We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First rate Asian Fusion!”
Review of Buddakan

Buddakan
Reserve with OpenTable
Buddakan is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #67 of 13,630 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $50 - $50
Cuisines: Chinese, Japanese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Chelsea
Cross street: 16th Street
Transit: A,C,E to 14th Street. L to 8th Ave.
Description: The surreal atmosphere of this awe-inspiring restaurant in the Meatpacking district of Manhattan combines the serenity of Asia with the flamboyance of 16th century Paris. The menu features fanciful interpretations of Chinese dishes and delights even the most discriminating palates.
Pleasanton, California
Level Contributor
186 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“First rate Asian Fusion!”
Reviewed June 28, 2013

Every dish we ordered was delicious and well executed. Very popular spot - great drinks. We had to switch tables because they were going to seat on the second floor in the back. We switched because you can't read the menu or see the food you're eating.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank D0rindaW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,380 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,744
    1,141
    339
    101
    55
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Wisbech, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
Reviewed June 27, 2013

Went here with a group of friends when visiting NYC and have to say we were all very impressed.
Excellent food, really nicely presented, and fab cocktails!
Cool atmosphere and setting.
Would love to go back.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank discodolly82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
144 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Delicious Asian food - get a reservation if you possibly can!”
Reviewed June 27, 2013

Our table was in one of the back rooms so it was a little dark for reading the menu, but once we'd overcome that - everything was amazing. In our party. Had a mix of people with different likes/dislikes, allergies, food restrictions etc. but we found a great range of things to eat and everything was really delicious! The desserts were as outstanding as the dim sum and the entrees, which is not always the case with this type of restaurant.
Service was attentive and efficient but not obsequious.
A thoroughly stand-out meal!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rb_ldn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
76 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Can I have service with this $600 bill?”
Reviewed June 27, 2013 via mobile

Cool, fun place with great cocktails, good food and tepid service...$670 later...

Dear Olive Garden/Red lobster server:

1. Fill up the water.
2. Check once or twice
3. Bring a dessert menu
4. Stop disappearing to have a smoke, check your phone, etc.

Seriously.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pairandaspare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Cool atmosphere, fun place to go”
Reviewed June 26, 2013

We went here with some friends and had a great meal. Good vibe! Great place to start if you want to go out with friends!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank halykke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Buddakan also viewed

New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 
New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 
New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to Buddakan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing