We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceeded Expectations!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
New York Hilton Midtown
Ranked #324 of 473 Hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed April 29, 2013

Spent seven nights here in late April. Was expecting a "generic" big-hotel experience and was pleasantly surprised. The room (we had a king-deluxe) was very roomy - especially for NYC...very quiet - even the air conditioner was quiet - didn't cycle on and off all night like many other hotel rooms. The shower was great - the furnishings were upgraded and very modern, and the HD television was at least as good as our HDTV at home! The bed was soooo comfy. Can't beat the location...convenient to any subway, restaurants and points of interest. The housekeeping staff and the concierge as well as the front desk service was always courteous and friendly. I must admit that I initially wanted to stay in a "boutique" type hotel with more personality vs. a chain - but have absolutely no regrets about staying here. True, the lobby is always crowded and full of business people milling around - but when you're just walking through, it's no big deal! Only negative comment is that for the rates they charge, they shouldn't nickel and dime the WiFi and there's no complimentary coffee anywhere on the premises unless you're an "executive" or premium level guest. Fix that, and this would be five circles instead of 4.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hitripalewa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (10,835)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

6,086 - 6,092 of 10,835 reviews

Reviewed April 29, 2013

Aside from this obvious problem - no coffee in the room in a Hilton???? - this is a nice hotel. The location is great and the staff is nice. It's a HUGE hotel and has lots and lots going on. It's also under construction so, in addition to having no coffee in the room, the Starbucks that used to be located in the lobby, has closed. I complained loud enough before I came in that I was promised room service coffee complimentary. That was great. But, really - no coffee in the room??? I was told that "everyone is doing it." The only other restaurant that I've been to lately that didn't have coffee was another NY Hilton - the Doubletree not far from this one. Get it together Hilton! Coffee is not an "amenity" it's a necessity!

Room Tip: If you want coffee, call ahead and tell them you won't stay unless you can have coffee in your r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barbara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2013

Stayed at the Hilton New York to celebrate my wife's 50th Birthday. Excellent location close to everything, Central Park, Rockefeller Plaza, Radio City, etc. Really nice big rooms. Hilton even delivered Champagne and a box of chocolate's to the room as a gift for my wife's birthday which was a really nice touch. Room was really quiet which is unusual in New York, anywhere we have stayed in the past traffic noise always seemed to be an issue. Could have done without the phone messages inviting us to tour the timeshare part of the Hilton operation and its the first Hilton I have stayed in the did not provide bottled water or coffee making facilities in the room. But a five star experience none the less. Great Hotel, great location.

Room Tip: The higher floors are better,
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alanoneill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2013 via mobile

This hotel served as headquarters for a recent professional meeting. The fitness center exceeded my expectations with a large quantity of aerobic exercise equipment and weight equipment. The location provides easy access to MoMA and Radio City Music Hall. Many restaurants surround this area of Midtown.

The room offered a clean appearance and the bathroom sported a new sink and toilet. However, the tub looked to be older and small. The floor was to close for construction when I left, so maybe they will remodel.

I received a room upgrade for Hilton Honors. Executive level provides a free continental breakfast with some variety. I prefer Greek yogurt, however they did offer regular yogurt and boiled eggs for protein.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Burdett P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2013 via mobile

Perfect location between Central Park and Times Square. Near to Rockerfeller centre. I booked a deluxe room and asked for a quiet one which I got on 14th floor. Impressed by complete lack of noise from other residents given it is a large hotel. Room large and recently renovated, really comfy beds, large flat screen tv.
Can't comment on food as always ate out. Would stay here again given both quiet location by proximity to all main places of interest.

Thank merlinWestYorks
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed April 28, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at the New York Hilton. We had two rooms a double and a twin and both were a food size and well equipped. The rooms and the public areas were all clean and well kept. We stayed on the 27th floor and had no problems with noise. There is a place in the lobby where you can buy coffee and pastries so you don't need to go for a full breakfast if you don't want to. We went to a great diner (Astro) for breakfast just a couple of blocks up 6th Avenue in the direction of Central Park

The hotel is in a great location with Central Park, Times Square and the Rockefeller centre all within a few minutes walk. My daughter used the gym in the hotel which she said was very good.Would definately stay there again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Danny W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2013

Was really worried about this hotel after reading the reviews but needn't have worried. Check in was immediate. Room was ready at 2.30pm. Room was really nice and recently decorated. Bathroom was adequate enough with huge shower and, despite the comments, had plenty of storage space. Bed was the comfiest bed I have ever slept in. Never looked into the minibar so cannot comment. Location was absolutely spot on. Near to Central Park and also Times Square and all the subway stations to take you anywhere.

The only down side was the lack of tea and coffee. There is a Starbucks and plenty of other coffee shops nearby but I also took a travel kettle with some coffee!! Can't cope without my coffee !! There is a supermarket 1 block away to get milk. Hotel probably wouldn't like it though!!

We stayed in a deluxe king on 10th floor and had a good view.

Didn't eat in at all so can't comment.

All in all a brilliant weekend away for myself and my husband. Only down side was American Airlines but that's another story!!

Enjoy

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Louise703
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Warwick New York
Warwick New York
#113 of 473 in New York City
4,554 reviews
Midtown
Park Central Hotel New York
Park Central Hotel New York
#278 of 473 in New York City
5,075 reviews
Midtown
The Michelangelo Hotel
The Michelangelo Hotel
#44 of 473 in New York City
3,771 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hilton Times Square
Hilton Times Square
#117 of 473 in New York City
7,204 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
#142 of 473 in New York City
7,531 reviews
Midtown
New York Marriott Marquis
New York Marriott Marquis
#182 of 473 in New York City
11,571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New York Hilton Midtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New York Hilton Midtown

Address: 1335 Avenue of the Americas, 6th Avenue at 54th Street, New York City, NY 10019-6078
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#68 Green Hotel in New York City
#114 Family Hotel in New York City
#200 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $233 - $639 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — New York Hilton Midtown 4*
Number of rooms: 1932
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A sophisticated international hotel designed for both the business and leisure traveler, the New York Hilton Midtown is located in the midst of New York City’s business headquarters and media centers, conveniently near Rockefeller Center, Radio City Music Hall, and the Museum of Modern Art, just one block from Fifth Avenue shopping, and a short stroll to Times Square, Broadway theatres, Central Park, and many more cultural attractions for which New York is famous. Equipped with modern conveniences to meet all your business and travel needs, the hotel features extensive facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Priceline, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and HotelsClick so you can book your New York Hilton Midtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton New York Hotel New York City
Hilton New York City
New York Hilton
New York City Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing