We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
New York Hilton Midtown
Ranked #325 of 467 Hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersBronze level
Perth
Level Contributor
80 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2013

Great location, just off Times Square and central for most experiences in New York. The rooms are comfortable however; there is road noise even on 35th floor. Staff are very helpful and unusually for New York they aren't looking for tips. The good thing about Hilton is you know what standard to expect and you aren't often disappointed.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CameronsPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9,855 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,417
    3,774
    2,146
    994
    524
See reviews for
2,913
2,178
457
2,626
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,764)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Miami Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
81 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2013

New York Hilton is a good Hotel for the business traveler. In the heart of Midtown, close to convention center, shops, Time Square, theater district, etc. Shuttle service provided to the convention center which saved saves money on taxis. Plenty of taxis available 24/7 if need be.
Rooms were clean and comfortable. Only complaint is that the lobby is a large (open concept) but little to no sitting (no sofas or chairs) except for the lounge where you had to order drinks, etc. So, if you have to wait for a shuttle ride - you have to stand in the lobby or pay for a drink while you wait. Overall, a good place to stay for business. :)

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yoly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
141 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2013 via mobile

My husband & I stayed here for two nights as he is a Hilton member.
Location is perfect, close to Central Park & Times Square as well as most of the other tourist sites.
On arrival into our room we were severely disappointed, the bin in the bathroom had not been emptied, the towels were stained & overall the room was tiny and run down. Further to this the paint was peeling & falling away in the bathroom.
My husband complained the next morning as we did arrive late the night before & we were moved to another room & given complimentary full buffet breakfast. The new room was much more modern & in better condition.
As we do have loyalty with the Hilton group we did not have to pay for Internet or the gym so I cannot comment on the prices. The Internet was a good connection & we had no problems with it. The gym was spacious with plenty of cardio & weight equipment to use.
Also, beware of the elevators, they are so slow & cannot cater for many guests & you may have to wait awhile to use one.
Another point, if you need to store your luggage when you check out it is $3.50 per item.
Overall we were very disappointed with the condition of this hotel other than the location of it & the pleasant front staff who were very accommodating to our complaints.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacinta B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2013

We stayed at the Hilton early December 2012 and had a great time. The hotel is perfectly located for children with tired feet. The staff were very attentive however we did not eat in the hotel. On the right hand side outside of the hotel is a fabulous diner and catered for families. The hotel was clean and of a good size with two queen sized beds.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tash12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jay, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2013

Sorry Hilton but your hotel has gone down hill since my stay last year.
I'am a professional cleaner myself and I will have to say Your hotel does not live up to my standards and I think it's fair to say anyone's standards.
When we walked in first thing to see was coffee all over the wall and they said they had just cleaned it..
Some tissue paper under the bed.
Bathroom counter very small..Bathroom cabinet that holds hair dryer had dirt on the woodwork, dirt on the outside of tub. warning if you are taking a shower and you look up at the vent keep month closed it is so full of dust and dirt. Towels have stains on them...
Carpet stained and makes a crispy sound under your feet ( I think it's time for carpet shampoo)
Wallpaper is coming off in some areas..
They also took out coffee makers and mini frig. I can do without the frig but the coffee I mean for the price they could at least offer a free coffee from the stand downstairs...
We also didn't have clean glasses after our room was cleaned the second day,they never replace them...Called to have some brought up to the room still no glasses after 45 min, and talking to them twice about getting some to our room still no glasses, so I found some on my own.
So sorry to be so negative but I feel if you are going to charge what you do you could at least make sure the room is clean and a cup of coffee.
I will say the bed was comfortable. That's all I can say that was nice about my room.

Room Tip: If they give you room 2039 ask for a different room..
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MissyMcd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kek98, Director of Sales at New York Hilton Midtown, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience with us on TripAdvisor. We are so sorry for the housekeeping issues you encountered and we are working with our team to address and prevent similar missteps in the future. We know our guests deserve the best in comfort and cleanliness and we regret this was not your experience. We hope you will return to stay with us again the next time you are in the area so we can show you the quality accommodations you expect and deserve from us.

Thank you,

Kellie Ann Cahill, CMP
Director of Sales and Marketing
Hilton New York
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these New York City hotels

Lehigh Valley, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
294 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2013

Hotels in New York are expensive and the Hilton is no exception, but I expect a premium experience for the price. The good news is the location is convenient, the rooms clean and the bed was comfortable. The downsides while perhaps minor, add up to a less than stellar hotel.
The faucet in the bathroom dripped constantly, there was rust around the sink drain, some of the wallpaper in the room was peeling and the hook on the bathroom door was broken off, so that you could not hang up a wet towel. Perhaps it is time for an upgrade and while they are at it, better soundproofing between rooms would be a plus. Another related issue is the volume of loud sirens and honking horns (while on the 26th floor) in the middle of the night, I would suggest some type of sound buffering windows would improve sleep quality and relaxation of their guests. When I called the concierge Sunday morning it rang almost 20 times before it was answered and then I was put on hold for 5 minutes. This is not a way of saying I value your business, please come again. Our room was not available when we arrived, so my wife waited at the bar area, while I took care of some business. When I arrived back, we ordered some Chipotle wings (since we had not had lunch). They tasted straight out of the freezer, were sweet instead of spicy and were overcooked. Finally if you come by car, expect your parking rates to be as exorbitant as the room rates ($51.00 per day), if you do not mind a short walk there are several less expensive parking garages within a few hundred feet of the hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank daanddo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kek98, Director of Sales at New York Hilton Midtown, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
We are so sorry to hear that you were disappointed in the value and appointment of our hotel during your recent visit. We strive to provide the best in service and accommodations to all of our valued guests and we regret this was not your experience. We will keep your comments on noise and dining items in mind as we constantly look for ways to improve our guests' satisfaction and we hope to have another opportunity to show you the quality hospitality experience you expect and deserve from us the next time to visit the city.

Thank you,
Kellie Ann Cahill, CMP
Director of Sales and Marketing
Hilton New York
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centreville, Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2013

I booked and prepaid for a King bed room. When I checked in they did not have any available. I received two complementary breakfast passes so I accepted the Queen bed room. The room was in bad shape. Peeling paint in the bathroom. Holes in the bed sheets. Scratched up bathtub with a broken drain stop. They charge $14 for their wireless internet. The restaurant had rusting metal curtains that stank.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nouman F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kek98, Director of Sales at New York Hilton Midtown, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience with us on TripAdvisor. We are so sorry that your requested room type was unavailable at check-in and that the condition of the alternative room assigned was unacceptable. We understand your disappointment and we are working with our housekeeping and maintenance teams to correct and prevent similar issues moving forward. We hope you will consider staying with us again so we can show you the quality accommodations you deserve should you travel to our area in the future.

Thank you,
Kellie Ann Cahill, CMP
Hilton New York
Kellie.Cahill@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Hilton Times Square
Hilton Times Square
#102 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,461 reviews
Midtown
Warwick New York
Warwick New York
#91 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,138 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
#145 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,789 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Hilton Club - New York
The Hilton Club - New York
#196 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 601 reviews
Midtown
Grand Hyatt New York
Grand Hyatt New York
#314 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 8,240 reviews
Financial District
Millenium Hilton
Millenium Hilton
#234 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New York Hilton Midtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New York Hilton Midtown

Property: New York Hilton Midtown
Address: 1335 Avenue of the Americas, 6th Avenue at 54th Street, New York City, NY 10019-6078
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#70 Green Hotel in New York City
#200 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#242 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — New York Hilton Midtown 4*
Number of rooms: 1932
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A sophisticated international hotel designed for both the business and leisure traveler, the New York Hilton Midtown is located in the midst of New York City’s business headquarters and media centers, conveniently near Rockefeller Center, Radio City Music Hall, and the Museum of Modern Art, just one block from Fifth Avenue shopping, and a short stroll to Times Square, Broadway theatres, Central Park, and many more cultural attractions for which New York is famous. Equipped with modern conveniences to meet all your business and travel needs, the hotel features extensive facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your New York Hilton Midtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton New York Hotel New York City
Hilton New York City
New York Hilton
New York City Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing