We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a fashionable place”
Review of Buddakan

Buddakan
Reserve with OpenTable
Buddakan is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #72 of 13,736 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $50 - $50
Cuisines: Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Chelsea
Cross street: 16th Street
Transit: A,C,E to 14th Street. L to 8th Ave.
Description: The surreal atmosphere of this awe-inspiring restaurant in the Meatpacking district of Manhattan combines the serenity of Asia with the flamboyance of 16th century Paris. The menu features fanciful interpretations of Chinese dishes and delights even the most discriminating palates.
Neuilly sur Seine
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“a fashionable place”
Reviewed August 4, 2013

deafening noise, excellent food, great vibe, very nice staff (as it was dark and noisy we thought we would be forgotten, we didn't) .

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank pierreC92200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,457 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,794
    1,159
    343
    105
    56
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
La Prairie, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great food and ambiance New-York style”
Reviewed August 4, 2013

While visiting NYC with friends, we had the opportunity to enjoy a great evening at Buddakan. Since we were a party of 6, we took the tasting menu, which was amazing. The service was average, but the ambiance, decor and food were great. If you have the chance, ask for a table in the great hall to dine under a high ceiling with suspended French style chandeliers. Wine list and price were fair. Beware, we didn't noticed but a 20% service fee was automatically added to our bill....I guess we didn't read the fine prints :-)

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank FamilleRene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“What a hidden delight”
Reviewed August 3, 2013

I got taken here by my boss for an evening dinner, when we were walking to the restaurant I walked straight past it as you would not know what hid behind the doors. Inside its grand decor and attentive staff make it not only the food but also the experience a joy.

The small bar area is a good place for a drink and a chat but also a good reception area. Once taken to the restaurant area, in the main hall is a big hall area with chandeliers etc

The food though will make you go back, the food is cooked to perfection and the dumpling starters just melt in your mouth. Also the beef main course is a real treat and the cold noodles, are worth trying for something totally different.

Overall next time I go to NYC, I will go back to this restaurant.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mark J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful Thai restaurant”
Reviewed August 1, 2013

Über-cool restaurant. Top notch Thai food, fabulous decor & ambiance. Service couldn't have been better.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Emma C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
Level 6 Contributor
473 reviews
213 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 355 helpful votes
“Wow!”
Reviewed August 1, 2013 via mobile

Well if looks can be deciving then that's true for this place. Just looking at the door makes you wonder what is inside. But once you get inside you are wowed by how big the place is! We had dinner here and the food as delicious, some of the best food I have had in a long time! It came out fast and the service great. But the desserts by far were the icing on the cake, I mean soooo delicious! Never had such good carrot cake before!

Note you will need a reservation in advance! We went on a wends. and it was packed!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PresPJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Buddakan also viewed

New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 
New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to Buddakan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing