We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrid.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
New York Hilton Midtown
Ranked #326 of 469 Hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed January 4, 2013

If you stay in this grubby place you too can have an executive room at $246 per night and $14 on top for internet. There is no fridge in the executive room I use and the filthy windows are suicide proof so you cannot balance your cola tins on a window sill to keep cool. Mind you, the room temperature will do that for you, more on that later. Downstairs in the lobby it's like a bus terminus. You have to make your way to the elevators, stepping across the hordes spread eagled across the lobby floor fiddling in the internet. Once in your executive room you may be astounded by the inefficiency of the heating system on a freezing New York day. I've seen lavatory cubicles for wheel chair users that are larger than an executive bathroom. Once you've tried the bath shower combo and its slippery bath tub surface, you'll be fortunate if you don't need a wheel chair yourself. Once you've stepped gingerly from such a dangerous piece of bath ware onto the awaiting floor, you too can have the pleasure of drying yourself with a bath towel that, once white, is now as now gray with something too libellous to septiculate upon. Of course, I have no idea whether anywhere else in Midtown would be better at half the price and the staff are perfectly pleasant but I'd prefer to pay more next time in Manhattan and not stay at this Hilton again.

Room Tip: I'm not sure that there are any good rooms if mine was anything to go by.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Poisonwells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kek98, Director of Sales at New York Hilton Midtown, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2013

Please accept our sincere apologies for the poor experience you had with us recently. We strive to provide our guests the best in comfort and class and we regret this was not your impression. We have shared your comments on the condition of your guest and bathroom with our facilities team who are performing any necessary maintenance to your room. We are sorry to hear of any discomfort you encountered in your space and hope that our friendly and welcoming staff was able to somewhat mitigate the disappointment. The next time you find yourself in New York City, we hope you will consider staying with us again so we might show you the quality service and surroundings you expect and deserve from us.

Thank you,
Kellie Cahill, CMP
Hilton New York
NYCNH_DS@hilton.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (10,563)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

6,166 - 6,172 of 10,563 reviews

Reviewed January 4, 2013

What a dissapointment...this hotel needs a facelift and major renovations on top of the service improvement. We stayed there in December, you would expect that NY is so festive and the staff of the hotel would make your experience special. It was not good, the atmosphere was very hectic and not pleasant. This hotel is constantly booked for conferences so if you have other options, make sure you take those.....you don't want to be one of 2000 something guests, they don't care. Room service was horrible, we were too exhausted to go anywhere and we should have as the food was less than mediocre. We stayed there because of wi-fi and you had to pay for everything, internet, gym, anything additional. Would not recommend this hotel to anyone, even though this is a good location, there are better places for your money.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Yeugenia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kek98, Director of Sales at New York Hilton Midtown, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2013

Jenya,

Thank you for sharing feedback on your recent stay with us. We are sorry to hear you were disappointed in the service and value of our hotel and were further upset that you felt our staff was uncaring to your situation. We strive to make every guest feel valued and welcome and we regret this was not your impression. I have shared your comments on the quality of your in-room dining with our culinary team and brought your concerns on the additional fees for amenities to the appropriate staff members. We hope to have another chance to show you the value in staying with us beyond our convenient location, the next time you visit the city.

Thank you,



Thank you,
Kellie Cahill, CMP
Hilton New York
NYCNH_DS@hilton.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2013

Tiny old rooms - grandmother bathrooms, creaky old beds... Something out of the 80s. Bar is nice and sizey bit terribly expensive which is understandable for location but not with the mediocre service and bar menu. Location is good of course and why most people choose it but as I mentioned beware of the motel style rooms! To get round that book one of the executive club rooms and slightly higher cost which have been updated. Just frustrating Hilton is still allowing customers to book into the Antony Bates style rooms!

Room Tip: Executive club
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gibsonel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kek98, Director of Sales at New York Hilton Midtown, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2013

Thank you for sharing your candid feedback on your recent stay with us. We appreciate your honest evaluation of our rooms and apologize you were not pleased with their current appointments. We assure you we do plan to upgrade all of our rooms to match the executive level's style and we will keep your suggestions for a better overall guest experience in mind as we make plans to do so. We hope you will stay with us again and enjoy our new guestroom experience, should you return to New York City in the future.

Thank you,

Kellie Cahill, CMP
NYCNH_DS@hilton.com
Hilton New York

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2013

This is the 5th hotel we have stayed in over the past 4 weeks and it was by far the worst. We paid a lot of money to stay somewhere especially nice over New Year's Eve and we were so disappointed by the overall standard of the hotel that we even complained. The room was tiny, the reception staff rude and the porters even insulted us when we were checking out. I have never stayed in a 5 star hotel before that does not provide tean and coffee making facilities in the room. The internet in our room was a joke, and the bar area was filthy. The queue at reception every time we walked past was at least 20 people long, and when we checked out it took us almost 30mins. I really would not recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mike Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2013

Stayed here for 9 nights. No free internet which seems old fashioned as everyone then sits on the floor in the lobby as we did. Restaurant and lobby bar understaffed. We checked in late and they didnt have the right room for us so had to make up a sofa bed. The man who bought the linen just dumped it and left so we had to unfold the bed and make it up. We were promised a change of room and no one ever contacted us about it. Thought the theatre ticket sales desk was interested in making a profit not in providing the best information to guests. Good location but not a great hotel although probably ok for what it offers.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Twistedtiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kek98, Director of Sales at New York Hilton Midtown, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2013

Thank you for staying with us and sharing feedback via TripAdvisor. We are sorry for the mistaken room assignment and poor service you encountered from our front desk and housekeeping personnel and we will use your experience as part of our on-going training to provide the best guest service possible. We hope to have another opportunity to show you the quality service and accommodations you deserve should you return to the city in the future. If I may be of any assistance or if you would like to discuss your stay further, please feel free to contact us directly.

Thank you,


Kellie Ann Cahill, CMP
Director of Sales and Marketing
Hilton New York
NYCNH_DS@hilton.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2013

We had an upgraded room which was very nice and on the 29 Floor. The room was quiet and the room generally cleaned well and very comfortable. The only downside is the overcrowded lobby which reminds one of a busy railway station. Most people were either sitting on the floor eating a Big Mac or lying somewhere on the sides of the lobby connecting to the free Internet access ( that is charged to residents in the rooms). All round it was a pleasant experience once outside the lobby.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CapeTownAl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2013

We went to spend christmas in New York for the 1st time and stayed at the Hilton New York, although it was crowded at check in time we understood this was due to the busy period. We had requested certain things for our stay to be extra special and Ameila one of the guest services was amazingly great, every box was ticked and our stay was fantastic, the room was spacious and very clean, the conceige service was brilliant too they knew more than taxi drivers!
We stayed on the 22nd floor and the views were great

Would definitely stay here again, thank you Hilton New York.

Room Tip: Having a room higher up will give you fab views of New York
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sony1106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Warwick New York
Warwick New York
#110 of 469 in New York City
4,451 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Times Square
Hilton Times Square
#111 of 469 in New York City
6,993 reviews
Midtown
Park Central Hotel New York
Park Central Hotel New York
#270 of 469 in New York City
4,878 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City
Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - ...
#334 of 469 in New York City
4,967 reviews
Financial District
Millennium Hilton New York Downtown
Millennium Hilton New York Downt...
#217 of 469 in New York City
4,718 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn New York/West 35th Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New York Hilton Midtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New York Hilton Midtown

Address: 1335 Avenue of the Americas, 6th Avenue at 54th Street, New York City, NY 10019-6078
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#69 Green Hotel in New York City
#206 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#237 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $192 - $649 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — New York Hilton Midtown 4*
Number of rooms: 1932
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A sophisticated international hotel designed for both the business and leisure traveler, the New York Hilton Midtown is located in the midst of New York City’s business headquarters and media centers, conveniently near Rockefeller Center, Radio City Music Hall, and the Museum of Modern Art, just one block from Fifth Avenue shopping, and a short stroll to Times Square, Broadway theatres, Central Park, and many more cultural attractions for which New York is famous. Equipped with modern conveniences to meet all your business and travel needs, the hotel features extensive facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Cancelon, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelsClick so you can book your New York Hilton Midtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton New York Hotel New York City
Hilton New York City
New York Hilton
New York City Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing