We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious!”
Review of Buddakan

Buddakan
Reserve with OpenTable
Buddakan is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #70 of 13,763 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $50 - $50
Cuisines: Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Bar scene, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Chelsea
Cross street: 16th Street
Transit: A,C,E to 14th Street. L to 8th Ave.
Description: The surreal atmosphere of this awe-inspiring restaurant in the Meatpacking district of Manhattan combines the serenity of Asia with the flamboyance of 16th century Paris. The menu features fanciful interpretations of Chinese dishes and delights even the most discriminating palates.
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
Reviewed February 12, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

I went there with a few friends and was pleased with their service and food. The cocktail was so good and made me want to keep it coming. We tried almost every appetizer on the menu and were very satisfied with the presentation and quality of the dish. Entrees were equally delicious if not better. The restaurant has a nice decor and ambiance. Great for friends get together and business dinner.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank chrizNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,463 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,798
    1,160
    344
    105
    56
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Wilmington, Delaware
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A must try”
Reviewed February 12, 2014

Outstanding.
I went for dinner and was seated immediately. I love the ambiance and the food was delicious. The edamame dumplings were delicious as were the Bo Bo Plate, and the Mongolian Lamb Chops.
The only part of the meal that I wasn't crazy about was the Lobster Fried Rice- the lobster was way too chewy and our wine wasn't chilled (wine being a very easy fix)
If you're in the area and looking for Asian fusion, Buddakan is definitely worth a go. You won't be disappointed.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RCC643
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Trendy, modern, dim lighting, special occasions or romantic spot!”
Reviewed February 11, 2014

I went in a party of 3 to this restaurant.
We arrived about 8pm, no reservation. We were only planning on cocktails so we sat at the bar when you enter the restaurant. After two cocktails we were hungry and decided to order dim sum ( these were delicious but slightly overpriced for the portions)
Next we decided to go down stairs to the main restaurant for dinner. The waitress organised a table for us after a 20 minute wait which was fine as we had our drinks.
Downstairs was lovely! Quite dark lighting and different areas to sit in.
Lovely staff. Food came quite quickly. We ordered 2 mains and 3 sides to share a they recommend! Delicious! We also had prosecco.
After dining out quite a bit I have experienced better meals but overall buddakan was definitely worth the visit. Also not to mention sex and the city was filmed here!

Overall the evening coat about 100 dollars per person!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank IrishTravelDiary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“NYC Icon”
Reviewed February 11, 2014 via mobile

Amazing meal to match the amazing surrounds. The food was sublime and the waitstaff friendly and attentive. We were pleasantly surprised by the prices too!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lady_Susan1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Great great great! ”
Reviewed February 10, 2014 via mobile

We had a bit of everything. Great food and great atmosphere, great service. Recommeded. Remember to book in advance.

Helpful?
Thank Mads O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Buddakan also viewed

New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 
New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 
New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to Buddakan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing