Hotels however, and enthusiastically recommend the Chicago and New York Conrads.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank edwardaberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kek98, Director of Sales at New York Hilton Midtown, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2013

Thank you for your review of the New York Hilton. We are sorry to hear that you had a experience that did not live up to your expectations. The hotel is making some large improvements in the upcoming months that we hope that you will see that our brand and hotel is invested in our customers.

NYCNH_DS@hilton.com
Kellie A. Cahill
Director of Marketing
New York Hilton Midtown

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2013

Being part of the tourism industry it is my responsibility to write a review about my stay. I stayed at Hilton New York the first time on my honeymoon back on April 2012. I stayed for the second time for my first wedding anniversary from April 19-26 or a total of 8 days. I have to say it is a tremendous service, even though they have almost 2,000 rooms when you call to ask for something (housekeeping, engineering, etc) you just hang up the phone and the employee is practically at your door. I want to thank Mrs Agnes Torres for the wonderful attentions and to all the staff to keep up with the good service. Went to the Business center to print my tickets to the Yankees game and this guy named Orlando was very courteous and helped us with no problem. Thank you all for your attentions and I hope to visit Manhattan and Hilton New York real soon again.

All best to you

Room Tip: Higher rooms they have a tremendous view to the streets with skyscrapers all around
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JerryMt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2013

This hotel has a great location between Central Park and Times Square. There is a Starbuck's and a deli/market across the street for quick breakfast & food runs. Corner of 6th is also the home of the original Halal Brothers (great Greek food trucks). Theaters are a short walk and bank ATM's (Chase) are close by. It is a very large hotel, so the lobby tends to get very crowded, but elevator service is efficient. Concierge and entertainment desks were extremely knowledgeable and helpful. Beds/pillows are comfortable and there is a good temp control in the rooms. My only negatives would be the small size of bathrooms (very little counter space) and tiny waste cans (overflow daily).

Room Tip: Request a room on 35th or 36th floor for quick access via Express Elevators.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LSUGoose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2013

Hotel was good. Room was clean. Room size was average. Elevators were slow. Refrigerator is $35 extra per night. Parking is $51 overnight (>12 hours), but very convenient. Gift shop, restaurants were ample. Hotel location was great.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Elias P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kek98, Director of Sales at New York Hilton Midtown, responded to this reviewResponded May 24, 2013

Elias,

Thank you for sharing this quick feedback on your recent stay with us via TripAdvisor. We appreciate your input and will use your comments as we constantly evolve to best meet and exceed our guests' expectations. We hope you will return to stay with us the next time you visit the city and let us know how we are doing.

Thank you,
Kellie.Cahill@hilton.com
NYCNH_DS@hilton.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Hilton Times Square
Hilton Times Square
#108 of 468 in New York City
6,847 reviews
Midtown
Warwick New York
Warwick New York
#96 of 468 in New York City
4,369 reviews
Midtown
Park Central Hotel New York
Park Central Hotel New York
#267 of 468 in New York City
4,728 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Grand Hyatt New York
Grand Hyatt New York
#322 of 468 in New York City
8,808 reviews
Midtown
Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel
Sheraton New York Times Square H...
#286 of 468 in New York City
8,077 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
#144 of 468 in New York City
7,176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New York Hilton Midtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New York Hilton Midtown

Address: 1335 Avenue of the Americas, 6th Avenue at 54th Street, New York City, NY 10019-6078
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#69 Green Hotel in New York City
#203 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#237 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $264 - $636 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — New York Hilton Midtown 4*
Number of rooms: 1932
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A sophisticated international hotel designed for both the business and leisure traveler, the New York Hilton Midtown is located in the midst of New York City’s business headquarters and media centers, conveniently near Rockefeller Center, Radio City Music Hall, and the Museum of Modern Art, just one block from Fifth Avenue shopping, and a short stroll to Times Square, Broadway theatres, Central Park, and many more cultural attractions for which New York is famous. Equipped with modern conveniences to meet all your business and travel needs, the hotel features extensive facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelsClick so you can book your New York Hilton Midtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton New York Hotel New York City
Hilton New York City
New York Hilton
New York City Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing