We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful restaurant, delicious food, touristy but who cares”
Review of Buddakan

Buddakan
Reserve with OpenTable
Buddakan is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #71 of 13,743 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $50 - $50
Cuisines: Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Bar scene, Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Chelsea
Cross street: 16th Street
Transit: A,C,E to 14th Street. L to 8th Ave.
Description: The surreal atmosphere of this awe-inspiring restaurant in the Meatpacking district of Manhattan combines the serenity of Asia with the flamboyance of 16th century Paris. The menu features fanciful interpretations of Chinese dishes and delights even the most discriminating palates.
Redding, Connecticut
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Beautiful restaurant, delicious food, touristy but who cares”
Reviewed July 30, 2014

Gorgeous entry area. Food was high quality and delicious. Waiter was polite, efficient, helpful, and friendly, not pretentious. He did not encourage us to over order. Our reservation was for 5:30 and the restaurant was still quiet (they had just opened), yet they seated us at a table in the back room (looked like a library) and proceeded to seat the table right next to us in spite of the fact that the rest of the room was completely empty. Not much privacy for our dinner, but still very enjoyable.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank ImNotCandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,460 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,797
    1,159
    343
    105
    56
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lincroft
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A nut-free celebration to remember”
Reviewed July 30, 2014 via mobile

We took our family here to celebrate our son's 16th birthday. We were concerned because two of our children are highly allergic to nuts and peanuts. I made the reservation online and made a note of our allergy situation. I then followed up with an email to ask if they would be able to accommodate our situation. They replied within hours, they called to confirm the day before our reservation and mentioned the allergy and when we arrived, once again, they were very aware of our situation. It was a huge relief for us. Our entire experience was wonderful. From drinks in the lounge (Fate is delicious!), to being seated right on time, our evening was wonderful. We chose to go with the tasting menu #2. We had to change 2 items because they contained nuts, but they were great about it giving us many options. During the meal, one of the dishes was served with candied nuts on the side. A quick word to that server was all it took to have them whisked away before they even touched the table. The food was delicious. Every course was just perfect. Dessert was equally scrumptious. We had another item that was brought that was a nut-filled item, but again, a quick word and it was taken away and amply replaced with another great choice. My son was thrilled with it all and we were pleased to give him this experience.

Helpful?
Thank Darlene S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trondheim, Norway
Level 6 Contributor
228 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Restaurant with only The name left!”
Reviewed July 29, 2014

Came to Buddakan to have a dining experience. I must say The name they have is probably what keep them alive. The food is Asian fusion, exactly The same as in hakkasan an Buddha bar restaurants. The food is good, and i just love Asian food, but i expect more at such restaurants. Its stylish, funky, trendy an so on but The food is basic and you can find The same at a normal chinese take away. The service is slow and sometimes prestert difficult finding people when you need more drinks or miss a fork or whatever. The brand has become to big sadly.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gobystolsvik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“What was is no more. Sadly”
Reviewed July 29, 2014 via mobile

In a time now w Tao across the street, buddakan has to step it up. Not a tourist, I've been here since the beg hinging and always was a fan. So maybe my review is a comparison of the restaurant it used to be. The longevity is not going to sustain the lousy food and service and turnaround time. The manager had to comp drinks dinner and was nice but I'd rather pay for the above plus some if the overall experience was good. This used to be a place I would always send people as it is a beautiful restaurant, amazing food and great service (and drinks) but very disappointed this time. Drinks took so long and were watered down, food was so so and came out at drastically different times (I get the staggered delivery, but this was not ok). I was very disappointed. Will not be running back with so many other great places in NYC. I was also embarrassed as I brought two people who have never eaten there and are world foodies, they were like this is all the rave??? But if you have never been and not a local the restaurant is amazing and you'll get an experience. Wish was better. :-(

Helpful?
Thank travelme422
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fabulous setting”
Reviewed July 29, 2014

Apparently this is the kind of place to see and be seen, but we were unfashionably early for that. Nevertheless the food and service were excellent. I did wish that the dessert menu was slightly more extensive. Convenient to the Chelsea Market and the Highline.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Buddakan also viewed

New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 
New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 
New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to Buddakan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing