We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
New York Hilton Midtown
Ranked #325 of 467 Hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersBronze level
Dubai
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Location”
Reviewed February 16, 2013

You drop out of the lobby and you are close to Times Square on one side and the central park on the other. The Train lines are just on the corner. Lots of places to eat around the place. A Deli right at the bottom of the hotel on the 53rd was very convenient. We had the Hop on Hop off bus stops right within a 5 min walk and so we hardly used the taxi. The hotel however was quite crowded and the rooms a little antiquated. Obviously Manhattan is an expensive place ! For the price we paid, we expected better. Service was brisk and businesslike. I still wouldn't mind staying over again just because of the location.

Room Tip: Rooms on the front side have a good view. Otherwise you will be stuck on the side roads.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shiv_traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10,150 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,498
    3,887
    2,207
    1,009
    549
See reviews for
3,015
2,248
465
2,696
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,794)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lansdale, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
299 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at the Hilton Times Square last month & thought I would try this place this time around. This one needs some work. Is basically now a hotel for novice travelers. Rugs in the room needed cleaning & so did the dust ruffle. Staff was pleasant (by NY standards anyhow) but rooms even on the executive level were a bit small. Sleep quality was good however as the noise level was low. Breakfast area for the exec level is a bit cramped & they kept running out of coffee but the breakfast selections were fairly good. Valet parking was decent as well as they have a garage attached to the hotel. Great location with plenty to do nearby.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank babcme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kek98, Director of Sales at New York Hilton Midtown, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and sharing your kind words and constructive feedback. We appreciate your input and we will keep your comments in mind as we constantly work to improve our guests' satisfaction. We hope you will consider staying with us again the next time you visit the area so we might show you the improved accommodations you expect and deserve from our brand.

Thank you,

Kellie Ann Cahill, CMP
Director of Marketing
Hilton New York
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, D.C.
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2013

I love the location of this hotel! It's only a block from MOMA, several blocks from Central Park, walking distance from Times Square and the Theatre District, near a subway station, and near Rockefeller Center (lots of shops there -- Lego store, Nintendo Store, bakeries, and NBC Today show). You can walk to ALL of these places and not even have to take the subway! There are plenty of shops and restaurants nearby (Magnolia bakery is nearby). There are even food carts right outisde and a good deli across the street. Penn Station is about an $8 10-15 minute cab ride (maybe 20 blocks). You can also take the subway,but lugging your luggage up and down the stairs to the subway is a pain. The rooms are very nice and roomy by NYC standards. The bathroom is small but has everything you need. My only complaint is that the room didn't have a mini fridge or any fridge at all and there's no microwave or even a coffee maker in the room. Despite the location, the room was quiet save for the sounds coming from adjoining rooms. The walls can be a little thin. I would definitely recommend this hotel and will stay here on my next trip to NYC. Staff is friendly (concierge and housekeeping). Great hotel!

Room Tip: Ask for a room furthest from the elevators if you want something more quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JasKalBrn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawaii
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2013

As always my stay at this hotel was great. The location can't be beat, it's close to theaters, shops, etc. this last stay was during a snow storm. I was glad I was at this hotel for the duration. Staff friendly and helpful. Room was clean though a bit out dated, I suppose this time I ended up in one of the rooms not yet renovated. In my opinion the location makes up for any shortfalls.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Portia123Hawaii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kek98, Director of Sales at New York Hilton Midtown, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and sharing your kind words in your review. We are glad to have met your needs and we look forward to having you back the next time you visit the city.

Thank you again!

Kellie Ann Cahill, CMP
Director of Sales and Marketing
Kellie.Cahill@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sewell NJ
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2013

My wife and I were in town for the Westminster Dog Show - and stayed for 3 nights. Hotel was very well located for access to both the Pier 92/94 day location and Madison Square Garden for the finals, plus dining and a wonderful walk through Central Park in the newly fallen snow. A definite plus for the executive lounge and floors - got a better view (higher floor), continental breakfast, snacks, coffee and light pre-dinner snacks, and free wifi. Staff throughout the hotel were very friendly. Room was ok - would prefer free internet access at this price point, but all in all a very nice stay. Property is showing some signs of wear, but attentive and friendly staff more than made up for it.

Room Tip: If it fits your budget - go for the executive floors - the convenience of the continental breakfast...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CivilWarNut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2013

This hotel has been renovated and is very well appointed. The rooms are spacious and very comfortable. This is a VERY large hotels and caters to conventions and business conferences so expect the lobby and elevators to be busy. The staff is none the less courteous and efficient.

This hotel is about five block from Central Park, about two blocks from Broadway and you can see Rockefeller Center and Radio City Music Hall from the front of the Hotel.

When I stayed, the restaurant was closed and they tried to make due with serving food in the bar. Not at all adequate. However, this is NYC and there are diners and restaurants on every block.

One final note: This is the only Hilton (I'm an HHonors Member at elite status) I've stayed in that doesn't put coffee pots in the rooms. I heard several guests asking for tea kettles to heat water.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DocBrien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
Reviewed February 14, 2013

I stay at a varying quality range of hotels, depending on the area visiting and amount of time spent on the property. During this trip I stayed at a Fairfield inn, Candlewood suites, and the Hilton New York. The quality of the rooms were the same or lower at the Hilton- as mentioned elsewhere- no refrig or mini coffee maker/microwave. The ice machine is in a back alley looking room with a dirty sink service elevator (I'm assuming) and someone's left over lunch, and you felt as if you were being set up to get mugged. There was no 'welcome' water or thank you for staying.... during 5 days my key had to be replaced 3 times because they kept 'checking me out' then you get messages to come to the honors desk for a free gift and then are so sorry because you aren't in the target group- (look it up first) The prices are embarassing as if trying to deter patrons from remaining there for meals, or purchasing from the gift shop. Additionally, the 'guaranteed rate' to the airport of $54 with the taxi that they whistle over- is a lie, the guy charged me over $60 and didn't even assist with the bags.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SWF55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kek98, Director of Sales at New York Hilton Midtown, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share feedback on your recent stay with us via TripAdvisor. We apologize you were disappointed in our value and amenities and we will work with our team to ensure we are providing the best hotel experience possible for every guest. We appreciate your input as it will help us in our constant evolution to best meet and exceed our guests expectations. We hope you will consider staying with us again the next time you visit the city so we can provide the quality stay you have come to expect from our brand.

Kellie Ann Cahill, CMP
Hilton New York
Kellie.Cahill@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Hilton Times Square
Hilton Times Square
#106 of 467 in New York City
6,698 reviews
Midtown
Warwick New York
Warwick New York
#101 of 467 in New York City
4,286 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
#155 of 467 in New York City
7,000 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Hilton Club - New York
The Hilton Club - New York
#211 of 467 in New York City
631 reviews
Midtown
Grand Hyatt New York
Grand Hyatt New York
#324 of 467 in New York City
8,571 reviews
Midtown
Park Central Hotel New York
Park Central Hotel New York
#262 of 467 in New York City
4,538 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New York Hilton Midtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New York Hilton Midtown

Property: New York Hilton Midtown
Address: 1335 Avenue of the Americas, 6th Avenue at 54th Street, New York City, NY 10019-6078
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#70 Green Hotel in New York City
#201 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#240 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — New York Hilton Midtown 4*
Number of rooms: 1932
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A sophisticated international hotel designed for both the business and leisure traveler, the New York Hilton Midtown is located in the midst of New York City’s business headquarters and media centers, conveniently near Rockefeller Center, Radio City Music Hall, and the Museum of Modern Art, just one block from Fifth Avenue shopping, and a short stroll to Times Square, Broadway theatres, Central Park, and many more cultural attractions for which New York is famous. Equipped with modern conveniences to meet all your business and travel needs, the hotel features extensive facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your New York Hilton Midtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton New York Hotel New York City
Hilton New York City
New York Hilton
New York City Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing