We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, but time for a facelift”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
New York Hilton Midtown
Ranked #325 of 471 Hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed April 24, 2013

The location is great - walking distance to Times Square, Rockefeller Centre, Central Park and the numerous Metro/Subway locations. The rooms are small, but that is expected in New York City....but in need of a facelift....dirty carpets, tired walls, etc. However, the day that we checked out, the floor was being shut down for servicing, so that may be what is happening.

There are over 2000 rooms in the hotel, so there will always be lineups for taxis, check in and concierges. The concierge was very helpful in recommending restaurants for our group of 6.

I would definitely stay here again, for the amount of time that is spent in the room, the location is worth it

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ShelleyC12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kek98, Director of Sales at New York Hilton Midtown, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2013

Shelley,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay at our hotel. We appreciate your feedback and we’re very sorry you were disappointed in the look and feel of your guestroom. As you saw, we are in the process of refreshing our spaces and we hope to have another opportunity to show you the quality accommodations you expect from our brand, if your travels bring you back to our area in the future.

Thank you,

NYCNH_DS@hilton.com
New York Hilton Midtown

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (10,742)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

6,025 - 6,031 of 10,742 reviews

Reviewed April 23, 2013

When we arrived, first thing I did is to put our luggage in the bath tub and check the bedding.
I fou d that the sheets were used and the pillows dirty (disgusting), i called customer service and they fixed the issue quickly.
Next day half of the towels were not available again I called customer service and the fixed the issue quickly (this time they left double the number of tpwels :) )
The remainder of the stay every thing went well.
The hotel is old with a look of new. It looks like a tourist factory and has no life.
I found it cheap that the hotel does not offer internet in the room but only in the lobby. They could have made the fee a little bit cheaper (5$ per Day).
I wouldmgo there again if their prices are better.

Room Tip: High level rooms especially on the northern side will give you a better view of central park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Me M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2013

I have stayed numerous times in this hotel since my first trip as a child in the 1960s. Its location is ideal for both business and pleasure. Nevertheless its overall size can create traffic flow issues and long lines. The room amenities were a bit sparse. Being loyal Hilton rewards members, we chose to use points for our latest trip to NYC. Perhaps if we had paid for our room, we would have been placed in a recently renovated room. We were disappointed that the bathroom floor was not cleaned thoroughly. When we arrived at approximately 7 pm piles of sheets and towels littered the full length of the floor's hallway. (see picture of hallway near our room) After returning from dinner and a long stroll (approximately 11 pm) the unsightly piles remained. As Gold members, we were not provided any bottled water. Our call for bottled water remained unanswered. After talking to the manager the next day, we were told we would get a partial refund of our points for the first night. Although we thoroughly enjoyed the convenience of the location, we were disappointed with the quality of this landmark hotel.

Room Tip: NYC is noisy. A higher floor is recommended. Also, if the hotel is still being renovated, ask for a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sandyB56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kek98, Director of Sales at New York Hilton Midtown, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2013

Sandy,

Thank you for taking the time to share feedback on your recent stay with us via TripAdvisor. We appreciate your honest input and regret you were disappointed in our service and presentation. We value your opinion as a loyal HHonors member and we hope you will return to stay with us the next time you are in the area so we may show you the quality hospitality you expect from our brand.

Thank you,

Kellie A Cahill
New York Hilton Hotel
Kellie.Cahill@Hilton.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2013

We enjoyed a three night stay at the Hilton New York. The 1 bedroom suite was extremely spacious and very clean. The room was quiet and the morning continental breakfast was good. We encountered a minor issue with housekeeping. When we returned from the theater on our first night, we were not given enough towels for four people. We called and requested more towels around 11:00PM but did not receive them. We received the towels about a half hour later after we placed a second call. At 12:20, we were asleep and the same person who brought us towels at 11:30 brought more towels. When we mentioned this to the concierge the next morning, he responded "we don't hire the brightest people to work those hours." We were a bit taken aback by his response. I think Hilton needs to do a little more customer service training. The only other comment we have is about the designated smoking area for the hotel. It is located immediately to the left of the front entrance to the hotel. Every time you walk in or out of the hotel, you are engulfed in smoke. The area really needs to be moved. Even with these issues, the location of the hotel and spaciousness of the room makes up for these glitches.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PBBJFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2013

This is our 6th time here in the past 3 years. I am a New Yorker - over 30 years in Manhattan and now live across the river. I know NYC like the back-of-my-hand and this is the best location if you are visiting. Not too far "east" or too far "west". Neither "uptown or downtown"....very mid-town. Walking distance from all the things to do like 5th ave and MOMA and the theater. Blocks from Central Park and NBC Rockerfeller Center... The famous (from FoodChannel) truck the "Halel Guys" are on the corner. The hotel isn't huge (Marriott Marquis) and the staff is very professional. Even the hotel Taxi stand is more "civilized" than many of the other NY hotels. The parking in the building is quite convienent but pricey? 60.00 perday.
Now - the Hotel. We are HHoners members. We stayed in a newly "re-decorated" room (3849) and let me tell you it was GREAT! We spend at least 40 nights a year in hotels and they are all 5 star hotels so I am NOT comparing this to a Roadway INN. This room was amazing in the way the space was used. A free standing led lit closet with safe and iron and board built in. The shower has body sprays and the BEST SHOWER PRESSURE....room windows open a bit. Rare in the city. Lots of outlet areas and "work" stations....no fridge or mini bar but this is NYC and the best deli is across the street on 53 and 6th for anything you could ever need! Super comfy beds and nice BIG TV....there is a funky room divider giving it a separate space and enough large drawers!! We will be back in September.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 3grlsmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2013

I stayed here during the Christmas season using Hilton Honors points for a night to see the tree at Rockefeller.

The hotel overall was nice. We ordered room service (desserts) which were very tasty. The location was great as it was about a 5 minute walk to the tree and Times square. It's very close to restaurants.

The room was a bit on the smaller side but that's to be expected in NYC.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank victoriad1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2013

Nice enough hotel, great location, kind of short on the amenities - no fridge, no coffee maker in room, particularly for the price.

Main thing that struck us was how hard Hilton was trying to sell us on their membership club - kept getting asked if we wanted to come to a free breakfast (for 90 minutes) to hear the pitch - no no no, just here for one night and we didn't come for the Hilton.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PSoTD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kek98, Director of Sales at New York Hilton Midtown, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2013

Thank you for your review of your past stay with us. I always appreciate hearing from our guests – including places of improvement. I apologize that the comfort of your stay was interrupted by our team members and I have taken your comments to them to ensure that in the future we do a better job of respecting your space. The next time you have the opportunity to travel to the area I do hope that you will be our guest again so we may show you the quality hospitality you expect and deserve from our brand.

Thank you,
New York Hilton Hotel
NYCNH_DS@Hilton.com
Kellie Cahill

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Warwick New York
Warwick New York
#114 of 471 in New York City
4,517 reviews
Midtown
Park Central Hotel New York
Park Central Hotel New York
#275 of 471 in New York City
4,999 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Times Square
Hilton Times Square
#116 of 471 in New York City
7,118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Financial District
Millennium Hilton New York Downtown
Millennium Hilton New York Downt...
#226 of 471 in New York City
4,811 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn New York/West 35th Street
Midtown
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Metropolitan - New York City
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Metro...
#335 of 471 in New York City
5,095 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New York Hilton Midtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New York Hilton Midtown

Address: 1335 Avenue of the Americas, 6th Avenue at 54th Street, New York City, NY 10019-6078
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#69 Green Hotel in New York City
#115 Family Hotel in New York City
#203 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $196 - $495 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — New York Hilton Midtown 4*
Number of rooms: 1932
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A sophisticated international hotel designed for both the business and leisure traveler, the New York Hilton Midtown is located in the midst of New York City’s business headquarters and media centers, conveniently near Rockefeller Center, Radio City Music Hall, and the Museum of Modern Art, just one block from Fifth Avenue shopping, and a short stroll to Times Square, Broadway theatres, Central Park, and many more cultural attractions for which New York is famous. Equipped with modern conveniences to meet all your business and travel needs, the hotel features extensive facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your New York Hilton Midtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton New York Hotel New York City
Hilton New York City
New York Hilton
New York City Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing